We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience in my life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Pacha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Pacha to your Saves list
Riad Al Pacha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Derb El Miter | Talâa El Kbira, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst experience in my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Frankly, I've never had such bad experience in my life, I travel a lot and stayed in good and low-budged hotel and hostel, but this three nights were nightmare for me.

- First night:They put me in a storage room and lied that was a single room, except of one bed, there were one paar of used shoes and two mattresses standing on the wall, there was no shared bathroom in this Riad, I couldn't even take a shower. They wanted to charge me 30EURO for it but I didn't accept, than they lower to price to 15EURO and promised me to remove me to a normal guest private room for the other two days.
- Second night: they hv change me to the normal private room, but they knocked at my door at 22:00 as they hv new guests and wanted to move me back to the storage room again, I closed my door and ignored them. I paid 35EURO each night but not for this service!
- Third night:They removed my staffs from my normal room and put them unlocked under the steps only because my bed is double bed and they gave it to a couple before I came back to this Riad
- My money in EURO has been stole on the third day, which I put in my purse and it was in a make-up bag on my bed. One of their staff has only stole part of them, with hoping I wouldn't noticed but I count my money right before I left my room on the third day (I had two 50EURO and one 10EURO, after I came back one 50EURO was missing ).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    8
    11
    30
See reviews for
9
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We managed to find this hidden hotel after a stranger pointed us in the right direction. The housekeeper attended to us (who couldnt speak any english) as there was nobody else to. She politely gave us a cup of mint tea and a little form to complete. We managed to book the room on the top floor which gave us great accessibility to the roof top with a magnificent view.
On the day we checked out, our breakfast was a bit late but we weren't too fussy about it. The owner however, screamed at his staff in front of us which we thought was not very professional. His staff were very kind and polite to us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed in November. Was quite cold and heating did not work. Room was not cleaned too well. Owner is horrible person and bad for his staff. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Central square of the riad is full of bird poo. It all looks quite nice, but could be so much better. Location is good though (once you find it).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The location is good, and the view from the roof over Fez is beautiful, that is it. We were recommended to stay here by another couple who had stayed a few days before us. The court yard is nice (except for the bird poo on everything), but the rooms are not like what you see in the pictures which was disappointing. On arrival when given our room we had ask for another one because it was not what we had booked and the breakfast poor in comparison to other riads we had stayed in. We both got a bad feeling after we met the owner, he appeared untrusting and fake but we stayed anyway. We were promised WiFi, which is part of the reason why we stayed, but there were was none and the owner offered us use of his computer so we could book a hotel for our next destination. BIG mistake, we were to find out later that our credit card details and hotel account had been hacked ( it was the only time we didn't use our iPhone), even though we had cleared all caching etc on the PC, and unauthorized transactions on our credit card which then had to be cancelled,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

At first I thought all the negative reviews were wrong, the room and riad looked great and the owner seemed nice enough and not very pushy about tours. Then we came back at night to find cockroaches in our bathroom. When I went down to ask for aid in getting rid of them, the owner led me to the kitchen, grabbed me, started kissing my cheek and tried to pull me in to kiss him! I screamed NO! and he then apologized as he thought I was not in fact married. It is very unfortunate as his staff is very kind but it is just not safe to deal with this man.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

When we first arrived at El Pacha the courtyard area looked really nice but when we were shown our room we were a little disappointed. The room was very small and the bathroom was poor and smelt badly of sewerage. The bed was also a little stained upon inspection. I am particularly critical of hotels and guest houses as I work in the industry myself but as always was willing to give the place a try.

Both my boyfriend and I had a terrible night's sleep on the first night as there weren't any proper curtains on the window and there was a light shining into the room throughout the night from outside. In addition to this the noise was extremely loud from the alleyway directly outside the window and could hear people shouting and cats screaming throughout the night.

We went for breakfast on the first morning in the courtyard and were really disappointed. Every other riad we had stayed at had hot items and beautiful freshly squeezed orange juice. This breakfast had neither and was really basic and food was stale. They also didn't have any milk for tea or coffee. At one point a bird pooed on the empty table next to us and the birds were also pecking at the bread and jams on the table that were layed for the next guests. We did find this rather unhygenic to say the least.

Whilst having our poor breakfast, we noticed a strange looking man (turns out to be the owner!) dressed in an old jumper and dirty trainers and tracksuit bottoms wandering around. He then proceeded to come up to us very abruptly to ask us who we were and were we leaving today! We were flumoxed and found it extremely rude. We later asked him if we could move rooms as we couldn't sleep in the same room due to the noise and his response was that nobody has ever complained about this before (looking at the trip advisor comments I see that it is far from the truth!) and said that if we didn't like it we could leave and find somewhere else to stay!!! Totally unacceptable and the worst service I have ever encountered. I was gob-smacked and had we not have already paid a hefty deposit we would have moved elsewhere.

After breakfast we had arranged for a private guide to collect us at 9am but never arrived as the man who looks after the place during the evening never arranged it for us as promised. Therefore we had to ask the owner to arrange for us. He called and told us to wait for 45mins but after this time the guide had still not turned up and his response was that we should find something else to do for the day instead!!!! Luckily the guide did eventually turn up and we were able to enjoy our day.

We did notice that throughout our stay that many other guests seemed to encounter very similar problems and the way that the owner spoke to them was appalling. The only positive part of our stay here was that the location was excellent and a stone's throw away from the medina. The roof terrace also has great panoramic views but is in serious need for a refurbishment....in fact most of the riad is!!!!

Please don't stay here!

Room Tip: By not booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful riad in a great location for the medina. There will be negotiations to be had if you booked a standard room through hostelworld but it's worth it for the few extra quid. The owner is not just a good negotiator but also an excellent host helping with anything you need.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Pacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Pacha

Address: 7 Derb El Miter | Talâa El Kbira, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Fes
#38 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Pacha 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Pacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Pacha Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Pacha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.