We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored example of traditional architecture, run like a home away from home by great hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Seffarine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Seffarine
Save
You added Dar Seffarine to your Saves list
14 Derb Sbaa Louyate | Seffarine, Fes 30020, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 172 Fes B&B and Inns
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored example of traditional architecture, run like a home away from home by great hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed 3 nights in a suite with a double room and single room annexe and ensuite. The communal area downstairs featured beautifully restored architecture and mosaic work. Our comfortable suite was tastefully restored and furnished with antique teak wood and brass light fittings.

We were welcomed by the owners who provided lots of valuable information, hand drawn maps etc and who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We could ask for tea or coffee in the kitchen if we wished. While we were there another guest required some medicines one night and the staff went out to find an open pharmacy to obtain them.
We had initially been met by taxi from the railway station and escorted to the hotel, and doubted that we would ever be able to find our own way to and fro. We engaged a guide on our first day. However once a few landmarks were pointed out we managed fine. In fact the location was great both to explore the medina and also to reach the nearest gate and taxis, about 5 mins walk away.
Breakfast in the terrace breakfast room was delightful with the usual orange juice, fresh fruit, bread and other pancake/pastries and egg dishes. The two dinners we had were the best meals we ate in Morocco.
Altogether highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
219
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We arrived very late (because our train had a 5 hour delay) in the evening, but stil there was someone to pick us up from the train station. We we're very tired, and when we arrived (we were soo glad somebody was with us who knew where it was, it was not very pleasant to walk as two girls outside on our own on that time of night.) our jaws litteraly dropped. It was beautyful. It is how you imagine in your dreams Marocco would look like. Our room was the same, beautyfully decorated and with beautyful tiles and wood. We had the change to look in other rooms, they are all beautyful, but I would ask for a room on the first floor of higher. Breakfast was good, so was dinner, They will cook something different for you every night, very good and too much. You will sit with all the guests, wich is great. We end up eating here everynight, though our plans we're different! it is not very expensive, well worth the money!! Wander around the old medina and get lost, then take your time to relax on the very nice roofterrace, with views of the old medina.

Room Tip: Pick one on the first floor or higher, you will have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Dar Seffarine based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were very happy that we did. The Riad is beautifully restored and is located right in the heart of the Medina. We spent a couple days just wandering around the narrow alleyways of the Medina, dodging donkeys and negotiating good deals on things we wanted to purchase. As others have mentioned, one of the highlights of our trip was also the communal eating area. We met so many interesting people from every corner of the globe. It was fantastic!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is beautiful and perfectly located right in the medina. We had an amazing stay, the owners are super friendly. The house is very tastefully decorated and the rooms are gorgeous. We had dinner here and they serve you wine! difficult to find in Morocco. It was a lifetime experience. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Obviously, Dar Seffarine is extremely beautiful. We visited the Bahia Palace in Marrakech prior to going to Fes, and the comparisons were obvious (but on a smaller scale). But, what really impressed me about Dar Seffarine was the way you felt like you were staying in a friend's home. The owners and staff were more like friends-of-friends who welcome you to their home, give you tips about the area, and feed you fabulous home cooked meals. We (my 11-year-old son and I) spent a lot of time in the common areas chatting with the other guests - which was really one of the highlights of our trip. I highly recommend this Dar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Fez is an assault on the senses in many ways, and this is a calm and tranquil riad right in the hustle and bustle. A lot has been said about the beauty of the house, all very true, but I think the staff and the attention to detail is what really sets this place apart. Nothing is too much trouble, Mohamed during the day will welcome you with genuine friendliness, tea and show you to your beautiful room. Zuhair is there at night, he will serve your beautifully cooked meal if you choose to eat at the Dar. He is so pleasant and great company. We also had their driver, another Mohamed, pick us up from the airport, his will go out of his way to help, he drove us to Volibilis and Meknes,and took us to a beautiful restaurant for lunch. Put yourself in the hands of Dar Seffarine, they will make your stay in Fez memorible for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

All the other reviewers touched on the amazing restoration, the great location, the staff, the food, and the fabulous museum-quality rooms. All true, but what set Dar Seffarine apart for us was the experience of getting to know other guests at a communal table over breakfast and dinner and sharing the symphonic call to prayer on the rooftop terrace every sunset. Dar Seffarine attracts international travelers, and our hosts, Aladin and Kate, have created a beautiful space where people and cultures mix easily and effortlessly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Seffarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Seffarine

Address: 14 Derb Sbaa Louyate | Seffarine, Fes 30020, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Dar Seffarine Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Seffarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.