We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Roumana & our lovely guide Hakim” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Roumana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Dar Roumana to your Saves list
Dar Roumana
30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 166 Fes B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dar Roumana & our lovely guide Hakim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at Dar Roumana (in the Roumana Suite) in Fes for 5 nights in March 2011. The Dar has been beautifully restored. The Roumana Suite was beautifully appointed with high ceilings, lovely ambiance and high-quality bathroom facilities.

The Dar has a fantastic rooftop terrace with stunning 360-degree panoramic views over the Fes medina - perfect for afternoon tea (which is provided on request) or for the keen photographer.

It was also good to have free access to a computer and internet during our stay.

The staff members Mohammed and Nezra (?) were extremely helpful and friendly.

The Dar is located approximately 200 metres from the main stretch of souqs. We appreciated that it was a little further away from the hustle and bustle of the medina.

We also explored the medina with the help of recommended guide Hakim. Hakim was a wealth of knowledge - educating us about the historical value of the medina and also had impeccable knowledge on music (he was the official guide to Johnny Clegg). We would certainly recommend that you use Hakim's services to gain a better understanding of the medina before venturing out yourselves and getting lost.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    20
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
47
158
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Our two nights in Fez were spent at this riad, chosen on its merits of price and location. Despite all the great reviews, we didn’t really have high expectations - how wrong we were. Restoration of this riad boasts detail everywhere you look - it really looks like it has always been like this. The riad is in a great location within the north end of the medina and all the attractions are relatively easy to find. We stayed in the Tamarind room which was very nice and spacious. As a previously review states, you cannot hang the shower head because the wall bracket is cracked. This is the only negative thing I can say about the riad itself and I forgot to mention it to management. We paid 70 dirham for a taxi arranged through the riad to pick us up from the train station to the medina entrance and another 30 dirham for someone to take us to the riad. On the way back to the train station, we found our own way to the entrance of the medina (we were travelling light) and paid 10 dirham for a taxi to take us to the station. The service we got at the riad from Mohammed was profession and helpful and likewise from Gail who we met briefly once. The only negative thing we can say about the service was that we booked an evening meal which got delayed because other guest were late coming to the riad. On the menu was chicken tangine which subsequently became hard and dry. We couldn’t eat ours and there was no alternative because the cooks come in the day to prepare/cook in the daytime. I had lost my appetite anyway and Mohammed took 75 dirham off the bill, but not before saying that the chicken is “cooked that way in Morocco”?! It could have been one factor that could have ruined the whole experience of staying at the riad but it didn’t so I am still willing to give this riad 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

It looks like everyone else has already said it: this is a very charming riad in a quiet part of the Fes Medina. My partner and I loved our stay there, were mesmerized with the beautiful restored tile and views from the roof deck, and thoroughly enjoyed our on-site dinner. We got terrific and very helpful advice from Gail, who really looks after the guests and their needs, and will gladly run interference with any local tour guides, drivers, etc. She was also very knowledgeable about local attractions, the local FedEx location, places to eat, and recommended a good, slightly upscale hammam outside of the Medina. Our dinner prepared by Jennifer, the riad owner, was delicious – and such a treat to have a change of pace after days of [otherwise good] couscous and tagines, with foods to comfort our western palates.

The only glitch, truly, was a shower that didn’t stay mounted to the wall and a tub that shifted, allowing water to leak across the floor (which happened on our last day, and which we reported it to friendly Mohammed, so hopefully it has been fixed by now). The bed and bedding were wonderful, and the air conditioning and other furnishings were otherwise in good working order.

The riad has relaxed elegance – not as ultra-fussy as the Riad Fez in the center of the Medina, where we were directed by Gail for a nice lunch – but one which I thoroughly enjoyed and would highly recommend to anyone visiting Fes. From the moment you walk into the riad, your jaw will drop, because the tile and carved walls are impressive, and enormous bedroom made me feel like royalty.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed here with my family in March and had an incredible time. Jennifer has put in so much effort to restore the beautiful dar and it shows. We all gasped when we first entered because it was simply so gorgeous. The rooms were lovely and there's a comfortable library and tv room for those needing more creative comforts. It has a beautiful roof deck overlooking the entire medina; it was one of the best views we had! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Dar Roumana is a perfect combination of visual beauty, warm service, wonderful food and great location. We spent five nights here, leaving the day after Christmas, and became increasingly attached to the place and the staff. It is gorgeously restored; the courtyard, rooms and terrace (what a view) are all sublime. Breakfast is delicious, afternoon tea is lovely, and dinner--be sure to book dinner--is outstanding, thanks to the owner, who is a talented chef. Dar Roumana is situated in a quiet but busy neighborhood populated by woodworking and other shops. It is a pleasant walk to the main thoroughfare and sites. This was our first trip to Fes, and we'll go back--and stay at Dar Roumana.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This dar is authentic and lovely! The roof deck is phenomenal and the owner Jennifer is fun and super accomodating. On our last day there we realize we forgot items in the safe and Jennifer worked with us to get the items back to us in the states! The rooms are brilliantly restored and you'll feel like you are in a museum or going back in time. As with all the places in Fez you'll want to take time to learn how to get to and from the hotel so you can navigate confidently and its not hard from this location which is centrally located and a lovely gem!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skeltoec
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

This is hands down the best hotel experience I have ever had. My husband and I went to Morocco for vacation beginning in Marrakech and ending in Fes. Of all the hotels of the trip, Dar Roumana was by far the best, and one of the most beautiful I've ever stayed in. We stayed in the Roumana Suite on the first floor. With at least 20 foot tall ceilings and gorgeous tiles, we felt like we were in a palace. The rooftop terrace is a true gem. We loved ending the days wondering the medina with a glass of wine on the roof watching the sun set. The service was phenomenal. Not to mention free coffee/tea each afternoon and a spectacular breakfast. If this wasn't enough, we dined in the last night and had a fabulous four course meal cooked by Jennifer (the owner). If you are staying in Fes, look no further, this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Roumana

Address: 30 Derb el Amer | Zkak Roumane, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Riad guesthouse in the ancient medina with a 360 degree panoramic view from the furnished roof terrace, where drinks and breakfast is served. All rooms (4 suites and 1 double room) are decorated with traditional arts and crafts, intricate carved plaster, high cedar ceilings, mosaic tile floors, and hand-crafted furniture. At the heart of the Riad is an ornately tiled courtyard with a sunken fountain where our restaurant is located. The cuisine is French/Mediterranean with a Moroccan twist and dining with us is a highlight for our guests. Other amenities include an intimate salon with fireplace, large library, DVD/TV salon, roof-top BBQ, and free WiFi access. The managers provide a full concierge service to help our guests with any arrangements they might need and allow them to experience the best of the Fes Medina and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Roumana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Roumana Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Roumana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.