We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Roumana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Roumana to your Saves list
Dar Roumana
30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30100, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Closed for August
Ranked #8 of 176 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just spent an amazing 7 days at Dar Roumana. The riad is absolutely charming and made all the more welcoming by Vanessa and her team. Nothing was too much trouble and everybody went out of their way to make sure you got the best out of your time in Fes. A trip was arranged for us at very short notice and turned out to be the highlight of the week. We stayed in the Yasmina suite which is palatial to say the least - with a beautiful view from its own balcony. We ate twice in the riad- one meal cooked by Vincent the chef and the other by the housekeeper. Both meals very different but excellent in their own way. Other recommendations for eating out were also spot on. All in all you could not choose a better riad in the medina for its beauty and warmth of hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    24
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
53
183
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Staying in Dar Roumana was a highlight of our Moroccan vacation. We were really happy we chose it for our riad in Fes. We stayed there for 5 nights and could easily have stayed even longer. Our room was beautifully decorated and really spacious. So was the central yard. It all gave a feeling as if we were staying in Alhambra. One really nice feature was the roof terrace where we spent a lot of time having afternoon tea, enjoying the gorgeous view of the medina (Dar Roumana is located pretty high up, so one gets a really nice view of the medina from the terrace), or just lying on the couch doing nothing. The personel is extremely helpful and friendly. We also enjoyed having breakfast and dinner in the central yard. The food is simply excellent, it is prepared from fresh ingredients obtained daily from the local food market. The food is a kind of a mixture of Moroccan and Mediterranean kitchen. On Mondays, they serve traditional Moroccan dishes. If you care for wine, that's also available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Dar Roumana is a haven of peace and tranquillity in a fantastic position inside The Medina. Incredible views from the roof terrace to all sides of Fes with lots of places inside and out to relax and enjoy complimentary tea .I loved the library!!
What really makes this place special is the genuine warmth, interest and hospitality of Vanessa and ALL her team. Nothing was too much trouble during our stay. Walking us on our first day to the main street as we were a little unsure of the way. Suggesting places to eat and arranging a driver at short notice when we decided to change our plans. Supportive but not intrusive.
We stayed for seven days and could not have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Yasmina Suite which has a lovely terrace and can accommodate an extra bed. Six full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great food, great service, beautiful rooms and an overall terrific experience. The staff was very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. A great place to come back and relax after a busy day in the media.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Dar Roumana is a beautiful Riad providing lots of places for relaxing after a day in the medina. The decor brings you back into a another time, for you to enjoy the Fez experience. The people provided us with lots of support, with information and a sincere interest in helping us have the best trip ever--we were taken care of well. The food was outstanding!

Room Tip: We had the room with the balcony whre we enjoyed ending our days of exploration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our second time to Morroco and probably the fifth Riad we have stayed in. Dar Roumana....Loved it, loved it, loved it. Best of the best. Incredible Riad, incredible service, incredible food.....we could not have had a better experience. A great location inside the Medina, our rooms were luxurious, Vanessa and all of the staff were so accommodating and helpful. We really were made to feel at home. Our dining experience was exceptional...fine cuisine enhanced by truly divine ambience. Any recommendations for services, dining or activities that Vanessa made were amazing....from the spa to a fabulous home dining experience. Our only disappointment.....that we couldn't stay longer. We have absolute confidence in recommending Dar Roumana. You can be assured of capturing the essence of Morroco and enjoy the hospitality and care of Vanessa, Mohammad and staff. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent a night at Dar Roumana. The sevice was excellent and all the information Mohammed provided us about Fès was very helpful. On the next day our train was leaving very late at night, and Gail was so kind to let us stay as long as we needed, and even let us have a nap in an extra room.

My point was to make a surprise to my girlfriend by offerinf her a great moment of high standard comfort, for her to feel like a Queen. Everything was perfect, and we're both very satisfied! =)

Also, the terrace on the rooftop is providing an amazing view and will stay in our memory!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#7 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Bensouda
Riad Dar Bensouda
#9 of 176 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
0.3 mi away
Riad Idrissy
Riad Idrissy
#5 of 176 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Roumana

Address: 30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30100, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Riad guesthouse in the ancient medina with a 360 degree panoramic view from the furnished roof terrace, where drinks and breakfast is served. All rooms (4 suites and 1 double room) are decorated with traditional arts and crafts, intricate carved plaster, high cedar ceilings, mosaic tile floors, and hand-crafted furniture. At the heart of the Riad is an ornately tiled courtyard with a sunken fountain where our restaurant is located. The cuisine is French/Mediterranean with a Moroccan twist and dining with us is a highlight for our guests. Other amenities include an intimate salon with fireplace, large library, DVD/TV salon, roof-top BBQ, and free WiFi access. The managers provide a full concierge service to help our guests with any arrangements they might need and allow them to experience the best of the Fes Medina and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Roumana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Roumana Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Roumana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.