We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Coach Tour Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sofia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sofia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sofia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 rue Royaume d'Arabie Saoudite, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 85 hotels in Fes
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Typical Coach Tour Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Better than expected after reading the previous reviews. The room was clean and really quiet but the food was poor and the same every night (we only stayed 2 nights). There are lots of cafes close by. The staff were surly but I think that maybe normal for Morocco unless they are trying to sell you something. Taxis into the Medina for under €2 and a guide is €15. A great little electric train service is outside the hotel and does 90 minute tours which was good, much better than sight seeing by coach and only €5 pp.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    22
    23
    9
See reviews for
6
18
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of a group for two nights. I feel that people who complain about this not being 4 star should appreciate that the hotel star ratings in Morrocco are classed higher than other countries. 3 star would be more deserved. We felt pleased with our room, plenty of hot water, air con worked, clean and comfortable beds. The waiting staff were very good, one in particular took a lot of interest in us as my husband was ill on arrival and they personally sent some fruit up to him and constantly asked us about his health during our stay. The lobby was nice to sit in and wifi worked not only in the lobby but although not constant, worked in the room too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I'm not asking for what you find in a normal 4 star hotel but I hope this message will be read before choosing this hotel: there is no lights in the halls ways no hot water in the rooms a bad smell in the elevators the breakfast and dinner has no sufficient quantity it is realy bad there is no enough light in the rooms.... Don't get fooled but the picture shown

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

1) Arrived in afternoon. Asked clerk about market. Told us to go to supermarket. We said we did not want supermarket. He gave us an address and told us to tell the taxi driver. We ended up in a Moroccan 'Costco'. Spent 5 minutes in store and took 45 minutes to find taxi back. Told clerk. He said, "best market".
2) Clerk insisted that official tour guide for $25 is the best thing for people with just 2 days in Fez. Made arrangements for us next morning. Met guide, who told us that it is another $30 for the driver. This guy just explained the market and history. Told the driver. He said, "of course".
3) Breakfast, included. Okay, food for dinner not great but decent. No complaints. Breakfast lousy. Asked waiter if bottle of water was extra. He said it was included. Got bottle of water. Head waiter chased after us after breakfast until I paid him $3. Okay, no big deal, but it's the way. He insisted. When I told him that the waiter said it was included, head waiter said that he was wrong... I still owe $3.
4) We were there in winter. Cold nights. Aha! Heat automatically shuts off after 3 hours. Colder mornings! #!$%#

Side note: Never take the guides, who simply steer you to their own contacts and are obnoxious if you don't buy their overpriced goods. Gawd! We were taken to pottery, rugs, jewelry, etc. Each place, we were encouraged to buy, and the guide actually got angry and offensive that we didn't. When he suggested we eat a traditional Moroccan lunch, I told him to take us home without it. He told my wife that I was refusing the lunch. Each place they requested donations. Okay we went back to hotel. Next day, we took a $2 taxi, shopped til we dropped for 10% of the cost they wanted the original day for goods, and finally smiled.

If you want a 4-star hotel, there are plenty for the same price that actually look like 4 stars and take care of their guests. Not this one.

Room Tip: It's easy to find a good room. Just look at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

My husband & I stayed at this hotel as part of a group tour of Morocco. The hotel has seen better days and could hardly be called a 4 star hotel. However, it was comfortable enough for a short stay and the buffet dinner was fine. We appreciated the free use of the computer (with internet access) in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackendale, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed in this hotel two night as part of a 3 day Moroccan tour from Spain. We were scheduled to stay one night but our tour agency changed the schedule without our knowledge until we were well into Morocco…but that’s another story!
We found our rooms cramped, especially the bathroom where you shared toilet space with the bidet hitting your knees. The window/patio door didn’t seal and with the violent rain/wind storms there, it kept flying open during the night. Weather-stripping is non-existent so when the door was closed, the wind whished through the jam. More disconcerting was the presence of cockroaches in the bathroom every morning. It made for some high pitched squeals every morning from our two young girls…sorry to say that I don’t feel this hotel rates the 4 stars it proclaims to have!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010 via mobile

I gave them a one on service which was not really accurate. The people were nice and kind in general. However when my husband and I checked in he remained outside to deal with the cab and I went to the front desk. I was suprised that the front desk attendant could both not read numbers and understand my bad French or English. Turns out he could, he just had no interest in dealing with me. He spoke perfect English to my husband. This all is understandable in certian cultures but if you are a woman traveling alone don't stay here.
In general the hotel is clean but old and the people are nice but inefficent and unable to help.

I think this would be a great place for young men. Young enough to deal with the minimal ick factor and a man to deal with the painfully dissapproving staff. However it is a bit overpriced for the location and quality.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sofia

Address: 3 rue Royaume d'Arabie Saoudite, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sofia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.