We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Roumana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Roumana to your Saves list
Dar Roumana
30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 170 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Windsor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

In March last year we had a wonderful stay at the beautiful Dar Roumana. Jennifer looked after us superbly; helping us to find our way in the medina, advising on the hamam, showing us how to cook Moroccan food and providing delicious afternoon teas!
The Dar Roumana was a peaceful and beautiful place to base ourselves during our stay in Fes. It was especially nice to be on the outskirts of the city - we always looked forward to returning to the calm of the building after a day out.
Our room (Yasmina) was the best room as it has abundant natural light, it was large and also has its own balcony - perfect for those lazy breakfasts.
Fes is an incredibly culture-rich city - be prepared for those donkey smells down the narrow alleys though! Take your wish list for leather goods - the range and quality is amazing, but don't forget to barter.
We would definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    22
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
51
171
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

Dar Roumana was incredible! My husband and I stayed for two nights during our journey through Morocco and were met by the kindest owners and staff. Not only is the riad itself the most spectacular piece of architecture (and immaculately restored and decorated), but everyone went out of their way to make our experience as perfect as possible. From the special attention and specially made moroccon rice dish made for my husband to ease his travel-weary gut, to the delectable dinner, to the one-on-one attention, care and dedication, this place is NOT to miss. Each of the rooms is phenomenal in comfort, decoration, size, cleanliness... down to the small touches of giant bathtub, custom-made bath products, big fuzzy robes... The suites are also paired with communal spaces, like a movie room, a library (with internet!) and the upstairs terrace that has an unmatchable view of the city. My husband and I say: we wish we could take Dar Roumana with us everywhere we travel!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

We stayed at Dar Roumana for one week in November of 2007. The dar is beautiful and quite a good value as you can see for yourself on their website [--]. It is meticiously restored. Jennifer and Sebastian, the owners, had a wine tasting event of Moroccan wines during our stay, and Jennifer, who is a chef, did the cooking for the delicious dinner afterwards. We would highly recommend their dar for anyone traveling to Fes as Jennifer and Sebastian went way out of their way to care for us, inform us about Fes, and are each generous and kind. Jennifer even baked a cake for her birthday that she shared with her guests.

  • Liked — The service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, United States
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

This was our favorite stay in morrocco jennifer is wonderful and the riad is nice after the hustle and bustle of the medina it also has the best view in fes we booked the tamarind suite and would reccomend it: there is a nice library room next door

also we loved fes spend more time here than marrakech::::lots more charm and less touristy

  • Liked — great host staff and view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

Just returned from a fabulous trip to Morocco. Our hotel of choice in Fes was Dar Roumana and it was GREAT! Generous sized rooms, unbelievable architecture and a perfect location. We were happy to meet and spend time with the other guests (though there is plenty of room to escape and have time to yourself if you prefer that type of trip as well!).

For those concerned about navigating the narrow, confusing streets, rest assured, you will get lost. But at Dar Roumana, Bouchta (Dar Roumana's porter) is ready to meet you and help you make your way home!

Jennifer made us feel right at home (at least we wish it was our home!). She was an endless source of information, and a great guide to the best of Fes. She really went above and beyond!

I only wish we had more time. You won't regret your stay here. It was really unbelievable!!!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

My fiancee and I visited Fes end of September 2007 and stayed at Dar Roumana for 3 nights. We found Fez very fascinating and very INTENSE, and Dar Roumana was such a perfect haven to return to after a day of exploring the medina and its vicinity. We loved the riad - every nooks and crannies of it. Its architectural details were pretty impressive. The bedrooms and bathrooms were charming, spacious and comfortable. The courtyard was spectacular. We enjoyed the lovely roof terrace, where we relaxed with a bottle of wine every night. The whole house was very clean and well-maintained. But what made the riad much more special was its staff. It was unfortunate that we did not meet the homeowners, Jennifer and Sebastian, during our stay as they were on vacation, but the staff took care of everything perfectly. We were welcomed by Josephine, a lovely and gentle lady who was a friend of Jennifer and Sebastian and who also runs her own riad nearby. She gave us very useful and practical information about Fes and check on the guests everyday to make sure everything was well. She also helped us arranged for a car to Azrou. Muhammad, the chef who also managed the house, was simply wonderful. He was so professional, gracious and helpful. He assisted us in reserving hotel in Azrou. Bouchta, the porter, helped us find our way in and out of the medina. And the charming ladies in the kitchen always made us smile in the morning when they served us breakfast. A quality riad with a quality staff - I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — A lot of character, Moroccan atmosphere, quality riad, great staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Roumana

Address: 30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Riad guesthouse in the ancient medina with a 360 degree panoramic view from the furnished roof terrace, where drinks and breakfast is served. All rooms (4 suites and 1 double room) are decorated with traditional arts and crafts, intricate carved plaster, high cedar ceilings, mosaic tile floors, and hand-crafted furniture. At the heart of the Riad is an ornately tiled courtyard with a sunken fountain where our restaurant is located. The cuisine is French/Mediterranean with a Moroccan twist and dining with us is a highlight for our guests. Other amenities include an intimate salon with fireplace, large library, DVD/TV salon, roof-top BBQ, and free WiFi access. The managers provide a full concierge service to help our guests with any arrangements they might need and allow them to experience the best of the Fes Medina and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Roumana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Roumana Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Roumana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.