We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A medieval Moroccan sanctuary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laaroussa

Save Saved
You added Riad Laaroussa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 86 hotels in Fes
Jimbaran, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A medieval Moroccan sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

From the moment you pass through this discreet entrance, you come upon what could only be described as a medieval Moroccan sanctuary.
Immediately there's a central courtyard with the most charming little garden shaded by orange trees. You then can walk around this gallery - accented by impressively tall columns - which leads to all the rooms and various zones; including the rooftop terrace which has a fantastic view of Fez. Up here you can enjoy breakfast or just lounge about in these chic iron chairs or that beautiful big day bed – and enjoy a mint tea with those marvelous home made cookies.
For our stay we chose one of the more superior rooms upstairs which was very spacious and decorated with just the right balance between contemporary and old world Moroccan. The floors in our room were gorgeous and we loved having the fireplace lit every night. Because this Riad is centuries old, you can expect a very authentic experience – but due to the impressive renovation – it still has the modern comforts.
We also found the staff at Rihad Laaroussa very kind and polite... as were the French owners who were so generous with information and all recommendations we needed. You definitely felt like you were staying with friends – there’s a very warm energy in this place.
Another thing that’s great about staying here is that its so centrally located to the medina… you just walk out of the door and straight into the action. And then after wandering through the labyrinth of markets and sights, you can easily return and discreetly retire back into the haven of this Riad.
We would definitely recommend this place if you’re visiting Fez.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a superior room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    676
    37
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
132
370
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Great position in the middle of the medina, however you'll need a guide to make the most of the sites of fess and ensure you can find your way back to the Rhiad. Make sure you take afternoon tea on the rooftop terrace as the view of the old city, (and surrounding hills), is fantastic. Breakfast is comprehensive, including a taste of the local area when served breakfast soup! The rooms are pleasantly appointed, however the hot water production for showers is questionable. The only slightly strange experience was being constantly asked for free cigarettes from the male staff member. All in all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked through internet after much research on riads inside the medina.
Room was beautifully designed and spotless. Very well thought out. Pictures on website are accurate but cannot fully capture the beauty of the rooms and common areas.
What stood out for us was exceptional service and hospitality provided both by owners and staff.
Food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Choosing a riad in Morocco is like choosing a color for your bedroom. Options are almost endless, and TripAdvisor reviews do help, but there's always the dissonant rating that makes you uneasy... So I will try to be as complete and fair with this review, so you, my fellow traveller, can decide quicker than I did!

First of all: if you've never been to Fez, I do recommend staying at the medina (old town). It's dirty, noisy and not totally safe to walk in the middle of the night, but it's the real thing. Riads are amazing medieval mansions built around an open courtyard (think orange trees, fountains, quiet), now mostly owned by European who have recycled them as chic hotels. They are usually hidden behind aged walls that you would think twice about entering. But once the doors open... voilá! Riad Laaroussa in particular is a truly incredible building. Rooms are huge (I mean huge), and the decor is wonderful (save for the unnecessary posters hanging on the walls, the rest is all beautiful handmade artisanship). They all have fireplaces, and comfortable international-quality mattresses and linen. A bit dark, but that's the Middle-Eastern way, small windows so it's fresh in summer. At Laaroussa you will get the whole boutique-hotel experience with the candle lit bathrooms, wonderful mosaic bathtubs and showers, the works. And the view from the terrace, my goodness, it is truly wonderful. Breakfast is served in the terrace, either inside a glassed winter garden or outside, depending on the weather, and consists of a monster amount of food, including tea of course, coffee, yogurt (excellent in Morocco), eggs any style, msaman pancakes with honey (don't miss that), bread, fresh fruit, and I could go on. Every day, they would change something in the breakfast table -like the pancakes- so we had a chance to try every variety. Even for a frugal morning-eater like myself, the temptation was too big to pass. Silverware and dinnerware are typical Moroccan, so pretty that you want to go out and buy yourself the same thing for your home. Service at the riad is very kind, and everyone will go out of their way to make you feel great, from Fred, the French owner, to every single employee working there. Nothing but smiles, help, affection and good vibes. On the downside: we had quite a few problems with our hot water (not enough), and running water in general (it stank like a sewer). Fred immediately called the plumbers, to have a larger water heating system installed and fix the smell problem, but in Morocco, time is a relative concept. So it was never really quite fixed. To compensate, he kindly offered us a second room all for ourselves to shower, which we used, but I wonder what would have happened if the hotel was full. The air heating didn't work well either (it stopped in the middle of the night, then started again in a very noisy manner, day after day). Again Fred immediately called the repairman, but again the problem wasn't quite resolved. To compensate for the inconveniences, he was kind enough to pay for our last night dinner at "7", a very nice restaurant just meters away. So he really did his very best to make up for it, even though the problems subsisted through our stay. Two other things you might want to know: Fred and his wife, who live in the riad, own two massive dogs. My children adored them, and they are the sweetest dogs I've ever seen, but if you are not a dog lover, or are phobic to them, please note they freely roam throughout the place -it's their home after all. Second: there are also several cats (Fes is full of them) living in the riad. Many of the common areas, such as the reading room, smelled strongly, which drove us away. I would suggest they castrate them or just keep females, as the odor can be quite offensive. Lastly, dinner is not included, but for 25 euro per person (kids requested pasta and was free), you can get a very nice Moroccan dinner in the terrace, which I suggest you do at least once in your stay, to enjoy this "at home" feeling that comes with a riad and not a hotel. In conclusion: an amazing place, gorgeous decor and rooms, excellent service, awesome massive breakfast, convenient location, and some infrastructure issues to resolve. Hope to have helped with your riad-hunting! Bon voyage!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and different. Check their website for photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hi,

We visited Riad Laaroussa this year too because we found the place so beautifull and the staf so lovely last year.

We were absolutely not disappointed. Everyone did his/her utmost for us. This time we even learned how to make Marocan food.

And the rooms are wonderfull - the handcraft and the enterior is something speciel.

We have also enjoyed the company of very nice other guests.

We recommend Riad Laaroussa very much.

Finn and Birgit Jörgensen

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for a few days in mid February 2013 and really enjoyed all aspects of this Riad. The staff were great and welcoming. FZ was particularly attentive . We enjoyed a lovely dinner shortly after our arrival and delicious breakfasts everyday in the roof. Our room was beautiful and comfortable . The massage was great as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This Riad in the heart of the Fez Medina is the perfect place to get away from the craziness in the streets. Once you open the door, you are greeted by the most amazing people. They bend over backwards to make your stay here memorable and perfect. The courtyard has a lovely fountain and the rooms are centered around it. Each room is unique & special. We were four women traveling and we stayed in the Orange Room and the Green Room -- both were wonderful. The meals prepared here were delicious -- dinner and breakfast. The owners live on site (as well as their 2 sweet labs & 1 friendly cat) and you can tell that everyone here is focused on making you feel important and well taken care of. A special shout out to FZ -- she is the best!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Laaroussa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa

Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Laaroussa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laaroussa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.