We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ibn Khaldoun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ibn Khaldoun to your Saves list
Riad Ibn Khaldoun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Sefli | Andalouss - Mokhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Fes
1 review
“lovely riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I like the style of the riad , very beautiful space in modern style. Such a lovely place. The suite where were we is very nice with the view.beds are extremely comfortable, and bathrooms are clean and the food is amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
27
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed two nights in this Riad in Fes. When first taken through the dark maze of corridors to the main door, we were a bit apprehensive. The doors opened and we were greeted with a spectacular ambiance of beautiful hand engraved plaster, hand carved and painted ceilings, a three story entrance hall and spotlessly clean. Our hosts, Tayeb and Achmed, could not have tried harder to make us feel welcomed. We were served a four course dinner on the roof terrace overlooking the town and being basked by a full moon. We had delightful breakfasts. Our hosts went out of their way to make sure that all questions were answered and would make suggestions for day and evening excursions. We felt the friendliness was sincere and greatly appreciated. Out bedroom was comfortable and the ambiance continued with 17 foot hand carved and painted ceilings and beautiful iron wrought windows overlooking the main hall. I would recommend this Riad to anyone who visits Fes and should we return to this ancient and lovely town, we will be sure to once again stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great Riad to stay at close to the Medina. It was easy to find and the staff is fantastic! They were very kind and willing to help with everything. The view from the roof is amazing and not to be missed. We enjoyed our breakfast up there soaking in the sunlight and wonderful views. They also set us up for a tour with Lazrak-- highly recommended! He is very knowledgeable and funny. He showed us all the beauty Fes has to offer and really cared about showing us what we were interested in. Riad Ibn Khaldoun is an excellent taste of Moroccan tradition and hospitality at its finest!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Once you get past the introductory dark and narrow alley that leads you to the Riad, you knock two door knockers to enter into this amazing space. A central court that all rooms open off of and that soars up 3-4 flights, it is filled with Moroccan furnishings and you feel like you've stepped back in time. You will enjoy studying the fabulous architecture and furnishings. We were greeted by our host and served Moroccan tea and given an overview of what's available and the tour that can be provided. We were hoping to just spend a day roaming the pathways of the medina and he gave us exactly that, with loads of fascinating facts and showing us hidden sights we'd never have found on our own. Lazrak is a certified tour guide and you will not be disappointed to spend the day with him; he gives plenty of time for photos and enjoyment/absorption. If interested he can show you shops for each type of handicraft, and there is no requirement to purchase. A dinner is available at the Riad and it is delicious, homemade and very good value. Our triple room was spacious and comfortable; the bathroom is authentic as well with an open shower area and a hand held sprayer. Plenty of hot water. Breakfast is included and plentiful. The staff is warm, welcoming and very helpful. Make sure you check out the roof garden. The Riad only accepts cash.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you want to experience Morocco in a more traditional way, Riads are made for you.
This one is located very close to a parking and so, allows you to be in the medina, without having to walk too long with your luggages in the streets.
Also, the owner, as friendly as his staff, has kept its traditional flair and the view from the terrace is wonderful!
Rooms are also very well heated, which is a plus in winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Looking for an authentic Moroccan experience? Here it is!

Don't let the dark alley way of the medina deter you. Live the experience as an authentic Moroccan house guest and savor the hospitality at Riad Ibn Khaldoun. Appreciate the quality of centuries old craftmanship of mosaics, cedar carvings, and home cooked Moroccan cuisine. LOVELY staff and welcoming owner will make you feel right at home and extend their invitation. English speaking staff members on site.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you want a true moroccan experience with majestic architecture and extremely kind and very helpful staff, where nothing is too much to ask , then this is definitly the place for you.The food is superb and authentic . it is In the Medina, do not be put off by the alleyway to the enrance to the Riad. You will not be dissapointed.The rooms were large and cozy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ibn Khaldoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ibn Khaldoun

Address: Derb Sefli | Andalouss - Mokhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ibn Khaldoun 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Riad Ibn Khaldoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ibn Khaldoun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.