We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mounia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mounia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mounia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60, Bd Zerktouni, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Deventer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

No free public wifi but I paid €2,- for 2 days So that is almost free. Clan rooms with comphy beds, Friendly staff. In Marocco no alchohol is served in public so drink it in the nice bar in the semi basement. I traveled with tourgroup (kras.nl)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    41
    15
    18
See reviews for
19
31
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macerata, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

They charged me 10 euro saying that I've stolen a towel. Not true, the towel was not there already at the time of my arrival in the room.
Hotel dirty and disgusting breakfast. Rude staff.
dont go to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel has a nice lobby, but average rooms and poor food.
ROOM: First there was no electricity, but they repaired it after we warned them. Then there was no water, so we had to go again to the front desk to ask them to repair.
FOOD: The dinner was average. When we asked for a big bottle of water, the cap was already opened and there was a dent on the plastic bottle, so it was suspicious that they poured in tap water. Rather ask for a sparkling water, even if it is a bit more expensive. The breakfast was poor, the croissants and baguettes were at least one day old. Except dried olives they did not offer any kind of vegetable or fruit (like tomatoes, etc). The unpacked butter was in a bowl of ice, which of course melted after a time, so it was a mixed butter with water. Single-packed cheese with old baguette was my breakfast.
NEIGHBORHOOD: In the evening we went out to look around, but the neighborhood of the hotel did not look safe, so after 10 minutes of walk we rather turned back... luckily we stayed only one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Absolutely terrible experience!

Very unfriendly staff. Our room didn't have warm water.
Even though we went down for breakfast on time it was already cleaned up and after complaining we got some pathetic leftovers.
The overall stay was unpleasant and we demanded to speak to the manager.
After a lot of lies and dodging our requests, they called in a thug who pretended to be a manager which later chased us out into the street - after I go fed up and told him to go have a 'relationship' with a camel. The situation and their behavior were completely ridiculous.

This hotel is definitely not worth the money or your nerves. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Perched on top of a neighboring hotel, this was recommended to us for the food and the view - unfortunately, neither was to be enjoyed: it was pouring cats and dogs, and the whole dining experience was compromised by the chocking smoke enveloping the entire dining area from the open kitchen and grilling area. The service was extremely lacking: both efficiency and courtesy; the grilled combo my husband ordered was dry, overdone and charred; my vegetable tajine was bland and the vegetables were soggy. As no alcohol is served in most restaurants in Morocco, there was nothing to dilute the forgettable experience.

Lesson learned! The second night, we made a lovely picnic of Moroccan wine, local cheeses, sausages, artisan bread and juicy fruits. So much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here two nights with family of four in august 2012. The rooms are clean and spacious but the hotel has little atmosphere. More like a business hotel. It is located far away from the medina. Restaurant is good and staff is friendly. They have a very small garage for cars if needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield,England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel is typically "a corner of heaven" in this busy area of the Nouvelle Ville,in Fez.
Such a warm welcome (un acceuile vraiment chalereux) made me feel very comfortable to know that I am in the company of genuinely nice & friendly people.
I was on half-board and was lodged in a lovely clean room with large windows and good lighting facing the streets down below.
Fresh towels were provided daily.Warm showers available.The cleaning staff was very polite & helpful at all times.The meals were very well prepared by a very professional chef and served by excellent dining room personnel.
Breakfast buffet-style consisted of a variety of croissants,brioches,cakes and fruit.Hot & cold drinks available.The pleasant aromatic smell of coffee welcome the guests to breakfast.Tea with fresh mint was a special delicacy enjoyed my many.
I intend to visit again.I thank ALL the staff for their generous effort to make my stay a happy one.Sayda at the reception offered me good advice and spent time chatting with me although she was always very busy in her role.I treasure this memory of meeting her.She is a caring person and truly dedicated to her work at the hotel.

Room Tip: Situated on a busy street in this semi-industrial part of the city,it is best to choose a room towar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mounia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mounia

Address: 60, Bd Zerktouni, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mounia 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mounia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mounia Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mounia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.