We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice riad, good setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad au Vingt Jasmins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad au Vingt Jasmins to your Saves list
Riad au Vingt Jasmins
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Zerbtana | 11, derb zerbtana, quartier batha, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
Leek
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice riad, good setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed 3 nights with partner. Booked via Thomas Cook & there were only one other couple in riad at time
Nicely restored as per previous reviews & room nice overlooking inner square of riad.
Hot water bit slow to come through at times but minor issue. Staff really helpful but think you would get better value by sorting out trips out yourself. Went to nearby Al Fassia restaurant (see separate review) which was good entertainment but very hefty price.
Breakfast simple-coffee, juice, breads & jams-perhaps could go an extra mile on this for overall cost.
Location good in that near main gate although suspect you won't find it at first without help.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Let me say this about booking riads ahead of time in Morocco - don't do it, you'll be severally overpaying! The best option is to just show up and find a riad and negotiate the rate. You can find a nice riad for $20-$30, if you book in advance, you'll be paying more than double. Anyways, Riad au Vingt Jasmins is nice in the common areas, beautiful in fact. But the room my friend and I had was very average with NO AIR CONDITIONER. You may think that's no big deal, but try sleeping in the summer time in Morocco with no air conditioner. Not so pleasant. Also, you don't get your own key into the riad, so you have to wait for the staff to let you in and out, which can be very annoying if you are staying out late. Also, the host was very kind, but gave us the worst recommendations in terms of city guides and hammams EVER. We got ripped off by both places he recommended, so I'm sure he was taking a cut of whatever we were paying. If you want to arrange a city guide for Fes, or go to a hammam, don't go to the places he recommends. Overall, there are much better deals than this riad out there, and it's definately not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

This riad was beautiful, the service was impeccable, and – although we found the dinner a bit pricey - the food was fabulous. We absolutely loved our stay here. They even went a huge extra step for us. When we arrived, they said I probably hadn’t realized that the room I had reserved had 2 single beds instead of a double, so they offered us another, larger, more beautiful room with a double bed at no extra charge (the only bizarre thing was that the bathroom was "open", separated from the rest of the room only by a see-through bamboo curtain). The riad was also in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

The Riad au Vingt Jasmins is a magnificently restored traditional Moroccan dwelling. With its soaring ceilings, garden, tilework and wood carving, entering the riad is like taking a magic carpet ride back in time. The service was outstanding, the food excellent and the location perfect for visiting the famous medina. Rooms are quite comfortable and have views into the interior of the house, the garden or both. I will definitely return

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Fez is a universe to be explored. A well kept secret strongly suggests that during your stay the Vingt Jasmins should become your home. It is a very comfortable place, beautifully renovated, quiet, serene, well situated and to be recommended especially when visiting the annual festival of sacred music.

  • Liked — location and interior
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

We found the riad to be every bit as lovely and enchanting as pictured on its website at www.au20jasmins.com, with furnishings and accomodations that are both elegant and comfortable. More importantly, we were bowled over by the welcome we received from our hosts, who cared for our special needs with great attentiveness. We ate all our meals at the riad, and they were absolutely delicious. The riad's location is very convenient for walks into the medina, but also close enought to the edge so that it is easy to be dropped off in a taxi. For us the riad was a magical oasis and we would go back in a second.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

This is a beautifully restored riad in the old Medina of Fes. Close to the Medina walls, so a short walking distance if you arrive by taxi/car. Staff are very professional and friendly. Comfortable and spacious rooms. Great Moroccan food, served in the garden. I would not however recommend the smallest - and cheapest - room, which is rather claustrophobic. But for the rest - definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad au Vingt Jasmins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad au Vingt Jasmins

Address: Zerbtana | 11, derb zerbtana, quartier batha, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad au Vingt Jasmins 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au20Jasmins is a riad in Fez, Morocco, located at the heart of the Medina, Batha square, offering an elegant and discrete lodging. Helped with attentive personnel, the riad (ryad) Au20Jasmins will make you profit at the time of your stay in Fez of Moroccan hospitality while letting you impregnate yourself with the atmosphere of an authentic and traditional guesthouse with contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad au Vingt Jasmins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad au Vingt Jasmins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.