We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Sara to your Saves list
Riad Sara
17 Derb El Gabasse | Douh - Batha, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Morro Bay, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This Riad is perfectly located.....close to the Fes medina, but on an "out of the way" alley that is very quiet. Service was wonderful, as was the food. You would never know from the outside how gorgeous the inside is!

Room Tip: My room was on the first level and near the kitchen. So it was a bit noisier at times than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This space was truly beautiful. The authentic tile work and carving were spectacular. The ceiling in our room was so beautiful. The room was really lovely, in general.

We had warm water and the heat in the room was adequate in Late Dec., which were two really important things to us since the previous two places we had stayed did not have those two things. The room was clean and nice,

The staff member who helped arrange an English speaking guide for us was really nice and she spoke excellent English. she was not always around, however, and was the only person who spoke English. (there was a young man who was there some who spoke a little English as well). The female staff member who greeted us and was the main person we interacted with did not speak English and would not seek out another staff member to help us when we needed to communicate. She was not exceptionally friendly and acted mildly annoyed at our presence. I assume she is probably the reason for the 'not great service' reviews on here. overall the service was fine. They made us coffee when we asked, let us store our baggage after we checked out, were prompt with a nice breakfast, arranged for a restaurant to come and fetch us for dinner.

Our room was right on the ground floor, so there was just thin doors and windows between us and the guests & staff in the courtyard. That was a little weird and we felt like we had to kind of whisper in our room because there wasn't much privacy and we could hear the comings and goings of folks in the evening when we wanted to relax in our room. It wasn't terrible, but the upstairs rooms would allow for a bit more privacy.

The location was fine. We would have gotten lost finding any Riad in the Medina, so of course we had to pay a young man to help us find it, but that would be the case with any place in the Medina.

this was the most expensive place we stayed in Morocco, so i am not sure i think it is worth it (you can find as good or better service other places). I think mostly the cost paid for the beautiful space, as most everything else was about equal to any other of the cheaper places we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. Our room was downstairs and it was not very private. We could hear every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Charged 150Dh for a load of washing. Charged 70Dh to use a credit card when the ATM down the street was out of order so could not pay for the room with cash. Double the price of similar style riad in Marrakech. Surly owner who was completely unwilling to help in any way.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here for two nights..simply amazing. To be given the chance to stay in a Riad is a must.. its history surrounding you with oppulence of the time.. the service, the breakfasts, the rooms.. simply amazing. Would stay again and again... x

Room Tip: Dont be put off by the outside or getting here... there are always hidden treasures..x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The place in which this Riad is located doesn't look great, but it is in fact a nice, calm area.

I liked rooms, which were nicely decorated. The breakfast was quite ok as well.

The only one issue I has was that the staff wasn't very interested in me after another, big group came.

Overall it is a nice place to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

With my parents and two friends in town, we took them to Fes for the weekend and stayed at the Riad Sara. The riad itself was exactly what you picture a riad to be, with rooms much bigger than I had seen in the past. The breakfast was not quite a Denny’s-style buffet, but it was more than just croissants and coffee. And the location, just two blocks from Place Batha and the start of the medina, easy to find (once they sent a guide to meet us at the parking garage).
The one complaint: The staff was friendly and welcoming, but once we got settled in, it was hard to get them off of internet chat rooms; then again, once you are settled in, what else do you need? They weren't rude, they just weren't around.
If you want a great location, gorgeous riad, and a good, solid breakfast, but without all the pesky smiles of a doting staff, I’d recommend Riad Sara.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed at Riad Sara for one night. The location was good and the riad itself was very nice. However, the service was terrible. The staff were unfriendly and tried to force us to pay for our stay in cash. Miss Ouidad offered to send a taxi to pick us up at the train station so we "wouldn't get ripped off". She charged us 100 dirhams for the pick-up. We got a taxi on our own to return to the train station and it cost 9 dirhams. Don't fall for her scam!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sara

Address: 17 Derb El Gabasse | Douh - Batha, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Sara, located in the heart of the Medina of Fez,is one of the most beautiful residences in Fez accessible by car. Built in the 17 Th. century and restored with passion and talent, with typical morocco architecture and a variation of the tumults of the town of Fez it's a dream destination for your stay in Morocco. You'll find a concept of the traditional riad in this the architecture. Charm combined with comfort. Apart from your other activating during your stay in Fez, we offer cultural activities for your entertainment. Your holiday stay in the riad Sara will provide comfort for your body and variety makes it flattering and irresistible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Sara Fes
Riad Sara Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.