We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational encounter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Numero 9

Save Saved
You added Riad Numero 9 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Numero 9
9 Derb Lamside, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 163 Fes B&B and Inns
Boston
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Sensational encounter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Perhaps the best thing about staying here is that each guest gets to take away his/her own perceptional interpretation of the experience. Everything about Riad 9 tickles your curiosity, as an invitation to further explore. You are surrounded by decorative objects and artifacts that appeal to your sense of adventure and remind you the delights of travel. While unmistakably Moroccan, Riad 9 projects itself as a mosaic of different cultures and designs. As a guest, you would want to discover throughout and slowly savour each moment. One step outside and you are in the bustling medina, and inside you can hear the birds chirping and time whispering while you take a much needed siesta. The terrace provides quite a view, whether at breakfast or sunset, you suddenly realize that you have drifted far from home and are now part of this landscape. The owners - Stephen and Bruno - as well as the team running the place did their best to hand over the key of the castle to us during our stay. Their passion is contagious, their knowledge of Fes stimulating, and their friendliness heart-warming. We cannot imagine the trip to Fes without staying at Riad 9, this is easily one of the most unforgettable encounters of our travels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
166
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Riad Number 9 is a show stopper! The home is appointed in such a beautiful and clever manner. It is no wonder that it has been the subject of TV. shows, and magazines all over the globe. The rooms are just the right medicine to re-group after a day spent in the busy streets of Fes, they come with comfortable appointments and great toiletries! The morning breakfasts are something I will keep with me for my lifetime, the strong coffee, fresh baked pastries, fresh jams, and omelets, along with the view of the entire city make it easy to fall in love with Fez. The staff and owners make it certain with their helpful and thoughtful manner that they love what they do, and they love this city. Take the advice of a confirmed world traveler, go to Fez, and stay at Riad Numero 9!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

After navigating the maze of the medina with the porter that the owners had arranged to pick us up at the airport, we walked into this hidden gems and our jaws dropped. Soaring ceilings, ornate tile work and beautiful original details, mixed with eclectic finds and modern art. We were greeted by Atika, the house keeper, and invited to have a glass of wine with the owners Stephen and Bruno at their adjacent property, No9. We couldn't have felt more welcomed, as Stephen generously pointed out the must see sights and pointed us towards his favorite vendors.
Our room was cozy with charming throws, blankets and towels (inspiration for many a late night silly photo shoot). We were in one of the smaller rooms, and would probably spring for the larger room on the third floor next time, with soaring ceilings. The rooftop terrace was a great respite from the hustle of the medina, and we had dinner at No9 3 out of 4 nights. Highly recommend this beautiful place.

Room Tip: The larger room on the top floor is the prize. We were in one of the smaller rooms, which was very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lovingly restored to its original beauty, Riad 9 was a perfect retreat from the busy streets of the medina. The architectural beauty of the house and the exquisite interior design made the house itself a can't miss stop in Fes.

Stephen, the owner and genius behind its restoration, was extremely helpful in accommodating all of our needs, as well as acquainting us with Fes. He even shared with us a few of his favorite spots that no guide book would ever feature (and we're not going tell you). We very much enjoyed breakfast our first day with Stephen and some of the other guests who were departing that morning. Stephen made our stay extremely relaxed - making us feel like old friends visiting as opposed to paying guests.

Atika is very friendly and extremely helpful. She maintains the house beautifully and prepares not to be missed breakfasts. We loved taking our breakfast on the rooftop terrace overlooking the city - truly spectacular.

Be sure to check our Restaurant 7 - a gourmet delight!

Should we be blessed with a return trip to Fes, we will again stay at Riad 9. Highly recommend it to anyone looking for unique, haute accommodations in Fes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

In a hidden narrow street not far from one of the main arteries of the medina, you'll find this very cosy and intimate riad, where birds, cats, and fish welcome you for an excellent stay... Atika, the lady who greets you if the owners are in their restaurant next door restaurant - black&white, traditionnal&modern, very cosmopolitan -, takes care of you, for enquiries, breakfast, excursions etc... everybody is very helpful, alike the owners Stephen and Bruno, who will try to please and make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as may be for you; we got an upgrade in the magnificent suite, under that beautiful stucco & painted wood ceiling and walls... very tasteful, with attention to details. And a breathtaking view from the rooftop, where breakfast is served. We warmly recommend this riad no. 9 and would without hesitation book it again... Also, do not miss the Roman site of Volubilis that is 1 hour away from Fes: highly worth the trip.

Room Tip: We've only visited one, the suite... a bit chilly at nights but we had an extra heater that help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our 4 day stay in Fez at Riad 9 was one of the highlights of our 2 week trip in Morocco! The riad is just beautiful, a work of art and because we (a group of 5 friends) occupied every room, it felt so much more comfortable for us than staying somewhere with others. The owners Stephen and Bruno were absolutely charming, and had lots of information about life in Fez. The housekeeper Atika is also an absolute delight and could not have been more helpful. I particularly loved the rooftop terrace – it was wonderful sitting there, watching the view, relaxing, doing nothing! Breakfasts were superb and for a resonable charge they will also provide an excellent dinner. The riad is centrally located within the medina and well worth a visit. Bruno and Stephen also own Resto 7 which is just around the corner, and dinner there is highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Four friends and I booked the entire riad (3 rooms). We were made to feel very welcome, not at all like "hotel" guests, but friends. Atika who runs the operations for Stephen & Bruno was efficient and always smiling, and also very willing to share with us information about modern Morocco and their lifestyle etc. It can often be difficult when travelling to find a local person with whom ot have a proper conversation, and so she proved a real bonus. Stephen was also on hand in the mornings to offer advice on sightseeing, places to eat etc.
The riad is beautifully appointed, with down pillows and luxury bedding. It's also easy to locate after a day wandering the Medina. Although it may cost a bit more than other riads, they include airport or train transfers and plenty of bottled water was on hand. The breakfasts (see photo) were also much better than others I have had in Morocco, with fresh cooked omelet or eggs on offer with various breads, pancakes and the most tasty home made jams.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Numero 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Numero 9

Address: 9 Derb Lamside, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad n°9 is an 18th century bourgeois residence that has been reincarnated as a boutigue bed and breakfast. The decisive factor in purchasing the property was the roof terrace which has sweeping views over the medina. Riad n°9 was originally purchased as a vacation home in 1999 and underwent a 3-year restoration process. We uncovered all the original 18th century mosaics, carved wood and plaster and hand-painted wood. In 2007, we opened to the public and changed nothing believing guests would appreciate the "personal" touches throughout. Our philosophy is to offer guests the possibility of appropriating the space for themselves and experiencing what an authentic medina home feels like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Riad Numero 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Numero 9 Fes
Riad Numero 9 Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Numero 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.