We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Dar and a fantastic owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar El Hana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar El Hana to your Saves list
Dar El Hana
22 Ferrane Kouicha, Talaa K'Bira | Cherabliyene, Fes Medina, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - free wine
Ranked #22 of 177 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dar and a fantastic owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

My stay in the Dar El Hana was wonderful. Josephine, the owner goes out of her way to make your stay a happy and relaxing one. She organised a tour through the medina for us which was an experience I will never forget - amazing!!
Her house is beautiful with comfortable rooms and amazing showers - living in Morocco you learn to appreciate a good shower!
I would thoroughly recommend this Dar to anyone.

  • Liked — Josephine, the owner
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
75
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

We arrived to Fes late after a very long train ride....and we got into Dar el Hana I felt I got into paradise:) The owner was waiting for us with hot soup and the room (we stayed at the suite) was impeccable. The sheets smelled like flowers, the room and the bathroom were so clean and the decor was so amazing, that we just could not believe we found such a place a nice place. We woke up to the donkey calls the next morning and could see the medina street from our tiny window above the bed. And breakfast was great and plentiful every morning. I would recommend this place full-heartedly to anyone going to Fes (and I am usually a tough critic.)

  • Liked — The house itself is beautifully decorated.
  • Disliked — That I had to leave...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

We stayed for a week at Dar El Hana for the Sacred Music Festival. It was like staying at someone's home, Jo couldn't have been more helpful and took care of our every need, organising taxis, giving advice on shopping and restaurants and generally being a great hostess. We were met at the train station and airport on arrival, lent guide books, fed a great breakfast each morning. The house is well located, in the Medina, so street life is on the doorstep. An integral part of the accommodation was the roof terrace, which gave a panamoric view over the medina.

  • Liked — The friendly welcoming atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

We are just back from 2 weeks in Spain and Morocco and our best memories will be of the Dar el Hana in Fez and Josephine's hospitality. We were travelling with our two kids, age 1 and 4, and a set of grandparents and we were all made to feel welcome and comfortable. Other than the steep, narrow stairs, which you can not avoid in traditional Moroccan housing, the kids were very happy in the Dar el Hana. Josephine provided us with helpful assistance with trip planning and sightseeing but was most appreciated for providing a beautiful dinner on the night we arrived after a long day travelling from Spain. I would highly reccomend the Dar el Hana for anyone, whether travelling with kids or not. The location is very central and the rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated.

  • Liked — The host
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Zamane
Riad Zamane
#24 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dar Faracha Fes
Dar Faracha Fes
#2 of 177 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#13 of 177 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riad Idrissy
Riad Idrissy
#5 of 177 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riad Dar Bensouda
Riad Dar Bensouda
#9 of 177 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Hana

Address: 22 Ferrane Kouicha, Talaa K'Bira | Cherabliyene, Fes Medina, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is our specialty. Just 5 min walk from secure car parking and taxi access, pre-arrange a rendezvous and enjoy the welcome of our household staff. We help you orientate yourself with maps and information, and off you set confidently, to explore the Medina. On returning to Dar El Hana, relax in the tranquil atmosphere of this recently restored traditional Moroccan home. The modest decor reflects comfort and quality, accentuating the restored zellige, cedarwood and ironwork of 300 years. Dinners and cooking lessons can be arranged on request. We can also arrange excellent Guides and onward travel arrangements. Our 4th room, Aladdins Suite, is a comfortable room at very affordable price. We have stairs up 3 levels to the terrace. No elevator. Independant Family accommodation is also available with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar El Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Hana Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar El Hana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.