We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay and we again loved it very much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Fes Baraka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Fes Baraka to your Saves list
Riad Fes Baraka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Derb Bennani | Douh - Batha, Fes 30100, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our second stay and we again loved it very much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Samir (the receptionist) and Samira (the chef and hammam massagist) were the ones who attended us: We stayed 2 nights (too short but we were on a trip that lasted two weeks) and felt really at home: Speaking French and a bit of Arabic makes a huge difference. Our room was booked so we got another room: In compensation we got the biggest suite for the second night without paying extra. Besides: we booked hammam session and they invited us both (normally its 500 MAD, some 50€) so it was more then enough compensation. We enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace (its quite some climbing up the stairs) which is a unique experience especially if the weather is mild and the sky blue (which was the case and mostly is in Fez). The hammam session offered by Samira to Olga and to me by Samira's husband are more then a beauty treatment. It gets the blood circulation stimulated and the skin looks like new. You should definitely try it while staying in the Riad! Thank you to all the team. We definitely recommend it and will come back In šāʾ Allāh! Olga and Ralf

Room Tip: go for one of the suites on the second floor. You will have more space and it will be quieter. In ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    52
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
93
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in the Blue Room for our short stay..We were greeting by Samir with some delicious Mint Tea and relaxed from our recent desert trip by chilling in by the pool area. It was very peaceful and helped rejuvenate us. Samir recommended the Kasbah for food so we headed out to the streets. We ended up staying out later than we expected and returned to the Riad around 2AM. To get back in you need to summon Samir by ringing the doorbell or knocking on the giant wooden door. At first we were worried that we had come back too late but he did answer the door thank goodness.
Had a beautiful breakfast on the roof top patio. Wish we could have enjoyed this Riad for longer!

Room Tip: Choose the blue room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

In short this place was one of our highlights of our Morocco trip.

We were a large crew of eight. Two families; four adults, and 4 kids. Marc unfailingly answered our copious amounts of planning questions and even arranged a bus to pick us up from Casablanca. Samir the manager welcomed us as we arrived and was so helpful during our whole stay. The riad hotel is a beautiful oasis. It was clearly once a magnificent house and in it's conversion to a hotel there's not much lost in authenticity or luxuriousness.

It's in a great location for walks into the Medina, and it's pool is a wonderful amenity to have after a hot walk through the city. We had scrumptious dinners up on the terrace and peaceful quiet breakfasts down in the courtyard.

It's a truly wonderful place, with great people and great service. I can recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived in Fes after a seemingly long train ride from Rabat. We were semi-greeted by the person who worked days/afternoons, and just shown our room. We weren't given a map or any information about the riad, just shown the A/C and offered some mint tea. The person who worked in the night was much more helpful and accommodating, but we still weren't really offered a lot of information, we had to do all of the asking. So far, this was a first for all of the Riads we have stayed in while in Morocco.

The riad has a beautiful courtyard and pool, and our room was ok. It was dark and the bathroom wasn't very nice. For the price of this place, the most expensive we have stayed in during our trip to Morocco, we expected something a little nicer. Maybe soap, shampoo and conditioner? Or plush towels? Or a cleaner bathroom overall? It just wasn't that spectacular for the price.

They offer laundry services, but it was really expensive, 150 dh for one small load of laundry. All of the extra expenses, like arranged taxi to the airport, day excursions, etc couldn't be added to the bill, they had to paid in cash.

Breakfast was fine, more bread- as usual in Morocco. There were eggs, yogurt, and Moroccan pancakes, but that is it. Some fresh fruit would have been nice.

For restaurant recommendations, we felt as though the places we chose, the staff seemed reluctant to help, rather they wanted to recommend places to us (probably because they receive commissions from it) and those places were usually ranked low on trip advisor.

Overall, we probably wouldn't choose to stay here again as we know there are many nicer places in Fes, that cost less. We feel that this riad is about 20-30 euro overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in May 2013! Arrived to a perfect entry...the amazing pool and gracious manager Samir. He greeted us,with what quickly became my husband's favorite, mint tea. He generously showed us two rooms to choose from, and we chose the suite directly across from the pool.
Lovely room, high ceilings, great water pressure & excellent air conditioner. Free wifi available in the courtyard. Each morning, Samir greeted us with his warm smile, and yummy breakfast!! He even got up extra early on our last morning to make sure we were well nourished for our flight to Spain. We had dinner only one night at the riad (so much to see in Fes!). We had our dinner upstairs in the patio - just lovely and the tangine was soooo good!

We will be recommending to anyone that has Fes on their travel itinerary!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have spent 7 days at Riad Baraka; the moment we entered the Riad, we were met by a very friendly receptionist called Sarah who speaks fluent English and French as well as Arabic. She brought us mint tea and sat with us to discuss our stay at the Riad and the services they offer; I was thinking that we must've asked so many stupid questions but she answered everything with a smile. This is the first time I have had a taste of luxury for a reasonable price. The rooms are very clean; the food is amazingly delicious and healthy! the hammam experience was heavenly, I have been to the hammam many times before but this was another experience; I felt like a princess, Sameera scrubbed my body thoroughly, washed my hair using moroccan herbal shampoo and even exfoliated my feet. At the end of the Hammam, I had a choice of having a massage but I opted out because the hammam relaxed me enough. When I left the hammam, Khadija, another friendly worker at the Riad brought me a freshly squeezed orange juice! I just felt like royalty, they think of everything!! In the evening I had a gorgeous Moroccan soup followed by a chicken Tagine and strawberry tart dessert but with a moroccan twist to it. The manager Saeed; he never refused any of our requests; he made us feel special and important. No matter what we asked for, he would supply it. He carried out all the jobs with a smile and worked tirelessly. I have never seen such hard working team who are eager to please and are happy if the customer is happy; they are selfless indeed. I do hope that they are paid enough because these people are very hard to come by. No matter what I say, I will not be able to do these people justice. I wish them all the best and I hope the owner knows how lucky he is to have such people work for him. To the owner of the Riad; this is an amazing place for relaxation and resting; the decor is impressive and very authentic. Thank you for giving another life to this beautiful Riad.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different to each other and they are all amazing, but do not hesitate to ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

we stayed in April of 2013 - we had a few days of cold weather. The house is beautiful - with original mosaic, a beautiful pool (although it was too cold to swim in April), gorgeous lamps, antique furniture, and amazing big doors. It was truly an authentic old home. The breakfast was good (I like that they include eggs with the standard bread and jam), and the staff was very friendly and attentive. They often asked if we needed anything. If they do want to charge the prices they are charging, I recommend that they make some modern improvements to the amenities (like adding heaters, improving lamps for reading, bathroom upgrade - the toilet wobbled). We did not stay in one of the more expensive rooms, so maybe they are an improvement over the room we had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Fes Baraka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes Baraka

Address: 16 Derb Bennani | Douh - Batha, Fes 30100, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Fes
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Fes Baraka 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Fes Baraka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Baraka Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Fes Baraka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.