We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All it promised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laaroussa

Save Saved
You added Riad Laaroussa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 86 hotels in Fes
Lisbon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“All it promised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We decided to book accommodation inside the medina, and travelling with two youngsters on early teens, this Riad sounded a good choice.

Getting there worked perfectly, we were driving, so after parking we phoned the Riad, and in less than 5 minutes someone appeared to take our luggage downhill, through the small streets. Takes less than 5 minutes to get there.

From the outside, nothing hints of what we find inside: a garden with orange trees and a small fountain. The room was, well, roomy; lots of space and a fireplace in the room, with two extra beds in a mezzanine. We could fit the four of us without feeling crowded.

The view from the terrace over the medina is great, either at late afternoon or early morning. We had dinner one of the nights at the Riad, and the food was great, very tasty. A quite nice introduction to Moroccan cuisine. Breakfast on the terrace is also a plus, and one of the better memories is the strawberry jam, really delicious.

We spent only two nights there, late February. It can become cold at night, but the fireplace in the room is a small luxury we did put to use. It was so good that "modern heating" was not necessary. The quality of bed and pillows was outstanding. You really feel like sleeping at home.

The best way to visit the medina is to hire a guide, which we recommend for a first acquaintance with the surrounding area. The medina is really a maze.

If one day we decide to go back to Fez, going back to Riad Laaroussa will certainly be part of the journey.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    679
    37
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
133
371
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

I stayed at Riad Laaroussa with 6 schoolfriends in celebration of our 60th birthdays.
when we got to the front door of the riad, our hearts sank, thinking we had booked a dump. what a contrast as we walked into the courtyard - we gasped in disbelief.
the actual building and the rooms have been restored and refurbished tastefully and sympathetically. Sabah, Samira, Hind, Reda - they were all wonderful - so polite, charming and helpful.
The food was excellent. although a little pricey. Some of the girls had minor problems in their rooms vis a vis plumbing. Also, the rooms were rather cold in the evenings. We stayed in three riads in Morocco and Riad Laaroussa was by far the best.
We were very sorry to leave this Riad and definitely intend to return soon and stay for a few days just for the beauty and peace and tranquility the place offers.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Of course, I am a biased reviewer because I truly love the adventure of being in Morocco...when friends ask what I am going to see during my visit to the country...I explain that the travel experience is not about what you are going to see but what you are going to experience with all your senses especially what you are going to absorb in your mind about a another culture...all that being said.....my stay at Riad Laaroussa was just wonderful....the hospitality of the hosts and the staff was like family...the food was excellent and my room was comfortable and very attractive...what was especially grand for me was the opportunity to visit with the riad chefs in the kitchen as well as shop with Samira (the chef) in the market for the ingredients for New Year's Eve dinner...we walked through the medina and shopped for the fruits, meats and vegetables that I later watched become the feast for that evening....if you are looking for a impersonal, cutty-cutter place to stay this is definitely not for you...but if you want the richness of sharing culture, hospitality and even a bit of adventure...this is for you!

Diane Bellafronto
Louisville, Kentucky USA

  • Liked — The beauty of the riad and the hospitality of the staff
  • Disliked — Didn't stay long enough
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Where to begin?

The Riad is absolutely gorgeous, definitely one of the most beautiful I've ever been to. Extremely warm and friendly staff, very delicious food (and superb breakfasts), lovely rooms and ambiance all around the hotel, very reasonable pricing...

One of the best things about the Riad: there is no schedule or timetable. You can have breakfast absolutely whenever you please. On top of that on our last night we asked when check out time was the following day. We were told "As you want..."

What's not to love about this place?

Two negatives to mention, one minor and the other slightly more of a problem.

First is that after about 10-15 minutes or so hot water in the shower will run out and you have to wait a while for it to come back. Not such a big deal.

More serious problem is that during our stay there was a problem with the plumbing and there was a occasionally a sewage smell in certain parts of the hotel. This is really the only thing that marred an otherwise perfect stay, and I trust that it will be dealt with.

But overall, an amazing place to stay. Even got a chance to see some of the other top Riads in Fez and was very happy I'd chosen the Laaroussa. Fully recommend this place without any hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

I have just spent five wonderful days in Riad Laaroussa. The Riad itself is a jewel, as beautiful as it appears on its website, and so tranquil it could be in the desert rather than the Medina. The staff, Sabah, Reda, Samira and the girls, were so welcoming I felt at home from the moment I arrived. They were charming and attentive and made every moment there a pleasure. Dinner of traditional Moroccan food was served beside the candlelit courtyard each evening. Mmmmm. The rooms are elegant and comfortable while the hammam, a recent addition to the Riad, is another delight. The location is excellent for exploring Fes and the surrounding countryside though once inside you may not want to leave. Shukran jazeelan to everyone. A return visit would be good, inshallah.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

We had a wonderful experience in our week long stay at Riad Laaroussa. We were always greeted with a smile and the staff took genuine pleasure in engaging with us and ensuring that we were well attended to at every turn. The Riad itself was a spectacular oasis of serene beauty and comfort--a very welcomed reprieve after a jaunt thru the hustle and bustle of the crowded Medina. Many thanks to Fred, Sabah, Samira, and all the rest of the folks who made us feel at home so far away from home.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Riad Laaroussa again for the 4th time recenty. On our previous trips, we were used to walking into the Laaroussa and immediately relaxing and slowing down from our hectic lifestyles amidst its superbly tranquil atmosphere. This time the experience was even further enhanced with the amazing joint Hammam and Massage experience we had in their new facility on-site.

So not only can you enjoy peacefully unwinding in the courtyard, the 'tastes like home-made' Moroccan cuisine, the breathtaking views from the roof terrace over the immensely-compelling Fez medina, the deep slumbers in individually-finished Moroccan decor bedrooms, but you can now also get a first class spa experience as well.

Riad Laaroussa has been top class since is impressive re-furb a couple of years ago, but now it has an extra string to its bow !

My wife and I can't recommend it enough for a truly romantic and relaxing change of scenery getaway.

  • Liked — Tranquility
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Laaroussa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa

Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Laaroussa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laaroussa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.