We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Cordoba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Cordoba
Save
You added Riad Dar Cordoba to your Saves list
Derb Guebbus 15-Batha, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were a group of 10 friends from Italy who stayed in this Riad the night of 06 October. It is really a lovely place, impeccably maintained, tastefully decorated, comfortable rooms, all very clean. Fatima, the lady in charge, is a charming professional, very attentive to all the details that make for an excellent customer service. She made us feel really welcome and at home! All the rest of the staff were also nice and helpful. We had an excellent dinner and breakfast in the patio. It is located in a quiet side street just off the hustle and bustle of the Medina.... a welcomed change after a frenetic day in Fes! Being 10, we required 6 rooms (4 doubles and 2 singles) and as they were unable to provide the 2 singles in situ they accommodated us in the property right next door (Riad Tizwa) which was equally good, but we had our meals in Riad Cordoba.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    61
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
136
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I found this riad to be very charming and comfortable. We were greeted by Moha, who helped make our stay very pleasant. He arranged to have a taxi pick us up at the airport, and all went as expected. The riad is near the Blue Gate, which served a main landmark for finding our way around. Moha gave us a map, which was also very helpful, though half of the fun of the medina is to get a little bit lost. After we checked in, we had a cup of hot mint tea and chatted with Moha about what we wanted to do during our four day stay. He arranged a guide for us through the local tourist bureau. We had traveled the first day and were not ready to go out that day, so we arranged the guide for the following day. Our room was on the first floor, so we had no difficulty with our bags. Had we been on a higher floor, we would have asked for assistance. The room was charming and very cozy. We turned on the AC a couple of times to freshen the air as there are no windows in this room. The bathroom is very nice, with what appears to be original old tiles everywhere and plenty of hot water. We did not hear much sound from outside, but it could possibly become noisy if a lot of people were in the commons area. This was never a problem for us, and other guests were polite.

Breakfasts were very nice and complete with several options to choose from, including yogurt, fresh fruits, a variety of bread, jams, honey, and eggs however we wanted them. Plenty of coffee or tea, as well. These were served in a graceful and friendly manner, which we appreciated.

We decided to have dinner in the riad nearly each evening as it was well
priced and delicious. It was very relaxing to come in after a long day at Meknes or Volubulis and have a warm home made Moroccan meal. This was greatly appreciated, and we are very glad we had this wonderful option.

Communication in English is adequate for the essentials. We communicated in Spanish, and this was a great advantage to us as we got to know our hosts better.

Over all, this is a great and charming place, and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in Fez. My special thanks to Moha for all he did to help make our visit so pleasant and memorable!


Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This small riad has a charming manager, Fatima. Her quiet grace and attentiveness permeate this raid. The rooms are quite large and are filled with antiques with a Spanish accent. Even though there is an interior courtyard that could be noisy, it is not.. because this is a small place also the windows can be closed with shutters and drapes. The breakfast was delicious and one of the best we had during our 2 week tour of Morocco. Egg dishes were made to order. Most of our breakfasts in other riads only had hardboiled eggs if there were eggs at all. There are also numerous small restaurants within walking distance and into the medina. We could have had dinner here but forget to request it, in retrospect we wish we had done so. The Internet worked well. Most of the riads we stayed at did not have TV and this was no exception. The stairs up to the 2nd or 3rd level are very narrow and somewhat difficult to manage with suitcases. No matter this was a perfectly nice place to spend a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were only here one day and hope to come back for a much longer stay. Dar Cordoba has an excellent location and the room we had on the ground floor was gorgeous. The warn welcome by Fatima and the intimacy of the place added a familiar hospitality we have encountered in many of the Riads in Morocco. Without hesitation we strongly recommend this beautiful place during a stay in Fez.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Dar's location is great, close to everything you will want to visit in Fes. It's architecture and decoration are charming, rooms are big and quite typical, you do feel you are in Morocco and not just anywhere else in the world. It has a nice terrace. But the greatest surprise there and what made our staying really special was meeting the lovely Fatima, who made us feel so welcome, as if we were staying at a friends place. The food we had there was without any doubt the best we had in our whole staying in Morocco, delicious! They have cooking lessons for those interested, which include going to the market with Fatima to shop for fresh products for cooking with. It was an amazing staying!

Room Tip: Try to get one on the 1st floor as the stairs are narrow and steep, not easy to carry luggage to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Dar Cordoba contributed greatly to our wonderful experience in Fes. The place is beautifully decorated and has a very welcoming courtyard in the middle. There are only a few rooms but each room has its own unique style along with Moroccan draperies and rugs. The rooms are spacious and comfortable (the bathrooms are gorgeous!). Breakfast is delicious and more than filling with all of the food offered. The staff, including Moha, were very attentive and helpful. Dar Cordoba provides an intimate experience and I felt very much at home during my 3 nights stay there. I would return to this Dar in a heartbeat and recommend everyone to stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a wonderful 5-room Riad in the Medina area in Fez. The main courtyard is full of intricate tile work, ceramics and rugs, with comfortable and plush side rooms just off the courtyard. The room we stayed in was stunning with an extremely high ceiling, beautiful Moroccan rugs and architecture along with comfortable seating areas and clean and modern bathrooms. Moha and Fatima are very kind, thoughtful hosts who are very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was also very hearty and delicious. Wifi works all the time. The Riad is very conveniently located (5 minutes from the main blue gate) and in a safe part if town. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the 'orange' room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Cordoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Cordoba

Address: Derb Guebbus 15-Batha, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Fes
#10 Family Hotel in Fes
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming upon this riad, the traveller is transported into the splendours of Moorish art and architecture that reflect the deeply entwined history of Spain and Morocco. This ambience, along with the warm hospitality offered by the staff, will make your experience here unforgettable. Resplendent with carved plasterwork, mosaic tiles (known as zellij), doors and window frames of carved cedar wood, painted ceilings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Cordoba Fes
Riad Dar Cordoba Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Cordoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.