We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven in the heart of Fes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Numero 9

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bookmark
You added Riad Numero 9 to your Saves list
Riad Numero 9
9 Derb Lamside, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 167 Fes B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven in the heart of Fes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Set in the heart of the Medina, Riad Numero 9 is an oasis of beauty and tranquility amidst the hussle and bussle of the Medina.
Our room was incredible - from the beautifully intricate painted ceiling to the eclectic mix of furnishings gathered from around the world, the decor managed to be perfectly in-keeping with the Moroccan tradition yet with an ingenious twist which demonstrated Stephen's flair and easy style. There are breathtaking views from the roof terrace over the medina's rooftops and across to the foothills - we found no better place to watch the sun set whilst sipping a chilled glass of wine. The delicious meal prepared by Bruno (which we enjoyed on the roof terrace) was the best meal we had in Fes and a perfect way to spend our 10th wedding anniversary.
However, the thing which really sets this boutique hotel apart from any other is the warmth and generosity of its hosts, Stephen and Bruno, who made our stay unforgettable. All we can say is that we will definitely be back.......

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
169
28
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Our last adventure in Morocco brought some nice surprises
and one of them was the wonderful Riad Numero 9!
Fes can be overwhelming and having a haven to rest after hours strolling in the medina
is essential....and that we found at this beautifully decorated house that offers also confort and service, with delicious brekfast and perfect rooms to relax!
and the hosts are the best guides one can wish to find !
thank you and a bientot!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We have done our share of traveling in Southeast Asia where the emphasis on service is supreme but this stay at Riad 9 surpassed all expectations. It's never easy to travel to a foreign country with a toddler but we were actually able to relax and feel like we were on vacation thanks to the warm hospitality of the staff. Stephen, Bruno and their team were amazingly helpful in making our 3 day visit culturally interesting, child-friendly and a gastronomic delight. A wholly intimate experience and feeling of specialness that one would never find in a large hotel group.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I loved Riad Numero 9! Everything about it was great!...but the best thing about it was the service! I've never received this personalized quality attention anywhere in my life!!! The hosts are very knowledgable, respectful, friendly, helpful, and courteous. They definitely made our trip to Fes! Without their expertise we would not have enjoyed ourselves as much! Thanks Stephen, Bruno, Atika, and Kitoum!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I LOVED my experience in Fes!!!...and it's all due to the FABULOUS hosts I was lucky enough to have at Riad Numero 9!!! They are gems to have as personal guides to this historical, unique, and awesome city!!! The Riad is GREAT!!! I LOVED staying there!!!
I would definitely go back!!! The location is the BEST!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

The hosts definitely MADE the trip!! Without their help, advice, recommendations, and knowledge; it would not of been even close to what it was: THE MOST WONDERFUL TRIP I'VE EVER HAD!! I ended up LOVING Morocco... its culture in general... people, food, way of life...EVERYTHING!!!

Thank you Stephen, Bruno, Atika, and Kitoum!!! We love you!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

By far the best hosts I've met and encountered in my entire life. We were treated like friends and personal guests instead of plain "hotel guests." The hosts are all very knowledgable and helpful about anything we would inquire about; ie. about the culture, things to do, where to eat, where to buy and not to buy, how to negotiate, etc. and would even accompany us and translate for us when needed! They would go out of their way to accommodate us in any and everything we desired, and make us feel as comfortable as possible. We had the entire top floor to ourselves! The rooftop terrace is awesome! ...a beautiful view of the city day or night! We LOVED having breakfast and dinner there! The food is fantastic and homemade from scratch!!! The Riad is great! It's so welcoming and tranquil even though it's right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of the medina!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Numero 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Numero 9

Address: 9 Derb Lamside, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad n°9 is an 18th century bourgeois residence that has been reincarnated as a boutigue bed and breakfast. The decisive factor in purchasing the property was the roof terrace which has sweeping views over the medina. Riad n°9 was originally purchased as a vacation home in 1999 and underwent a 3-year restoration process. We uncovered all the original 18th century mosaics, carved wood and plaster and hand-painted wood. In 2007, we opened to the public and changed nothing believing guests would appreciate the "personal" touches throughout. Our philosophy is to offer guests the possibility of appropriating the space for themselves and experiencing what an authentic medina home feels like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Riad Numero 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Numero 9 Fes
Riad Numero 9 Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Numero 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.