We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just in Fez or Morocco - Probably the best boutique hotel we have ever visited anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laaroussa

Save Saved
You added Riad Laaroussa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 85 hotels in Fes
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
683 helpful votes 683 helpful votes
“Not just in Fez or Morocco - Probably the best boutique hotel we have ever visited anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fez was our favorite spot on our visit to Morocco. That has as much to with the wonderful city as it a tribute to Fred and Cathy at Riad Laaroussa. We travel often (see how many reviews I have) and do our best to find smaller, boutique hotels wherever we go that give us the true flavor of the place we are visiting. Riad Laaroussa not only fits that bill, but offers the charm and luxury right in the middle of the Medina.

We were greeted at the train station by a driver and then met at the Medina walls by someone to transport our bags through the maze that is the Fez Medina. I can't imagine how we would have found it on our own that first day but by the end of our visit, we were old pros at navigating the city.

As soon you enter the Riad, you are transported into another world. It's elegance and attention to detail are evident. Apparently, the original building was a palace of historical importance. Our independent Fes city guide told us it was where the document of Independence for Morocco had been signed many, many years ago. The courtyard landscaping and overall architecture of the Inn are just beautiful. It was obvious every detail was considered in the renovation, not only for the comfort of the guests but in regards to the integrity of a former palace of Morocco.

Our suite was immense and comfortable and beautiful and romantic and relaxing. The bedding, linens and towels were all top quality. And Oh.....our bathroom.......... Copper sinks and exotic woods! W

Climb to the rooftop for a beautiful view on a relaxing veranda that doubles as the breakfast room, the restaurant and the wine bar. Even if you don't leave the Riad, you could spend your day relaxing here on lounge chairs with sweeping views across the city and wait for the lulling sounds of the succession of Calls to Prayer from around the city. Our dinners, snacks and breakfasts we had here were elegantly presented and truly delicious. We also spent time in the Hammam and had 2 wonderful massages.

But.....I won't even say that these aspects of the accommodations are what make Riad Laarousa so wonderful. It is the hospitality and sincere warmth of Fred and Cathy, the hosts and the rest of the special staff that take care of your every need. From the moment we entered, we felt welcomed into their home. We were greeted by their beautiful family and happy pets. The staff is warm, solicitous and well trained in what westerners hope for in excellent service. By the end of our stay, we felt like we made new friends and we were sad to leave.

As I mentioned above, we travel often and my frequent reviews are accurate representations of our personal experiences, good and bad. I so rarely speak with such overwhelming enthusiasm about any property. We honestly believe that Riad Laarousa is the true definition of gracious hospitality and attention to detail!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    669
    37
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
130
368
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a wonderful place. The staff is amazing: friendly, responsive and interesting. The courtyard is great for relaxing and enjoying the pets who reside in the riad: two gregarious labs (chocolate and black) and a fat yellow cat. You could spend hours on the roof, enjoying the views and lounge chairs. When booking, you choose your room. We had the green suite which is huge with very high ceilings and a nice fireplace. The only disadvantage to the green suite is that it is up two steps in the bathroom to the toilet and down two steps to the bathtub/shower. There are no handrails so the green suite may not be suitable for people who have problems with stairs even though it is on the groundfloor. On the other hand, Feb would be difficult for anyone who has problems with stairs. Breakfast and dinners at the riad are excellent. After a few nights here, you do not want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our family (2 adults and twins of 9 yrs old) stayed at this fabulous Riad for three nights in April 2013. It is located in the heart of the Medina in Fes. We stayed in the Orange Suite on the ground floor. The room is absolutely beautifully decorated with authentic Moroccan decor, it is luxurious and very spacious. The service at the hotel was impeccable and the staff, extremely friendly and helpful. It truly felt like we were part of the family. From Saba, FZ, Karim, Yasin, spa ladies right through to housekeeping, they all made our stay a truly memorable one! We had breakfast on the roof terrace every day with a magnificent view of the Medina and surrounding mountains. The food is very fresh, local and seasonal and of very high quality. We also had dinner at the Riad every evening, simply because of the wonderful, tranquil setting amidst the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Every evening a different menu of traditional Moroccan tagines, salads, breads and desserts was on offer. The wine list was also great, with some Moroccan wines too. The Riad's kitchen offer cooking classes, which entails shopping with the Chef at the local markets in the morning, cooking in the afternoon and devouring the delicious meals at dinner and it is free of charge! The spa at the Riad is small, but again beautiful and with very friendly staff. One shouldn't miss out on the Hamam experience! It was truly a wonderful experience staying at this beautiful establishment. We cannot wait to go back! Thanks Riad Laaroussa!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Montana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed at Riad Laaroussa for 4 nights. Loved every minute of it. Staff is wonderful. Friendly, helpful and always smiling. Rooms are beautiful and the beds are very comfortable too. The food was great. We had dinner two out of our 4 nights there. One night we wanted pizza and they ordered it for us and had it delivered so we could eat on the rooftop. My mother-in-law and I also went to the Hammam that is there on site. It was delightful. It was such a relaxing experience. It is right in the Medina and you are right in the middle of it as soon as you step outside. They set us up with a guide one day and she was also wonderful. When we go back to Fez there is no where else we will stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My mother and I stayed at Riad Laaroussa for four nights at the end of our trip in Morocco. It's a larger riad than where we stayed in Marrakech, but you don't lose any of the personal attention. In fact, it is that personal attention that really stood out as a mark above anywhere I've stayed before.

