We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice... for a Very Big Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laaroussa

Save Saved
You added Riad Laaroussa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Laaroussa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 85 hotels in Fes
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Nice... for a Very Big Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place is very nice but it's not a 5-star hotel, and the price is absurd (especially for the cost of living in Morocco). I was only here for a short stay, so please take this review with a grain of salt. I thought the place was nice, but nothing out of this world. The building is beautiful, but the overall ambience was a bit sterile and more 'business-oriented' (as in they try to sell you overpriced guides, taxi-rides, lunches and dinners - just like all the touts do in the rest of the city) when compared to another Riad I visited in Marrakesh.

I was here for two short nights and one day. My room was interesting - very spacious and clean. It had an open bathroom and open shower. The terrace is fantastic, and you have an expansive view of mountains and rolling hills. The perfect place to start the day with a truly fantastic breakfast with all sorts of offerings, eggs, soups, breads, fruits. Really good!

Security was a bit of a concern... They leave the main door unlocked most of the day, and I had a problem with a fake guide who followed me and was later waiting for me at the foyer. He asked me to leave the entrance to the Riad open, saying that "he worked there." I told two of the managers about this, and they said they would make sure the door was secured and not to worry about anything. The door remained open throughout the time I was there.

You can also hear a lot of noise from the stairs early in the morning and late at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredLaaroussa, Owner at Riad Laaroussa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Maurice,
Thank you for your review. There is always something to learn from guest’s feedback and it is by far the best way for us to improve the way we do our job. I just want to clarify a few points for the benefit of other visitors to Fes.
Guide pricing is 400 MAD a day or 250 MAD for half a day. These rates are set by the association of official guides. We let our guests know the official rates and you pay the guide directly. It might sound unusual but we do not take any kickbacks from guides. We just try to find the best ones (not easy) because we are convinced that an introduction to Fez with a good guide makes a huge difference and will definitely have set the stage for the rest of your stay.
So, yes we generally recommend taking a guide the first day because we know the great impact it might have and even more so when we know that some guests only have one day in the medina. It is also a great way to avoid fake guides who can turn your experience into a disaster (pushing stores, restaurants, etc…).
The doors to Riad Laaroussa are always locked from the inside. Maybe on this day, the first door was not closed correctly, allowing the fake guide to enter the entryway (but not the riad). I apologize for that discomfort. We asked him to leave, though once they are in the street it is difficult for us to do more. Fortunately, there are rarely security issues in Fez…
For information, we offer a Moroccan set dinner menu for 25 Euro on request as we are not a restaurant. It includes appetizers, main course, local organic cheese and homemade dessert. It is served on the roof terrace either outside or in a cozy salon in front of a fireplace. We rarely serve lunch as guests are usually outside during the day and, if we do, it is upon specific request so the last thing we might do is push to sell a lunch (that we provide for 15 Euro including appetizers, main course and dessert). We have a great list of restaurants in the medina and new town that we can recommend for our guests.
Finally, the noise in the stairs early and late at night—thank you for pointing this issue out. We are addressing it TODAY!!!!!
Maurice, we take your review with a grain of salt as you wrote, but we acknowledge that it is part of our responsibility to make sure guests enjoy their overall experience with us and in Fez which apparently was not the case with you and we are sorry for that.
If life takes you back to Morocco, come and visit again for a longer time and I can promise you that you will discover that Fez has much more to offer than fake guides and over-priced guides or menus.
Fred (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    669
    37
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
130
368
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 2-week trip in Morocco, where a highlight was our 3-night stay in Fes at Riad Laaroussa. What a special place in a very special city! It is clear to us why this riad is ranked so highly in TA and I will simply echo the praise of other reviewers. Cathy and Fred have built not only a lovely physical space (beautiful, spacious rooms, courtyard, rooftop terrace) but a fantastic team of people who are warm, attentive, and hilarious. A high point in our trip was a visit to the market with chef Badie and participating in preparing the evening meal (despite my terrible cutting skills!). We laughed so much! The guide that Sabah arranged for us (Hamido- sp?) was top notch and we ended up using him for the entire day to enjoy the medina and see lots of nooks and crannies. I adored my hammam and massage and it was a great respite from the Fez madness outside our door (which we also loved!)

