We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful oasis in Fez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laaroussa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Laaroussa to your Saves list
Riad Laaroussa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Fes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful oasis in Fez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Riad Laaroussa for 2 nights in early June. Cathy and Fred, the owners, were always around to make you feel at home, and the staff were extremely helpful. We stayed in the grey room, which was just spectacular. It was wonderful having breakfast on the roof each morning, overlooking Fez. As others say, it was such a relaxing and tranquil place to return to after a frantic day in the Medina, and enjoy their Moroccan tea. Fatima in the kitchen always welcomed you in to see what she was preparing for the day. We would highly recommend this Riad for a wonderful stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    40
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
158
412
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Riad Laaroussa for part of our honeymoon, and everything was fantastic. The Riad is absolutely beautiful, from our suite to the roof terrace with panoramic views of the city from the heart of the medina. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially F.Z. Even the food was delicious. I cannot think of a single bad thing to say.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We travelled to Fes with our two kids, 10 and 12. We were able to stay in a single, very clean, comfortable, and spacious room - a beautiful loft for the kids, they just loved it. Service was excellent - very personal. Staff helped arranged tours, and transportation and was very responsive to even the smallest of requests. Wonderful rooftop patio, and central courtyard. Amazing location, in the heart of the old city. Food - outstanding. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We adored the Riad Laaroussa !! The roof top terrace is huge and amazing !! The Cream Suite is FANTASTIC !! The service is kind and amazing !! Located in the middle of the amazing Medina of Fes -- an experience not to be missed !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights and really enjoyed our visit. Our arrival in Morocco seemed to consist of one disaster after another (lost luggage, nobody at our car rental counter, train breakdown ... all within about 12 hours!), so when we reached the Riad on our second night we were much relieved. And what a change! The stress just melted away in this beautiful Riad with the very friendly staff. We opted to have dinner in the Riad on the first night and it was an excellent choice. The meal was superb! We enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace with a stellar view of the medina. Our room was beautifully decorated, although it did take me awhile to get the hang of the water taps! This really was a lovely place ... just writing this review is making me smile ...
(I give lower marks on sleep quality only because I prefer a softer mattress. It seemed to me that every hotel except one on our 3 week trip had very firm mattresses.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My friends and I recently stayed at the Riad and it was a great experience. The property has been beautifully restored by the current owners. The courtyard is a great place to relax, read a book, decompress from a day of walking through the Medina. Our room, the "orange suite" was spacious (which is great for three women!!), and beautifully decorated with furniture from local artisans. The bathroom had one of the most interesting showers ever. Every night we would arrive to a candlelit bathroom. Amazing! Meals are served at the roof terrace which has an awesome view of the Fes landscape. Having a meal here is like having a meal at home. The team there is incredibly friendly, and genuinely interested in you, your background, and how they can make your stay as homey as possible. The meal is a gift that keeps on giving, where each part of the meal is brought out one by one. The breakfast was the highlight for me. Imagine sipping delicious coffee while overlooking the sunrise of the Fes landscape. Follow that with a delicious spread of fruit, cakes, homemade jams, eggs. And the cherry on top is a friendly face that sends you off on your day.

The only thing i would say is that they do have dogs. They are incredibly friendly so it's not a scary experience at all but good to know in case anyone is allergic.

Room Tip: Ask for the orange suite. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

To the Owners and Staff:

We stayed 7 nights at Riad Laaroussa, and we would like to express our extreme gratitude to your outstanding staff. Riad Laaroussa is beautiful and tranquil but your staff makes it special. They make the difference!! Their genuine generosity and care is second to none.

My husband and I have travelled extensively and stayed in amazing places all over the world, and yet, we have never experienced the level of professionalism and warmth as the one offered by the lovely workers of Riad Laaroussa. They truly treated us like family.

From the moment we arrived to the time of our departure everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. Your staff works very hard to ensure that the guests are happy and comfortable.

Delicious food!!

Thank you for making our stay wonderful, and we will definitely visit again!

Warm regards,
Paula

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent? Upstairs rooms are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Laaroussa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa

Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Laaroussa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laaroussa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.