We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laaroussa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Laaroussa to your Saves list
Riad Laaroussa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Fes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Riad Laaroussa and had a wonderful experience. The Riad is stunning and the whole team did everything to make our stay an experience to remember. FZ in particular is lovely - she's great fun and an excellent French teacher! Breakfast on the roof terrace with a view of Fez is amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely recommend the Riad Laaroussa and would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    40
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
160
417
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I start by saying that Riad Laaroussa was one of the best places we stayed at while in Morocco and for sure deserves a visit. It has been renovated with style and attention to details and it is run with competence and dedication by Fred & Cathy and their wonderful and helpful staff.
Upon our arrival we were offered mint tea and those delicious local cookies, prepared by the confectioner next door. We asked FZ (always glad to go the extra-mile to satisfy customers!) to provide us a big box for our long journey, making our Moroccan tour so sweet!
The rooms are all very unique and spacious, with nice and creative details. There is no radio nor TV, but that was much appreciated. The place is surrounded by silence and you're woken up by the singing of the birds.
We stayed also for dinner, were we dined on the fabulous roof terrace overlooking the medina. The food (wine is also served here) was OK. Breakfast is typical Moroccan, yummy and abundant.
We also had a scrub + massage in the Spa, which were pleasant and not too expensive. The Spa is tiny but cosy and very clean.
We have such a nice memory of Riad Laaroussa and the nice people working there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My sister and I arrived in Fez just after 6pm. We were so tired from our long drive from Marrakech we were so happy to walk into the Riad and enjoy the space. Our room was the Gray Suite - beautiful and very spacious. We were so tired we only walked up and down the Main street/walkway, then decided to have dinner at the Riad. Which was a great decision. Asmae and Sabah secured us with reservations. The meal was so good. Vegetable Pastilla-yum! Breakfast was on the rooftop, bring your camera. The staff was so wonderful. Next year they are going to NYC and love practicing their English. FZ was so good to us. We wanted to relax in one of the sitting rooms with a glass of wine or beer and she made it happen. Everyone there were so helpful and friendly. If i could give more than 5 stars for service I would. We only stayed two nights, but wished it was longer. You really need to stay in Fez for 3-4 nights at the least. So much to see and do. We toured Volubilis and Moulay Idriss, which are not to be missed. We missed the tanneries and Meknes. So we will be back. Maneuvering around Fez was so much easier than Marrakech. We loved both cities, but I felt the shopping was better and easier around Fez. My sister and I agree our stay was too short. But it was out of our control. The owners Cathy and Fred are delightful. You will definitely enjoy your stay here. Utilize the Riad's offer to set up guides and day trips. So important. We heard the Spa was fantastic. Always a great decision after a long day touring. It look beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

After a 10 minute walk through narrow, bustling alleys we reached the riad. Behind a large black door is this wonderful, peaceful riad - beautifully decorated and very quiet compared to the alley we had just walked through. We stayed in the Grey room which was very spacious with a lovely fireplace which they lit to welcome us. Dinner was enjoyable and breakfast served on the roof terrace was a great start to each morning. Fabulous views from the terrace and in the evening it was fun to enjoy a glass of wine and listen to the calling of the 4 th prayer which echoed around the medina! The staff were great (FZ in particular) and the riad 's cat Mimi and the 2 Labradors were a fun addition making it feel very homely. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Grey room is great and the red room but quite steep stairs to climb to get to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We enjoy staying in riads. These are previous-century homes of wealthy families living inside the medinas and which have now been converted to accommodations to provide authentic Moroccan atmosphere. Of course, that implies going without minibar, TV, phone, alarm clocks, and other modern fixtures. But what you get in return is getting transported to another age and time. And as with all riads, the entrance from the medina alleyway is totally nondescript, with a very simple door, supposedly to avoid showing off and generating envy in the old days. Luggage transport is a pain - for the guys who bring them to and from the riad to your van, which has to be parked pretty far away.

The staff of Riad Laaroussa are all very friendly, helpful, personal, and dedicated - clearly, they're doing this for more than the salary. The only regular male staff Abdul is very service-oriented and attentive. They clean your room as soon as you go out for breakfast or leave. When we couldn't contact our driver who had our luggage, they made all the calls for us. Another example, we were sitting in the veranda doing internet access during our downtime day of Eid al Adha and the manager noticed us and asked if we wanted mint tea. It's this personalization which is endearing.

They have two friendly labrador retrievers which give the place a "homey" atmosphere. Of course, it depends on whether you like dogs or not.

The free breakfast, served at the rooftop terrace, is traditional Moroccan - pancakes with honey, regular bread, coffee, eggs of your choice, orange juice. So don't do expecting hams and bacon and breakfast salads. Dinner is charged to your tab but the Friday menu consisting of three types of hot soup in glasses and couscous with lamb and seven veggies was terrific!

They have free wifi everywhere which is great. Supposedly there is limited hot water but it must have run out when we used it the first night. But it was ok for the second night - except that the shower had the HOT on the right while the washbasins had HOT on the left. The suites are great - lots of room, a mezzanine with bed for children, three washbasins, great looking ornate windows that look into the courtyard below, a genuine fireplace, lots of ironworks including a four-poster bed, air conditioning that works.

But be warned that all riads have staircases leading to the upper rooms that are very steep with high steps - almost like spiral staircases - so old people with knee problems will have a difficult time.

The Riad Laaroussa is just possibly the best oasis in the "desert" of the Fes medina.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I booked the riad for my birthday and can honestly not fault this place.

Welcome was warm, room was huge (we had the cream suite which I highly recommend) and styled beautifully.

View from the roof terrace was beautiful and having breakfast up there was the perfect start to the day.

FZ and all the rest if the team were fantastic. Helped book our tours and transport, recommended great places to eat and basically made sure that we didn't need to lift a finger.

Rooms very clean, furnished beautifully and in our case had a log fire.

Food in the evening was excellent.

Honestly one of the best places I have ever stayed. Can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were fortunate to spend 3 nights at Riaad Laarousa. From the moment we arrived at 1am until we left we were treated like long lost family members. Sharing a glass of wine with Fred, the proprietor, and hearing of how he came to Morocco, receiving multiple home remedies for a bad stomach from Asmae, being taken shopping for kitchen supplies in the Medina by Nezha and generally being fussed over by FZ and Sabah was treatment for royalty indeed. And the final farewell from Laarbi who, at age 57, huffed and puffed all our luggage on his hand cart out of the warren of walkways will leave us forever with warm memories of Fez and Riad Laarouse.

The position of the hotel in respect to the old city of Fes is perfect. Great restaurants within a few minutes walk and the Jewish Quarter no more than half an hour stroll away. Fred and team also provide superb meals with an excellent wine list should you wish to stay 'at home'.

The decor is eclectic and the building, an impressive architectural mansion in its own right, has been restored with the finest attention to detail. The accommodation was very comfortable and spacious with many rooms and the roof top terrace largely vacant for our private use

Our overall impression was being allowed into a secret palace through the kindness and generosity of our good hosts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Laaroussa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa

Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Laaroussa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laaroussa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.