It's true -- people do make the experience, and the Laaroussa team takes service and enjoyment to a whole new level. Our deep thanks!

Room Tip: The Cream Suite was large and spacious and the fireplace was a great boon on the chilly January days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I visited Riad Laaroussa specifically for a hammam and spa experience having heard and read about the establishment and the great reputation while we were already thoroughly enjoying our stay in a nearby riad in Fes during a one-week trip to the imperial cities of Morocco booked via a UK-based travel agent.

After our Fes guide rang to book a hammam/spa visit, finding our way on foot was very straightforward.

We were ever so impressed by the outstanding architecture, decor, grounds and facilities.

The manager and all staff members we met were efficient and provided faultless hospitality and communication with the utmost professionalism and friendliness from the outset.

After enjoying well-prepared and well-presented refreshments, the hammam/spa was unhurried, relaxing and invigorating with a wide range of options and treatments to choose from. Overall, it was a fantastic experience that was very competitively priced for the first class service and attention provided.

Afterwards, we opted to spend more of the afternoon at the riad to enjoy the ambience and more refreshments.

Other guests and visitors appeared very pleased with Riad Laaroussa and a good rapport between staff and customers seemed evident.

We were grateful to be afforded the time to be shown around some of the unoccupied rooms and suites which, by far, surpassed our high expectations having already seen and been impressed by photos and reviews available via the internet.

In my opinion, Riad Laaroussa thoroughly deserves its many accolades. In fact, the latest TripAdvisor achievements and fond memories of visiting have prompted me to write this unreservedly positive review, albeit some time after visiting.

My wife and I look forward to making time to visit again in the future - to stay in one of the rooms as well as to make the most of the hammam/spa, cookery classes and dining facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at the Riad in late December through early January. It was a spectacular experience. The Riad is beautiful, wonderfully located and staffed by some of the friendliest and professional people you could imagine. We had dinner there two night and the food was very good. Breakfast was excellent. They sent us to two other restaurants that were spectacular (especially Restaurant 7, just a short distance away from the Riad). Perfect experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We booked two nights and extended. When we stepped into this oasis in the middle of the wonderful Fez chaos we knew we had the right place. Friendly warm owners (Fred and Cathy) and wonderfully hospitable staff. We indulged in the hamman and massage ( an absolute must ) and enjoyed great breakfasts on the sunny rooftop terrace. We had the orange room that was perfect for the four of us and cosy with the open fire. Dinners were good and huge with an interesting Moroccan wine list. Highlight of our time was a guide recommended by the Raid who was wise and took us to places that were fascinating! One of the best places we have ever stayed?

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ifrane, Morocco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very friendly staff. Great service. Very clean and very warm restored palace in the medina. Well positioned and a short walk to most sites. There is a terrace for sunbathing and some nice views overlooking the medina. Make a reservation for dinner in the morning. Everything is made in-house and is quite good. Like the rest of Fez, a bit quieter in the off season.

Room Tip: If you can, spring for the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Riad Laroussa is a beautiful Riad perfectly situated inside the medina of Fez. The rooms are everything I ever dreamed of for staying in Morocco -- 30-40 foot ceilings in our suite -- a traditional room off the courtyard -- decorated in the perfect mix of Moroccan handcrafted items mixed with modern touches. The public spaces are even more spectacular -- a courtyard with orange trees laden by ripe fruit and rooftop terraces offering sunshine and 360 degree views.

However, the best part of Riad Laroussa has to be the welcoming people, dogs and cat! The staff are all smiling and helpful and the owners are incredibly engaging, smart and interesting with useful information about Fez and Morocco -- a place they clearly love and care for. (And their kids are completely charming!)

We felt privileged to be part of this family for a couple of days.

(Oh... and the food! The food is spectacular! We could not get enough of the mnemmon (breakfast crepes) and dinners are refined Moroccan cuisine -- absolutely spectacular -- (and spaghetti noodles for our littlest children made dinner easy too!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Laaroussa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa

Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Laaroussa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laaroussa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.