We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surly owner and expensive for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sara

Save Saved
You added Riad Sara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Sara
17 Derb El Gabasse | Douh - Batha, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 84 hotels in Fes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surly owner and expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Charged 150Dh for a load of washing. Charged 70Dh to use a credit card when the ATM down the street was out of order so could not pay for the room with cash. Double the price of similar style riad in Marrakech. Surly owner who was completely unwilling to help in any way.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here for two nights..simply amazing. To be given the chance to stay in a Riad is a must.. its history surrounding you with oppulence of the time.. the service, the breakfasts, the rooms.. simply amazing. Would stay again and again... x

Room Tip: Dont be put off by the outside or getting here... there are always hidden treasures..x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The place in which this Riad is located doesn't look great, but it is in fact a nice, calm area.

I liked rooms, which were nicely decorated. The breakfast was quite ok as well.

The only one issue I has was that the staff wasn't very interested in me after another, big group came.

Overall it is a nice place to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

With my parents and two friends in town, we took them to Fes for the weekend and stayed at the Riad Sara. The riad itself was exactly what you picture a riad to be, with rooms much bigger than I had seen in the past. The breakfast was not quite a Denny’s-style buffet, but it was more than just croissants and coffee. And the location, just two blocks from Place Batha and the start of the medina, easy to find (once they sent a guide to meet us at the parking garage).
The one complaint: The staff was friendly and welcoming, but once we got settled in, it was hard to get them off of internet chat rooms; then again, once you are settled in, what else do you need? They weren't rude, they just weren't around.
If you want a great location, gorgeous riad, and a good, solid breakfast, but without all the pesky smiles of a doting staff, I’d recommend Riad Sara.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed at Riad Sara for one night. The location was good and the riad itself was very nice. However, the service was terrible. The staff were unfriendly and tried to force us to pay for our stay in cash. Miss Ouidad offered to send a taxi to pick us up at the train station so we "wouldn't get ripped off". She charged us 100 dirhams for the pick-up. We got a taxi on our own to return to the train station and it cost 9 dirhams. Don't fall for her scam!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Let me preface this review by saying that if you are one of those "picky" travelers, you will not agree with me. If you're squeamish, entitled, liked to be served on hand-and-foot, and tend to find fault with everything while failing to notice the little joys in life - then you're probably one of those people that gave this place a one, or a two. (Yes, there was a cockroach in the bathroom - you're in a 400 year old building in the middle of a Moroccan medina - get over yourself).

Now - with the preface out of the way... This riad is truly, amazingly beautiful. Even though it has been renovated, it had the most authentic feel of any historic hotel I have ever stayed in. I was immediately enchanted when I walked in - by the dizzying mosaic detail in the rooms, stunning antique furniture, soaring ceilings, the 4 post bed... It's the kind of place you expect to visit on a tour, not actually touch, sleep in, wander around... I felt almost transported in time, and I felt sorry to leave.

The staff I found to be pleasant, helpful, definitely not overbearing. Nothing to write home about, but perfectly adequate. I enjoyed the simple home-cooked breakfast and fresh-squeezed juice that were provided every morning.

If you have a healthy sense of wonder, love of moroccan architecture, and you can accept the fact that you're not at the f---ing Waldorf, you will love this riad!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Whilst the overall aesthetic of the Riad is lovely and charming, the appalling lack of service and worse attempted fleecing of guests makes this one of the worst accommodations possible in Fez. The Riad itself is charming and lovely, with good attention to detail paid to the furnishings and outfitting of the rooms. However, where this Riad falls terribly short in are the staffing and service levels received.

I thankfully only stayed at this Riad for one night, but that in itself was sufficient. When i arrived around 4pm I enquired if i could settle the bill in Dirhams or Euro and was told that either was not a problem. However, at around 7pm there was a knock on my door and I was asked to settle the bill immediately in Dirhams only. Not having sufficient Dirhams and only euro and USD, I asked if there were any money changers or ATMs nearby to change or withdraw more cash. At this stage, one of the staff of the Riad offered to change my currency for me, and suggested a rate that was 30% lower than the exchange rate. When i queried this, I was told that I was mistaken about the exchange rate, despite having changed some currency earlier in the day. Anyhow the staff of the Riad changed some currency for me, at a lower exchange rate (which was expected), but then also charged a 10 euro service charge. In addition, at every opportunity I was short changed after that. After asking for water, which was complimentary in the afternoon, I was charged for another bottle in the evening, and when i paid, was not given change as they had run out of change. I asked if I would be able to book a cab early the next morning to catch the train back to Marrakech and was told that I could find a cab somewhere outside in the morning. Overall, the service of this Riad was so appalling that i would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sara

Also Known As:
Riad Sara Hotel
Riad Sara Fes
Riad Sara Hotel Fes
Address: 17 Derb El Gabasse | Douh - Batha, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#38 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Sara, located in the heart of the Medina of Fez,is one of the most beautiful residences in Fez accessible by car. Built in the 17 Th. century and restored with passion and talent, with typical morocco architecture and a variation of the tumults of the town of Fez it's a dream destination for your stay in Morocco. You'll find a concept of the traditional riad in this the architecture. Charm combined with comfort. Apart from your other activating during your stay in Fez, we offer cultural activities for your entertainment. Your holiday stay in the riad Sara will provide comfort for your body and variety makes it flattering and irresistible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.