We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dazzling Oasis in Fes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Al Andalous

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Al Andalous to your Saves list
Dar Al Andalous
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Derb Bennani | Quartier Batha, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dazzling Oasis in Fes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Staff is wonderfully attentive and accommodating. We arranged to arrive at 2am in the morning due to our train schedule from Marrakesh to Fes and the service from the staff was superb even at that hour. The place is a classic riad + roof patio. A delicious Moroccan style breakfast is included and Zahra (our guest liaison) offered very useful advice on where to go and how to make the most of our time. There is a choice in whether or not to do the dinner at the riad... We took a chance and was pleasantly surprised by the high culinary level. Overall top notch ~

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    19
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I had no idea what we were getting into when I booked our holiday to Fes. We are both seasoned travelers but this was our first venture to a Muslim country and being from The States we weren't sure how welcome we would be.....well the staff at Dar Al Andalous welcomed us with open arms and the love never stopped until the day we left! Our room was amazing. The room, itself, was the size of 5-6 European/American hotel rooms. We had a king sized bed with a 4 post frame. And there was stained glass on all the windows which only added to the beauty. The staff was amazing; Zaheera, who was the assistant manager, was as nice and accomidating as one could ask for. Hassan who was the waiter/porter/all-around great guy was happy to help with any and everything we needed. And then there was Fatima who was the Chef de Cuisine. She was the sweetest woman and a fantastic cook. Her Pastisse is something that should not be missed and her different variations of Tegine and cous-cous dishes were amazing! The Dar, aslo, has a wondeerful rooftop that looks over the city and lower Atlas mountains. It's location is only a 5min walk to the "Blue Gate" that leads you into the Medina and only a $2 taxi ride to the Acima(supermarket) and the "New Town" of Fes. All in all I would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Fes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This delightful place is a must if you visit Morocco .Fez is a fascinating city and so is this lovely converted Riad . The rooms are superb as are the dining facilities including , so importantly , the food . The latter comments can apply to any number of hotels in the world but this place is different . The layout of a riad ( a traditional Arab house ) with it's open-to-the-sky floor plan is wonderful . However it's the staff, especially the manager, Ziza Alami that makes it even more special .Don't miss it if you can .

Room Tip: The place has all excellent rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were booked to stay here through Alizes Travel of Casablanca, who arranged all our Moroccan tour, so I cannot comment on price as the tour was all-inclusive.

Zahra and her staff could not have been more welcoming on arrival or more attentive during our stay. Dinners and breakfasts were of ample, tasty, traditional fare and wine available at reasonable cost, if required.

Our room was large with a sitting area separate from the bedroom, and spacious bathroom with both shower and bath.

The decor of the building interior was colourful, in excellent condition, and comfortable both in seating and atmosphere. We were delighted to find such an excellent 'oasis' amidst the usual 'chaos' of the medina etc.

Definitely recommended and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a restored mansion on the outer edge of the Medina, with beautiful mosaic, plasterwork, and ornately carved wood ceilings. The guestrooms are centered around a lovely common area and dining room with fountains. Our room was spacious and luxurious, with a decent bathroom. Zahara and the staff were friendly and helpful. We dined in on a few nights and the food was consistently delicious. Highly recommended. I would suggest contacting the hotel prior to your arrival to see if someone can meet you at the Medina gate--we had some difficulty finding the hotel. Also, if you're interested in a guided tour of the Medina, you may want to consider hiring a guide independently--we were disappointed with the quality and cost of the guide recommended by the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is a fabulous Dar conveniently located and would highly recommend anyone staying here. The service is fantastic and truly felt like home away from home. We stayed on the ground floor in two rooms. The décor was beautiful, the doors and ceiling was unbelievably ornately carved and decorated. One of the rooms had a Jacuzzi tub and was a fantastic way to end a day of walking.

But the best part of the stay was the service and the food! All of the staff was exceedingly attentive to our needs. We felt like we were family – in the best way. We arranged to have dinner at the Dar each evening and it was amazing. One night was a tangine of chicken and lemon, and one night was lamb and I forget the third night. The breakfast was fresh and good. Everyone wanted to make our stay memorable. They lent us some great maps and although it was a bit confusing at first, they are located near an easy to find landmark.

The dar was clean and well attended to. I don't go on vacation to watch TV, but the only slightly negative comment was that the TV only had 4 channels and they were in French or Arabic.

The manager was helpful and provided contacts for a pick up at the airport, a ½ day guide for the medina and a one day driver from Fez to Marrakesh.

If you are considering staying in Fez this is a fantastic place!

Room Tip: The ground floor suites were fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We were welcomed by the manager with tea and pastries, he then helped us plan our itinery and as we wanted to achieve so much in so little time, 3 days He ensured we had an excellent guide for the medina and taxi driver for our excursions. Each was a long day but very worthwhile.
We opted to eat in the hotel and again the owner discussed our preferences the night before so we could enjoy a wide range of Moroccon cuisine, 4 courses, at a very reasonable price.
Our room was on two levels and in total keeping with the rest of the hotel, tasteful, restful and spotlessly clean

Room Tip: All rooms are of an equally high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Jardin des Biehn
Le Jardin des Biehn
#16 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#25 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#7 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Layla
Riad Layla
#28 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#22 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar el-Ghalia
Dar el-Ghalia
#50 of 92 in Fes
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Andalous

Address: 14 Derb Bennani | Quartier Batha, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Al Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Al Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Andalous Fes
Dar Al Andalous Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Al Andalous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.