We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous riad, spectacular views, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais d'Hotes & Spa Andalous

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palais d'Hotes & Spa Andalous to your Saves list
Palais d'Hotes & Spa Andalous
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Derb Sornas Ziat, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 91 Hotels in Fes
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Gorgeous riad, spectacular views, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is absolutely one of the best riads I've stayed in before. My husband and I spent a very relaxing time here together and we didn't want to leave. The architecture of this riad, and the design of both the interior and exterior are breathtaking, and for a riad it's huge - really you could get lost in there!! This is a genuine, real deal, Moroccan riad, and not just a Moroccan dar that the owners are parading as a riad - this is a proper riad! And you need to spend some quality time on the roof terrace looking at the utterly amazing views - the terrace has a conservatory so you can enjoy the views comfortably, even in winter!
What is perhaps most impressive about Palais D'Hote is the service that we received there. The staff are extremely kind and sensitive to your needs, and they will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. I was genuinely impressed with this place, I'd highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again.
On an aside - it's quite difficult to find on it's own, so you need to get clear directions from the staff before you arrive, or maybe arrange a taxi to take you there. It's not so far from amenities though, you just need to know the way.
Also, it's useful to point out that the spa, jacuzzi, hammam, etc. (even the gym!!) are additional costs, only the use of the swimming pool is free.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
20
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Excellent food and accommodation in an authentic riad with welcoming hosts and a wonderful rooftop view over the city. The riad is in located at the outside walls of the medina which makes it slightly awkward to find. The medina itself, although fascinating, is a maze of small streets and alleyways and is easy to get lost in. All in all though, would strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This place is outstanding everywere you look. Absolutely beautiful! And service was friendly and willing to help. Dinner lovely as well. I would repeat any time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dchoy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Overall, we had a very positive experience.

1. The hotel was simply beautiful. Our room was comfortable and nicely furnished. We stayed in the Noor suite, which has a private door to the rooftop terrace, and the terrace is a spectacular place to relax and enjoy views of the city and the sun! We really enjoyed the privacy and quietness of our room, and the access to the sun on the terrace. As others have commented, our bathroom did smell a little bit, but I guess considering that we were traveling in Morocco and not Europe, and staying at this riad and not the Sofitel (which is more than twice the price) I was not expecting everything to be perfect.

2. The staff was really friendly. All of them. The managers arranged wonderful tour guides for us, and made suggestions for restaurants and activities. We really appreciated all the effort they gave because they made our trip wonderful.

3. The food at the restaurant was over priced when compared to most other restaurants in the city, but it was fabulous. We enjoyed a meal on the rooftop terrace, and it was a great, romantic meal. Breakfast each morning was free, and very good. Yes, a little carb heavy, but excellent.

4. I found the price a good value, especially after hearing stories of cheaper hotels from fellow tourists we met while enjoying the city. Additionally, because the entertainment the hotel arranged for us was so cheap, that increased the value of the hotel in my opinion. The afternoon we arrived, we asked the manager if she could help us arrange a tour guide for the next day. For €30 we got a private english-speaking guide for an entire day who took us all around the Medina while showing us all the sites recommended by the tour books and pumping us full of information on the local history and culture. When we returned from our tour (8 hours later) she asked if we would like help arranging something for the next day. The next day we had a private driver who chauffeured us into the mountains. We went to a beautiful lake big lake in the mountains where the air was fresh, we saw a gorgeous waterfall, toured the towns of Ifarne and Azrou, and went to the Cedar Forest where we saw live monkeys. Cost for that day - €80 and our driver also spoke perfect english. It was fabulous.

5. Yes the spa, other than the pool, costs extra...but we were aware of this ahead of time and were not there to use the spa.

6. We did get stuck in the elevator once. but the door force open easy enough, so no need to panic.

Thus, overall, we had a very positive experience at this hotel. I would recommend it. Note - we booked through booking.com, and the price on check out was exactly what the booking confirmation said.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Found the Riad to be a very pleasant home form home in Fes.

I can see a grain of truth in many of the negative comments, but overall I'd recommend this as a place to stay. As elsewhere in Morocco it helps if you speak a bit of French or Arabic, and at this hotel it may pay off to book a suite or at least a nice double rather than the cheapest room.

bed comfortable, room quiet, great views of Fez medina and the hills / mountains. spectacular first courtyard - for decor and style it takes some beating (it makes the building housing the Batha museum look very ordinary indeed in comparison).

The staff were generally very pleasant - yes the (female) manager was initially a little keen to sell us an excursion or a guide, or dinner in the hotel, but after we'd declined on the first couple of days there was no more push.

It's just inside the Medina, 10-15 mins walk to Bab Bou Jeloud, Talaa Seghira, and R'Cif - very handy, especially once you've figures out the routes.

It felt like a safe location but I would be a bit hesitant recommending a solo female traveller to walk home here late at night - ask your restaurant to get someone to escort you home. At least until you can find your way through the maze that is Fes medina.

Spa facilities - if you were booking expecting these to be included you are in for a bit of a shock, they can add quite a bit to your bill if you indulge in steam room / pampering / jacuzzi.

