We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and explore the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Fes Baraka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Fes Baraka to your Saves list
Riad Fes Baraka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Derb Bennani | Douh - Batha, Fes 30100, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and explore the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

the outstanding hospitallity, luxury and of space original decoration (we had the Serail Suite) and the superb hammam including expert treatment (the one offered at 250 MAD) and the closeness to the Bab Bou Jouloud made it the perfect place to explore the ancient Medina and still sleep entirely undisturbed. The staff is very attentive and sensible. The pool although not heated had still 22 - 25ºC end of September (outside it was 32ºC which felt like 40ºC during midday) and the breakfast served at the terrace made us feel like princes: highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    55
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
83
99
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

A brilliant base for visiting Fes and surrounding places of interest. We had a small room, which we willingly booked prior to travelling, but we were not prepared for the lack of storage space. We experienced a slight language barrier, which caused amusement for both the staff and ourselves. Excellent sized swimming pool in the centre of the Riad. Evening meals were served on the terrace, and were a very tasty affair. One thing we did struggle with, was locating a taxi between 1730 and 1900. We never did find out why!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

The riad is located just outside the Medina so it's not in the middle of the noise. It is very quiet. Our room was not big, but perfect to sleep. Decor is all typical Moroccan. Free Wi-Fi and free usage of their computer. The riad also arranges for tours, excursions and guides. Not to mention that they have also an Hamman (cost is additional). It is possible to dine at night. Price is 150 dirham, approx. 18 US dollars. Samira, the cook, is superb!!! Did I say she makes everything from scratch? Dinner, served on the terrace starting at 8:30 or 9 PM (not earlier) starts with appetizers enough to fill you, then there is a main dish followed by dessert. It is possible to order beer and wine. Dine there one night, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Spent 4 nights here a few weeks ago, was a lovely place to settle into Morocco and Fes. It's located just outside the Medina, which meant you could get away from the hubub of the main souks. The owners are very sweet, very quiet and happy to do anything for you. Rooms are lovely and clean - we had A/C, en-suite and tv, and it was a perfect place to chill in the heat of the day, especially with it's own pool in a shaded courtyard. Only drawback of this place is the price - we paid €100 a night and I think that was too much. We managed to find cheap options for around €25 a night for the rest of the trip that weren't that much worse. Would highly recommend though if it's within your budget, and you're looking for a more comfortable Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leganes
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Well,at first sight the riad is awesome,with this small ,beautiful tiled patio with the so called pool in the middle;so in the middle that is a lttle obtrusive if you can reach some of the rooms in the ground floor.
We were there three nights in the Suite Arabesque in winter time,three days raining without stop, and is in these moments that you ask for a little comfort.The suite is beautiful,with a very high ceiling,antique furnitureperhaps overset,but the warmer is not enough to heat the room,the lights are clearly insufficient,it`s impossible to read anywhere in the room,nor in the bed or in the sofa.The bed is an uncomfortable thing,the mattress is not good and the bed linens almost a joke.The tv and his table broke the harmony of the room,is a mammoth one,but you can see almost a hundred arabic and muslim channels and only a couple of french,a very bizarre thing,but interesting to pass the time.The bathroom is,like the suite,all inconveniences : cold,a tub without screen that guarantee a wet floor,towels that are only a piece of old cloth,no amenities...
The breakfast was un uninspiring and poor affair taken in the reception area that changes in breakfast room that changes in staff quarters,clearly the people working there only want to get out of this thing quickly.
The staff were only two young men,not rude,but neither accomodating and only see the very shy girls in the mornings.
Location is excellent,with the medina at your steps,and very near one of the few places to catch a bus or a taxi,good if you have luggage.
Maybe in summer or in tourist seasons,with more guests and a staff with more dedication this riad is another thing,but in the lonely winter rainy days is the opposite of a cozy place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

This is a nice enough riad situated only a few minutes walk from the medina. A little on the expensive side considering we have paid the same in Marrakesh and stayed in nicer rooms. However, the room we stayed in was spacious and although the decor wasn't to our tastes, was nicely done.

The major let down was the state of the pool. This was filthy when we visited in March '09 and totally unusable with no signs of this changing in the few days we stayed.

Overall slightly disappointing as this has the potential to be a great riad.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

A beautiful riad, with a nice terrace and pool. Good location in the heart of the medina. In our taste the rooms we're a little too expensive for the quality and service we've got. Nevertheless a very comfortable place to stay.

M and T,
The Netherlands

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Fes Baraka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes Baraka

Address: 16 Derb Bennani | Douh - Batha, Fes 30100, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Fes
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Fes Baraka 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Fes Baraka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Baraka Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Fes Baraka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.