We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ghita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ghita to your Saves list
Riad Ghita
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52, bouajjara, bab jdid, Fes 55000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 91 Hotels in Fes
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Riad Ghita is on the edge of the medina close to Bab Jdid. It is spread over two buildings, both similarly decorated and with comfortable roof terraces. It's a six or seven minute walk to the Medina.
You are unlikely to receive a warmer or more genuine welcome in Fes: the staff are helpful and will do whatever you need to make your stay comfortable. The proprietor is charming and more than happy to sit and discuss the affairs of the world over some mint tea, and the manageress, who never seems to go home, has a permanent smile on her face. Everyone speaks very good English.
My suite (Ahlam) was attractive and comfortable, and just the right size for one, although it had two single beds. Incidentally, these beds are fantastic if you like a firm mattress). There is a sofa and low table, and a spacious-enough wardrobe. The tv offers plenty of channels, including BBC World.
The bathroom has a good shower, although you have to waft the shower head around you, rather than stand underneath it. It is very powerful, however. They are a little mean with the toiletries, which comprise a couple of bars of soap and some average hotel shower stuff, so take shampoo and conditioner.
Food at Riad Ghita is excellent, and extremely plentiful. Breakfast is filling and tasty, but the real star is dinner. Your dinner will start with some excellent olives in harissa, followed by a selection of amazing vegetable salads and bread: my advice is to be careful with the bread! Then your main dish will arrive. The tagines are excellent, the cous-cous light and fluffy and the grills are superb. You choose at breakfast what you want to eat, and they cook it fresh for you at the time you've asked for. Dessert will be some fresh fruit or Moroccan cakes. You will probably have to take dinner at the riad, unless you take a taxi to somewhere else.
So why have I given four and not five? Well, the toiletries may seem trivial, but it did matter that I had to go and find some shampoo etc, but the real issue for me was the noise outside at night, which was intrusive enough to make me wear ear plugs.
That said, I'd happily stay at Riad Ghita any time, and it comes very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    41
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We felt very fortunate to have chosen this riad. It is conveniently located -- inside the medieval walls of the old city, but just outside the inner medina, so that it can easily be reached by taxi. It is an easy short walk north through the Bab R'cif into the very heart of the old city -- moreover, one arrives in the inner, Kairouine area of the medina instead of at the more touristy western end closer to the Bab Boujloud.
The riad is built around an elegant 16thc courtyard and has a roof terrace with stunning views across the city: sit and sip mint tea in the late afternoon and watch the egrets flying home to roost, the sunset catching their wings. The staff at the Riad Ghita are uniformly charming and helpful: Senna in particular, our chief hostess, is good-humoured, resourceful and welcoming. (When I mentioned that we had come in part to spend Valentine's Day in Fes and asked where I might find flowers, she obtained an arrangement of red roses herself at no charge). The breakfast and dinner served in the courtyard are so good that we spared ourselves the trouble of eating out in the evenings throughout the four days we were there -- this is something we would never normally do, and a serious tribute to the quality and range of the riad's cooking.

The Fes medina -- all 9,000 barely-mapped alleyways of it -- makes the one at Marrakech look like Milton Keynes, and though normally we wouldn't dream of hiring a guide we decided to do so for our first day's reconnaissance. Senna booked Moustafa for us, a tactful, informative and extremely well-informed guide without whom we would have been so pestered by less trustworthy volunteers that we would have seen little for fending them off. In the company of one of the faithful one can also look much more closely at the great Islamic shrines, mosques and medersas. Like most guides he took us to his favourite shops among the monuments, but they were good shops, fairly priced, and the pressure to buy was not overwhelming: and the tiny family-run restaurant where we had lunch was excellent. We would have missed a great deal without him: he is exceptionally good at his job. Impressed, we asked Senna to arrange for us to visit the Roman city and Volubilis and the nearby city of Meknes too, and she provided an equally good driver at an equally fair price.

This is a beautiful riad, where you can be as independent or as thoroughly well looked-after as you choose. If we are able to return to Fes we will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The Royal Suite on the second floor is particularly good: since it has windows facing outwards into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Chose Riad Ghitta as just on the edge of the Medina which meant that the taxi can drop you off outside the door - cars cannot go into teh Medina where many of the hotels are. Arrived late at night due to another Moroccan train delays but staff were there with a warm welcome and Moroccan tea. Got a free upgrade to a huge suite - amazing
The lady owner of the Riad arranged a very good guide - Irdiss, to show us around the Medina for half a day.
Overall would recommend this as a perfect Riad to enjoy your time in Fes

Room Tip: Do not try doing the Medina on your own with the thought of it must be fun to get lost in the narrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

After being in whole Morocco and having explored the whole Medina and modern town in Fez I can tell that Riad Ghita is my home in Morocco for its "homy" service since the first minute you enter the owner, assistants give you the warmest Moroccan welcome. They are all the time ready to make your stay unforgetable. Last but not least, its location is the best a Riad can have in the laberynthic Medina for it is in Medina's heart and also meters for vehicle access and the authentic Place R'Cif ! I highly recomend to have dinner in the Riad: the cook is superb !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

On a girls trip to morocco and we were lucky enough to be booked into this oasis in Fez. We were welcomed to this family run business by very friendly staff and the owner. Our room was just off the beautiful open terrace and was large with a lounge and queen size bed. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful.

I would highly recommend this riad if you are travelling to Fez

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Riad's courtyard is a delight and the room I stayed in probably the most palatial room I have ever occupied. The welcome was very cordial and helpful. Dining on the terrace above was a pleasure of an evening and breakfast in the interior cool of the morning was excellent. The upstairs room occupied by my companions was not to be recommended compared with those below. The location is easy to find compared with those inside the Medina but the walk to the interior is not long. Given the stories of getting lost within we were guided by Mustapha, the Riad's recommended guide, on the first day who was informative and gave us an idea of the place for later independent wandering. A uniquely preserved ancient city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Riad Ghita was a little bit disappointing.
We booked the room in the patio but we stayed only one night because the smell of mould.
We asked to change the room and we moved in the room on the terrace but the situation did not change a lot.
The breakfast was very good and rich. Location: during the day is easy to move around because the riad is near the medina but in the evening you have to take the taxi because the restaurant and the night life is near the Blue door.
The people in the riad are very helpful and they prepared the breakfast at 6.30 the day when we left.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ghita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghita

Address: 52, bouajjara, bab jdid, Fes 55000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#32 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Ghita 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ghita is a traditional, splendid house abode of notable one situated to the heart of the old city of F??s and fine neighborhood R'cif. Accessible by car with a big kept parking lot to proximity of the Riad. The Riad is built in a palace dating back to the 16th restored century with authenticity and respect of the architecture hispano moorish, perfectly equipped essential modern comfort to your well being ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Ghita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ghita Hotel Fes
Riad Ghita Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ghita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.