On our first night, my mother fell quite ill and was not able to leave the room for two full days. The Laaroussa staff could not have been more attentive. When I was at breakfast on the roof terrace (a lovely, lovely start to each day!), five or six members of the staff each came by my table separately to inquire about my mother. They wanted to make sure she had everything she needed. They offered to take breakfast to the room for her. On her second day of being ill, they insisted on taking a tray of fruit, tea, water, and some bread for her. We declined housekeeping because she didn't want to leave bed. So instead, housekeeping left a basket of clean towels, bottled water, and tissues outside the door for us. Some construction was happening on the building next door, and the staff even offered to speak to the workers in case the noise was bothering my mother!

When she was finally well enough to come to breakfast, everyone came by to say how pleased they were to see her and that they hoped she was feeling better. Honestly, I have never seen such kind concern from hotel staff in my entire life. It was really, really touching. We both felt so cared for.

The riad is lovely and relaxing, with an inner courtyard and a gorgeous rooftop terrace with ample couches, tables, and even a lounger bed for passing some lazy hours in the sun with a book. Two friendly dogs and a friendly cat call the riad home, and they are always around happy to be petted. The location is great too for exploring the medina.

Oh - and the air conditioning is EXCELLENT. This is really important to us, and I imagine to anyone else considering a trip to Morocco in the warmer months.

The main reason I've held off a star is the stairs. Both of our rooms (the grey suite and the brown suite) were up very steep flights of stairs, as is the rooftop terrace where breakfast and dinner are served. I'm young and healthy, and I was breathless after each climb of these stairs (indeed, they are so steep that going down is in some ways worse!) For my mother and other older travelers, these stairs would be a real challenge. Maybe we're just out-of-shape Americans, but I do think travelers should be ready for these steps -- it is a new experience!

Anyway, I would happily recommend Laaroussa as a base for your time in Fez!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Riad Laaroussa is a beautiful riad in every way. The rooms are amazing and if you imagine yourself on the ideal Moroccan holiday, Riad Laaroussa is what it looks like. In addition the staff--absolutely everyone--is exceptional. They are warm, efficient, and infinitely patient. They were extremely accommodating of our young children as well as older guests. Furthermore, the location is ideal, it's in the heart of the media but somehow is a quiet oasis in the city. And if all of that doesn't impress you, book a night just for the food. Wonderful breakfasts and dinners not to mention lovely cookies, tea, and wine arriving before you even realized you wanted them. Wonderful. We're already planning out next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights when we visited Fes and we loved it! We stayed in the yellow room but was upgraded to the orange room on the second night. The entrance was not elaborate and when we first arrived at the door we were skeptical about this riad and thought we had made a bad choice. But as soon as you stepped into the riad, the atmosphere was totally warm, refreshing and lovely. Each room has unique decor that was thoughtfuly selected by the owner. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. When we checked in, our room was ready with candles and fireplace ready lighted up. Breakfast on the roof terrance was completely fantastic. We really enjoyed our time at this riad and would highly recommended it for anyone who comes to Fes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Laaroussa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa

Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Laaroussa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laaroussa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.