We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad au Vingt Jasmins

Save Saved
You added Riad au Vingt Jasmins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad au Vingt Jasmins
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Zerbtana | 11, derb zerbtana, quartier batha, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 163 Fes B&B and Inns
Wisconsin, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Enchanting and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

We found the riad to be every bit as lovely and enchanting as pictured on its website at www.au20jasmins.com, with furnishings and accomodations that are both elegant and comfortable. More importantly, we were bowled over by the welcome we received from our hosts, who cared for our special needs with great attentiveness. We ate all our meals at the riad, and they were absolutely delicious. The riad's location is very convenient for walks into the medina, but also close enought to the edge so that it is easy to be dropped off in a taxi. For us the riad was a magical oasis and we would go back in a second.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

This is a beautifully restored riad in the old Medina of Fes. Close to the Medina walls, so a short walking distance if you arrive by taxi/car. Staff are very professional and friendly. Comfortable and spacious rooms. Great Moroccan food, served in the garden. I would not however recommend the smallest - and cheapest - room, which is rather claustrophobic. But for the rest - definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
389 reviews 389 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

This is a beautiful property in the heart of the medina in a great central location. The main rooms are very impressive and the gardens are beautiful , full of roses ( and jasmins!) and a real oasis . The food is really outstanding and i really mean some of the best i have ever had in my many trips to morocco. The wine is local but beware! the prices are marked up significantly. We stayed the first night in the smallest room and this is really nothing special. we then moved to a bigger room which was much better. The host/hostess are knowledge and helpful.

  • Liked — garden and amazing food
  • Disliked — exorbitant wine prices
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2006

The Riad au Vingt Jasmins is located at the north end of the Fes medina, with convenient access.
Aycha Benmakhlouf , an architect from Casablanca, has spent nearly four years (and a lot of money) on an impeccable restoration of the riad. The zellij (tile work) and plaster work are absolutely stunning. The huge painted doors onto the patio are beautiful.
There is also a very pretty, well stocked garden with herbs and twenty jasmin bushes(!).
She has seven very spacious and well equipped suites with interesting original furniture.
Aycha prides herself on her Moroccan cooking. Every night we has dinner in, rather than risk the restaurants which all had very poor write ups in Lonely Planet. Helped by the idefatigaible Fatyiha, she prepared tasty salads and tagines which were amongst the best I have ever tasted.
Aycha is the perfect hostess; an important part of the stay is the after dinner chats wher we discoursed on all sorts of topics, especially music where she is an intelligent and experienced listener.
If you are visiting Fes, book the Riad au Vingt Jasmins. After this, everything else is second grade.

  • Liked — Really classy restoration job + hostess gave impeccable care
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book now on infos@au20jasmins.com!!!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad au Vingt Jasmins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad au Vingt Jasmins

Address: Zerbtana | 11, derb zerbtana, quartier batha, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad au Vingt Jasmins 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au20Jasmins is a riad in Fez, Morocco, located at the heart of the Medina, Batha square, offering an elegant and discrete lodging. Helped with attentive personnel, the riad (ryad) Au20Jasmins will make you profit at the time of your stay in Fez of Moroccan hospitality while letting you impregnate yourself with the atmosphere of an authentic and traditional guesthouse with contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad au Vingt Jasmins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad au Vingt Jasmins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.