We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-run, beautiful Dar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Roumana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Roumana to your Saves list
Dar Roumana
30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Well-run, beautiful Dar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife chose Dar Roumana for our 3-day stay in Fes after going through the Trip Advisor reviews. We were not surprised by the exquisite look, the cleanliness and the amenities, most especially the view of Fes from the top floor. Vanessa was a gracious host and, almost always, had boundless energy and patience in dealing with all the guests. We stayed at the upper floors, on recommendation by the reviewers and we made the right choice. It was peaceful and quiet during bedtime, even when guests were having a great time over dinner at the ground floor. Wifi was excellent.

The dinner we had on our last night was great. Vincent is a great French chef that he is known to be and Vanessa must be really proud of his husband.

I will certainly stay again in Dar Roumana if and when I go back to Fes, especially if Vanessa can upgrade the A/C unit of our room so it will be quiet.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the upper floor to avoid the noise from the dining hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    20
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
48
169
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent a lovely week in Fes, staying at Dar Roumana the entire time. The riad is beautifully appointed and the service is first class. We also dined there several nights and each time had a wonderful meal (including one specially made for our queasy stomachs). Well done Jen, Vanessa and Vincent and staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Dar Roumana is exquisite. Our family of six arrived after two nights in the desert and a 10-hour drive. To say that it was an oasis for six motley and weary travelers is an understatement! The dar opened in 2006 after painstaking restoration by its American owner; no detail was overlooked. We took three of the five rooms, each of which was beautiful and luxurious. Two of them overlooked the beautiful center courtyard. Manager Vanessa couldn't do enough for us. She welcomed us warmly and was a font of information. The dar is located in a quiet section of the old Medina, a short walk from the main souks. We stayed four nights, and each day we looked forward to returning to our beautiful refuge after the intensity of the Medina. The rooftop terrace has a jaw-dropping view of the Medina. We loved having breakfast there as well as a glass of Moroccan wine before dinner. I am very particular about where we stay when we travel; believe me, you won't be disappointed. Thank you Vanessa and staff for an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Every room is exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Sawan, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

A night in the beautifully and painstakingly restored Dar Roumana, with elegant rooms and some of the best service we have ever received, is something everyone should experience!!!
Manager Vanessa is warm, friendly, professional and a fountain of knowledge about Fes and local culture. The Moroccan staff feel like part of the family and whilst you arrive feeling like Moroccan royalty in the plush surroundings you'll leave feeling like old friends.
If relaxing in your sumptuous room, decorated with astute attention to detail, isn't enough you can relax in one of the many communal spaces. Enjoy a mint tea by the fountain in the courtyard, cuddle up by the fire, retire to the TV room, curl up with a book in the library or enjoy the calls to prayer ringing out over the ancient medina from the roof terrace. High end budget-wise but worth every penny. We can't recommend this place highly enough- and we haven't even mentioned the amazing breakfast or the French chef!
We really loved this place and can't recommend it enough. I felt like a princess! Wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Dar Roumana, I knew we'd made the right decision! We walked through a rather ordinary door to find the most extraordinary Dar, restored beautifully throughout and every bit the Moroccan dream I'd hoped for. Our ground floor room was vast, beautifully decorated, super clean and luxurious. I was completely blown away and then we made it up to the rooftop - the view left me speechless! It must be the best view in Fez!

The service, wifi, breakfasts and atmosphere was the best we had in Morocco, if not our entire 3 month trip through India, Turkey and Morocco. That is quite something!

What made our stay most memorable though were the hosts Vanessa and Vincent. They are warm, welcoming and go beyond what is expected of any hosts. Vanessa taught us so much about the region and recommended countless experiences, restaurants and places of interest that we would never have discovered without her. So not only was our stay in Dar Roumana fabulous, but every time we stepped out to discover the area, our experience was beyond what the normal 'traveler' might have seen. For that we were incredibly grateful!

I'm honestly counting down the days until we get back, as Dar Roumana feels like a 'home' in Fez that I will continue to revisit.

Thank you to Vanessa, Vincent and all the staff for making our stay so exceptional!!

P.s. You absolutely MUST eat at Dar Roumana one evening... You could serve Vincent's food anywhere in the world and be in awe of how creative, fresh and delicious it is. By far the best meal of our trip!! The secret seems to be out though so make sure you book in advance :-)

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, with a sitting room and stairs to a small single bed room. It was huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

From the first contact with Vanessa one is made to feel as if this visit will be something special. The property is well situated within the historic medina and becomes a welcoming refuge after busy, action filled experiences. We only had three days to explore and Vanessa helped us book and schedule some activities that allowed us time to wander, meet local food and art practitioners and enjoy daily life in Fes. Dar Roumana is itself a large part of the enjoyment. The hotel feels like a private home and each suite is unique and filled with beautiful objects that make one feel at home and nurtured. Every need is satisfied and the fragrances of the locally made toiletries allow an entrance into another place and time. From the first moment you enter, you are made to feel welcome and cared for. Relaxing on the roof with a bottle of wine or enjoying tea in one of the sitting rooms, you always feel as if ordinary life has vanished and you can refresh your spirit.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm. The photos posted on the website are very accurate. I preferred upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have travelled in 30 countries and have never stayed anywhere as wonderful as this. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and this was a perfect choice. From start to finish the care and attention provided by Vanessa, Vincent and their team is amazing.

The Riad is spectacular, but the details and service are equally as good. From afternoon tea on the terrace, to the excellent bathroom products, to the laundry service, you are taken care of. We stayed in the Tamarind Suite on the first floor which was huge and very beautiful with a lovely bath and good light. I would choose it again for location and comfort.

Vanessa has a gift of making you feel like a friend while still remaining completely professional and taking care of all your travel needs. On arrival she gave us confidence that we would have no trouble navigating the Medina on our own with her tips and she was right. She also arranged a driver to take us on a day trip to Volubilis and Meknes (without a guide) which was excellent. They even provided a packed breakfast for us as we wanted to leave at 8am.
I have written a separate review of the restaurant, but we highly recommend eating here as the food was superb.
We really enjoyed Fez and would go back again just to stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor open onto the central courtyard which is used for breakfast and dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Roumana

Address: 30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Riad guesthouse in the ancient medina with a 360 degree panoramic view from the furnished roof terrace, where drinks and breakfast is served. All rooms (4 suites and 1 double room) are decorated with traditional arts and crafts, intricate carved plaster, high cedar ceilings, mosaic tile floors, and hand-crafted furniture. At the heart of the Riad is an ornately tiled courtyard with a sunken fountain where our restaurant is located. The cuisine is French/Mediterranean with a Moroccan twist and dining with us is a highlight for our guests. Other amenities include an intimate salon with fireplace, large library, DVD/TV salon, roof-top BBQ, and free WiFi access. The managers provide a full concierge service to help our guests with any arrangements they might need and allow them to experience the best of the Fes Medina and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Roumana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Roumana Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Roumana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.