We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laaroussa

Save Saved
You added Riad Laaroussa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 85 hotels in Fes
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Magical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

A truly incredible riad. As you enter the front door from an unassuming street, you are immediately struck by this majestic and palatial riad. It is not simply a place to lay your head at night. It is a destination and an experience in and of itself. The décor and overall atmosphere is grand and intricate without seeming forced or overdone. We stayed in the green suite which was out of this world-- it surpasses what I was expecting even based on the beautiful photos I saw beforehand. The terrace is gorgeous with sweeping views of Fes. I ate dinner and breakfast at the riad twice each, and the food is delicious and servings larger than even my big appetite could handle!

The owners and staff are outstanding. I left feeling as though I had made new friends. I hope to return to Fes one day and can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    663
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
128
365
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Riad Laaroussa does not deserve 5 stars...it deserves a lot more. There aren't enough stars to describe how great this riad is. The staff, management, and owners can't do enough for you to make your stay the most comfortable ever. They are so attentive to everything. The rooms, service, and food are all great.

Room Tip: We stayed in the green suite which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Riad Laaroussa is not a riad. It is truly a wonderful experience. We stayed 2 nights which turned out to be the highlights of our trip in maroc. Fred arranged a pick up from the train station in FES, the taxi and the luggage carrier were friendly and smart. we had diner at the riad and i had the chance to taste the most delicious cous cous ever. rich breakfast in the terrace, a customised pick-up from fes to meknes train station are only few of the pro's of our staying. i also forgot my sack in the taxi to the riad, and and it took only 30 minutes to the staff to find the taxi cab, and get it back to me.
The air you breathe, the candle lights, the rooms are unique. The staff is so kind, professional, and caring and everything is built in order to define a wonderful customer journey through a secret silent and magic site in Fes.

Room Tip: No tv in the rooms which was quite fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

From beginning to end, Cathy, Fred, and the entire staff were absolutely wonderful and bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. We emailed them before arrival, asking for a driver to get us from Casablanca, a guide to tour the city, and recommendations for dinner out and in all cases, they answered quickly and didn't forget a single detail we asked for. They were attentive as well, visiting our table for breakfast and dinner and greeting us as we back from our walking tour.The rooms were beautiful and each one was unique--this is not a place for those who have trouble climbing stairs, but we loved it! The food was always fresh and delicious--we ate breakfast there each morning and had two dinners--both dinners had completely different menus. I would recommend Laaroussa to anyone traveling to Fes!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The reviews say it all. We'd give Laaroussa 10 stars if we could. Perfectly located an easy 5 min walk from Bab Boujloud, the riad is an exquisitely appointed oasis with beautiful decor and details at every turn. We stayed in the Orange Suite, which was perfect for our family of 4. It has soaring 2-story ceilings with beautiful hand-painted doors, a wood-burning fireplace, leather sofas and a bookshelf full of great books. Our kids had their own loft with twin beds. The spacious, modern & fully functioning bathroom was a rarity amongst our other accommodations around Morocco. We loved the rooftop terrace for its views of Fes as well as the indoor sitting/game room with fireplace. Beautiful dining room for dinner & breakfast as well, with excellent food. They helped us with dinner arrangements in the medina, as well as a great guide, Hamido. We also used their hammam & spa, which was fabulous. Best of all, their close-knit staff truly feels like a family. They go out of their way to make you feel at home & well-taken care of. This riad has a great vibe where everyone - staff & guests alike - are happy to be there. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Orange Suite perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We LOVED our stay at the Riad Laaroussa. We traveled for 16 days around Morocco and stayed in many places and this was BY FAR the best. Everything was spectaular - the rooms, the service, the food, the ambiance. But what made the Laaroussa really stand out from the other riads we stayed at (and many of the riads were wonderful) was the incredible staff team. They are all very welcoming, attentive, professional, and caring. They did not appear to be staff - rather, they seemed to work as a real team and we were warmly welcomed into the 'family'. We had a terrific cooking class with the women in the kitchen and they shared many secrets with us! Cathy and Fred clearly have succeeded at building not only a spectacular riad but also an exceptional staff team. Ten stars!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We can't say enough about the service, and the charm & personality of the riad. We felt welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. The gray suite was one of the coolest spaces we have stayed in. There was so much attention to detail and definitely 5 stars for style. It was booked on our last night and we stayed in the red room, which was also very funky and cool. I love the tea kettle faucet. We loved lounging on the roof terrace, drinking wine, and taking in the stunning views-- the perfect place to relax after a day of exploring with the the hustle and bustle of the medina. It was a really special place to spend Christmas Eve. We had so much dancing with the staff and guests and enjoyed the festivities. I can't imagine having stayed anywhere else.

Room Tip: The Gray Room is AMAZING. However, our last night it was booked and we stayed in the red room, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Laaroussa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa

Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Riad Laaroussa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laaroussa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.