We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Seffarine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Seffarine
Save
You added Dar Seffarine to your Saves list
14 Derb Sbaa Louyate | Seffarine, Fes 30020, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 172 Fes B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The experience we had was exceptional. Our room had 6 windows and was magnificent. The staff was small but always available.
We had dinner there twice and we had the best food of our trip.
Because breakfast and dinner were communal we met great people.
Would love to return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
219
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Dar Seffarine is incredibly beautiful and your jaw will likely drop open when you first come into the courtyard. My son and I stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. There are many beautiful places to stay in Morocco, but what made this unique was the great people and the conversations you have. Breakfast is in a room on the rooftop at a shared table (watch your head on the last set of stairs). We lingered every day sharing stories and getting tips from other travelers. Most of the guests joined for dinner too since the dinners were really good. Out of all the hotels we stayed in, this was the only place where people seemed to meet and engage each other in conversation. The owners are extremely friendly and have created a fantastic, welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We've never written a review but felt compelled to share our unforgettable experience at Dar Seffarine. From start to finish, the hospitality, comfort, and impeccable service made our stay an absolute delight. The professionalism and warmth of the staff was a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the merchants of the famed walled city. Any special requests or accommodations were met completely and with a smile. And the FOOD! Months later, we still reminisce about the included breakfast on the terrace / balcony. We also ordered dinner on our first night, which was as good as or better than any restaurant we encountered on our trip through Morocco. We would highly recommend Dar Seffarine and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Dar Seffarine offers transportation from the train stop, which we'd recommend as navigating the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was the most amazing and beautiful accommodation we experienced in a two-week trip filled with beautiful guesthouses offering great value. Friends who had stayed here shortly after the owners began accepting guests had urged us to make this our base in Fes. The building is thought to be at least 700 years old; Allah and Katie have renovated and decorated it beautifully. The staff (Mohammed, Zoher, Jamal) exuded competence and hospitality. Meals were excellent, and the wifi is reliable. Bottom line: don't miss this amazing place! (But forget the half-day tour.)

Room Tip: Our only bad experience staying here was hiring a private guide (Rachid -- supplied via the riad) fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Nothing I can say here will top the other wonderful reviews of Dar Seffarine. Our stay: 3 nights, end of March '14. The dar is located very near the Bab R'cif, and also close to the car park near the tanneries Chouara. It's a museum-class work of architecture. We could and did spend hours looking at all the Islamic friezes and paintwork and woodwork, and the mix of old and new in the reconstruction. We stayed in a large room on the ground floor one night; 20' ceilings, magnificent woodwork, then moved to a wonderful suite on the mezzanine, low wood ceilings, two rooms, felt like 400 years ago, with comfortable beds. The staff were wonderful and charismatic people, food excellent, and the meals are served at a long table which encourages travelers to talk and tell each other stories and linger, one of the great pleasures of traveling for me. Spotlessly clean and beautifully taken care of, of course. Internet iffy, sometimes works and sometimes is deadly slow, but I found that to be true all over Morocco, even in our "4-star" airport hotel in CasaB.

Mohammed and Zuhir, thank you and I hope to see you again, and best of luck to you both. Zuhir, I am sorry I did not have a chance to formally say goodbye to you. Alaa and Kate, you have created a masterpiece, of history and art and architecture and warmth and friendship. Thanks to you all.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms; for intimacy choose the mezzanine suite. For grandeur, one of the rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

All the other reviewers superlatives are true! We adored this place and regretted that we did not stay longer and just hang out at the riad with Kate and Allah and the staff. Magically we also loved all the other guests and greatly enjoyed having breakfast with them as well as joining 2 other couples out for dinner at Dar Hatim. Dar Seffarine is like staying at your really cool friend's house who just happens to live in Morocco. You definitely feel warm and welcome and don't want to leave. The roof terrace is peaceful and relaxing, breakfast delicious and our one dinner in was definitely worth it. We took a peek at the other rooms and would definitely splurge on the Kobe Suite next time. We would consider a trip back to Morocco just to stay here and talk to Kate and Allah some more.

Room Tip: Splurge on the Kobe Suite if you can. Upstairs rooms are quieter and have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The restoration of Seffarine, for any UK/Ireland readers, is like something from Grand Designs. The building, very simply, is stunning. For a genuine Moroccan experience in terms of location, architecture, food and ambience, this is the place. Easy to find (in Moroccan terms) and centrally located, Dar Seffarine came highly recommended and justifiably so.

Breakfast is served communally and is buffet-style set on the table - it's also an opportunity to meet fellow guests. Dinner is also available. Views from the roof really give you an understanding of how old the city you're staying in actually is.

The only black spot was the mechanism of how we were met - our taxi driver had called ahead but the person who met us gave us no real indication of who he was and just lifted our bags. Could do better - but apart from that a great spot and somewhere we'd return to in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor - noisy door buzzer doesn't fit with the ambience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Seffarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Seffarine

Address: 14 Derb Sbaa Louyate | Seffarine, Fes 30020, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Dar Seffarine Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Seffarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.