Things the riad could improve:
- plumbing / bathroom did smell a bit of drains on some days - a bit more cleaning/bleach might help please
- breakfast is a bit pastry/carbo heavy and would benefit from the addition of some fresh fruit

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights. The Riad is a mixed bag to be honest and there are some good and bad points worth mentioning:

GOOD POINTS:

1. The view from the roof is excellent and it was wonderful to spend most evenings up there admiring the view - you can see most of Fes and the mountains etc and it really was beautiful. This view was the best thing the Riad has to offer. Fes is MUCH nicer than Marrakech and the views are much better.

2. The breakfast was tasty, homemade and included in the price - although it was mainly just carbs and there was never enough food offered. Would have been nice if they had done a buffet style breakfast or served much more food. One of the smallest breakfasts we've ever had in anywhere we've ever stayed although the presentation was nice.

3. The central area of the Riad is nicely decorated and wonderful to look at - there are even small birds which live inside and swoop down every now and again and sit next to you whilst having breakfast which is quite magical.

4. Most (but not all) of the staff were helpful and friendly - we ended up tipping alot of the staff.

5. The room had air conditioning which worked and the TV had a couple of free english movie channels which was great.

6. The location is close to the edge of the Medina and is easy to find from a Taxi.

and now for the bad points...

BAD POINTS:

1. The Riad smelt absolutely disgusting in many places - the pool area and the bathroom in the room smelt terrible, dirty and unclean. The place really needs to be completely disinfected and properly cleaned. We had to keep the window in our bathroom constantly open just to survive the terrible smell.

2. The rooms and bathrooms were never properly cleaned. The staff would ONLY fold the same dirty bedding back onto the bed and didn't even brush the bedding clean. This was extremely disappointing and surprising - we have never stayed anywhere where the bedding has not been cleaned or replaced - we stayed there for 5 days, and in that time we had to use exactly the same bedding, pillows etc. throughout our stay. The bathrooms smelt really dirty and the walls and floors were never properly cleaned. The bathroom desperately needs to be completely disinfected . The cleaning staff would not even replace the soaps, shower gels after cleaning the room - even when the soaps had completely run out. Every time we had to go down and ask the management staff for more shower gel or soap which was shocking.

3. The lift was faulty and did not work properly!! Our room was very high up (several narrow steep flights of stairs) and we relied on the lift to get up and down from our room. The lift would randomly not move and the doors wouldn't open. We got stuck in the lift at least 15 times and each time the only way to get out was to get help using the alarm button - not a very pleasant or relaxing experience I can tell you!! It is not an option to carry a suitcase or heavy luggage up and down from the rooms without the lift, so this should have been working. The female manager knew that the lift was faulty and didn't seem to care that the lift didn't work - there was no sense of urgency whatsoever to have it fixed.

4. The female manager was terrible, rude and clearly didn't care about anyone staying at the hotel at all. We also saw her dealing with some other people and she was rude with them too. We have no idea why she is in that job or is running the Riad - she was very unfriendly and totally undeserving of being Manager. She also couldn't speak or understand much english, despite the fact that some other staff below her could. It's worth noting that in contrast to her, the other staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

5. The dinner was very expensive and totally overpriced (even by UK standards). We didn't enjoy the dinner as we found the food to be extremely bland and completely lacking in flavour. Probably the worst most bland Tagine and Cous Cous I've ever had - We've had much better tastier Moroccan food in the UK.

6. The breakfast was far too minimal. Although it was tasty, there was hardly anything there to eat - they seem to be penny pinching at every opportunity which was disappointing given how much they charge to stay at this Riad. We really would have appreciated more food at breakfast time.

7. The wardrobe in our room was faulty and the doors couldn't be closed properly.

8. This Riad is actually very expensive - the final price was about 1/3 higher at checkout than we thought it would be as they ended up adding extra tax per person per night ontop of the booking price made online. I think the pricing system is very misleading as the total final price listed on the booking is NOT the final price you pay when checking out. Every other hotel we stayed in in Morocco did NOT add any extra tax to the price of the rooms so it doesn't seem very fair or reasonable. We only paid the agreed online booked price for every other hotel in Morocco when checking out - this Riad however seems to make alot of extra money by charging these taxes seperately - you have been warned.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

For what you pay to stay here you'd expect it to be top-notch. However, we were rather disappointed to find it was far from it. The furnishings are beautiful but general maintenance needs some improvement (our shower didnt work, we moved rooms (tried to charge more) and the lock was faulty). To do anything other than sleep in your room or swim in the pool costs extra and is very overpriced. We were also frustrated to be told by staff that it was not safe to walk into the medina from the hotel. The staff spoke very limited english and were quite unhelpful with restaurant advice (other than we should eat there!). Disenchanted.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais d'Hotes & Spa Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais d'Hotes & Spa Andalous

Address: 9 Derb Sornas Ziat, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palais d'Hotes & Spa Andalous 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Palais d'Hotes & Spa Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais d Hotes Hotel Andalous

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais d'Hotes & Spa Andalous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.