We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Roumana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Roumana to your Saves list
Dar Roumana
30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My sister stayed here with her husband and daughter a couple of years ago and recommended it highly. So glad I listened to her! The riad was gorgeous - lovingly restored with beautiful mosaics, intricate geometric plasterwork and carved timber. We stayed in Tamarind Suite which was huge and very comfortable. It's run by Vanessa and husband Vincent - a French chef. Had a delicious meal in the restaurant - best meal we had in Morocco. Make sure you eat there at least once! Breakfasts on the roof terrace also very enjoyable with great views across the town. There's also a library where you can relax, a room with a selection of DVDs and another with computers and internet access. Vanessa was very helpful, she organised a non-shopping guide for us which was €20 for a morning - would definitely recommend at beginning of your stay in Fes to get your bearings. She also recommended other places to eat as did Mohammed, the manager. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    20
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
48
169
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just completed a whirlwind tour of Morocco and Spain staying in a multitude of boutique hotels and Dar Roumana was the highlight of the bunch. Run by an Australian / French couple, the restored riad is amazing. Rooms are very large, with high ceilings and antique furnishings with intricate geometric patterns and tiles throughout. At night the central courtyard is a French restaurant with a Moroccan twist. The location is a 5 minute walk from the walls of the Medina, and was not very challenging to find. The roof top terrace is amazing, as it is up the highest side of the hill and overlooks the entire Medina where you can enjoy the sunset and listen to the mesmerizing call to prayer.

Vanessa couldn't be a better host and was always checking in to see if we needed anything, and to give us directions to other restaurants and attractions. I would 100% recommend this property for anyone visiting Fez, it's a true 5 star experience!

Room Tip: Some rooms have AC, some do not. Please ensure that if AC is important to you, you chose the approp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beilstein, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at Dar Roumana for 3 nights this September and it was an absolute pleasure! The staff were wonderful, breakfast on the terrace was lovely (best views of the city!) and the room was spectacular. Clean, calm, cozy and stylish! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice spot to stay in the medina! Vanessa was the highlight of my stay, with her calming and positive energy! Thank you for an unforgettable experience!! (I'll be back)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Dar Roumana has been beautifully renovated and the rooms are amazing. It is small and intimate with a friendly and welcoming feel. Set in the medina of Fez, just open the door and you're in another world. You breakfast on the roof terrace which has beautiful views across the medina to the Atlas Mountains in the distance.
We had 4 nights in the magnificent Jasmina Suite with it's gorgeous ceiling and wall tiling. The lovely comfortable four poster bed is just the thing to enhance the look of this amazing room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilydale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at Dar Roumana for 5 days. This is the place to stay if you are wanting an outstanding travel experience. Great architecture, wonderfull staff who go out of there way to make your stay tailored to your needs. The roof top terrace is breathtaking givingyou a place to reflect your experiences in the Medina. Food amazing, and the vibe spot on. Vanessa and Gail are the treasures in the Medina.

Room Tip: we had the smaller room upstairs, this had a great bathroom and view outsied. Good for a romantic co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A great place to stay and eat! Beautifully restored, easy location to wander the Medina, a staff that went the extra mile to be sure our visit was memorable and fulfilled our expectations. They arranged all of our tours for us, made great suggestions to add to our extended itinerary, always greeted us with a smile and asked if we needed or wanted something. We had wonderful evenings on the rooftop terrace and great dinners that were a welcome change from the tangines. Many,many thanks to Vanessa, Mohammed, Gail, Vincent, and the others that were behind the scenes.

Room Tip: The Jasmine room was spacious, has a nice little balcony, and a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Dar Roumana for 3 days and found the place magical. The dar is beautifully restored and felt like a palace: the intricate tile work on the walls and the wood work on the doors is just stunning!

The rooms are well-appointed, the bathrooms luxurious (their bath products are amazing!), and the beds extremely comfortable. The view from the terrasse is stunning: you get an incomparable panoramic view of the Fes medina. There are also many rooms and alcoves in the dar: my favorite was the library with its confortable furniture and large collection of books.

The service was attentive and helpful: Mohammad and Gail gave us excellent restaurant recommendations and helped us book a taxi for the airport for our early flight out of Fes.

All in all, Dar Roumana is a magical haven: it's a quiet palace in the chaos of the Fes medina. If you are ever in Fes, don't miss the chance to stay in this wonderful place.

Room Tip: The Yasmina suite has a charming little balcony and is quite spacious and regal. The Tamarind suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Roumana

Address: 30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Riad guesthouse in the ancient medina with a 360 degree panoramic view from the furnished roof terrace, where drinks and breakfast is served. All rooms (4 suites and 1 double room) are decorated with traditional arts and crafts, intricate carved plaster, high cedar ceilings, mosaic tile floors, and hand-crafted furniture. At the heart of the Riad is an ornately tiled courtyard with a sunken fountain where our restaurant is located. The cuisine is French/Mediterranean with a Moroccan twist and dining with us is a highlight for our guests. Other amenities include an intimate salon with fireplace, large library, DVD/TV salon, roof-top BBQ, and free WiFi access. The managers provide a full concierge service to help our guests with any arrangements they might need and allow them to experience the best of the Fes Medina and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Roumana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Roumana Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Roumana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.