We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personality plus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Numero 9

Save Saved
You added Riad Numero 9 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Numero 9
9 Derb el Masid, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 159 Fes B&B and Inns
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Personality plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Four friends and I booked the entire riad (3 rooms). We were made to feel very welcome, not at all like "hotel" guests, but friends. Atika who runs the operations for Stephen & Bruno was efficient and always smiling, and also very willing to share with us information about modern Morocco and their lifestyle etc. It can often be difficult when travelling to find a local person with whom ot have a proper conversation, and so she proved a real bonus. Stephen was also on hand in the mornings to offer advice on sightseeing, places to eat etc.
The riad is beautifully appointed, with down pillows and luxury bedding. It's also easy to locate after a day wandering the Medina. Although it may cost a bit more than other riads, they include airport or train transfers and plenty of bottled water was on hand. The breakfasts (see photo) were also much better than others I have had in Morocco, with fresh cooked omelet or eggs on offer with various breads, pancakes and the most tasty home made jams.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
162
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nestled in the heart of Fez's medina is the sublime riad 9. It is every bit (and more) an oasis of peace and tranquility that the website states. A place to relax after a day exploring the delights of the old town, you will be amazed at just how quiet it is inside. The architecture is breath bating as is the decor, which fuses English, French and Asiatic styles into a harmonious whole. No aspect of this road has been overlooked and the same attention to detail applies to everything from the impeccable hospitality to the food, which is the finest that you will find in Fez. Stephen and Bruno are indeed the perfect hosts and extremely enjoyable company, happy to offer insider tips on what to visit or sample. The same goes for the maids, Atika and her sisters, who are always on hand to help out and ensure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. The view from the terrace are among the best and there is no better place to kick back and relax as the call to prayer reverberates across the roof tops. A sensational experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely spectacular Riad, without a doubt best in Fes. Stunning architecture, decor and attention to detail, with unparalleled hospitality. Stephen, Bruno and their staff made our stay incredibly comfortable, to the point of making us feel like family. They took the time to really get to know us and really helped us explore Fes on our own terms. Not to mention, Bruno's cooking was incredible. Can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We could not have asked for a better place to stay in Fes. By far the most enjoyable accommodations during our trip to Morocco. After wandering through the Medina all day, coming back to the Riad was a true delight. Not one detail is overlooked in the impeccable decoration. This in combination with the friendly staff made for an extremely comfortable and relaxed stay. Our rooms were lovely. Atika and her sisters were very attentive and accommodating to us. One day she even led us by foot to a local market in the Medina that we, as tourists, would have likely never found. Spending time with Stephen and Bruno in the Riad was a pleasure. By the time we left we felt like we had known them forever. They really went above and beyond to help us make the most out of our time in Fes. In addition, we were particularly fond of Bruno's cooking. We ate in the Riad almost every night and couldn't get enough of his delicious cuisine. After having traveled all through Morocco I can honestly say there is no better place to stay and dine. Our time in Fes at Riad no. 9 was the most enjoyable part of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our stay was above and beyond our expectations. This beautiful riad was the highlight of our trip to Morocco. The riad has been exceptionally restored with the utmost attention to detail. A delight to look at the fine craftsmanship that is apparent through out this fabulous property. The rooms were exquisitely decorated with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Atika and her sisters provided the most accommodating service. The rooms were always immaculate and nothing was overlooked to make sure our stay was flawless. Stephen is an incredible host making you feel like part of his family or long lost friend and was nothing short of delightful. We found his conversation extremely interesting and he was always so kind to offer us endless help in maneuvering the medina and sights.
Unfortunately, we do not speak french so we were only able to enjoy Bruno's cooking with out much conversation. But, it is easy to see he is a very gentle soul with an incredible talent. We had the pleasure of dining in the riad all but one night. Our only regret was not dining the last night in the riad for the dinner we had out was no comparison to Bruno's magnificent dishes. We travel all over the world and not to many places have touched my family and I the way this place has. We left with the feeling of wanting to return and for a longer stay. We highly recommend staying and dining here. Extending our most sincerest gratitude and thank you to Stephen and Bruno.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Bruno and Steven have made a beautiful accommodation environment in their house. It is centrally located and nicely furnished. As first time travelers to Morocco, their airport-pick-up service and friendly staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I am an avid reader of the New York Times and stumbled upon two articles written in the newspaper on Riad Numero 9. The first in which the title of my review is named after detailed Steven's (owner) restoration of the building. The second detailed an group's stay that was in the country to do a photo spread. I found Steven, Bruno and the staff to be exemplary. There was a car waiting to pick my friend and I up from the train station, a guide to lead us down the footpaths, and "Moroccan Whiskey" waiting for us upon our arrival. Despite Stephen and Bruno preparing for the launch of their new venture (a restaurant nearby), Stephen spent over an hour giving us a lay of the land and recommendations. I found the staff Atika, Kitoum and Absentia to be super helpful. The American that I am over packed on the trip. I was given a box to pack my belongings, and after discovering the post office had summer hours which I had missed, Atika offered to mail the box for me. I can't recommend this place enough. The Riad itself has breathtaking views, Bruno's food was exquisite (unlike the Moroccan food I had been eating, I found it to be light/airy and bursting with taste), and the rooms had a personality.

Room Tip: Bring comfortable shoes for walking and a good camera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Numero 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Numero 9

Also Known As:
Riad Numero 9 Hotel
Riad Numero 9 Fes
Riad Numero 9 Hotel Fes
Address: 9 Derb el Masid, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Numero 9 is an 18th-century traditional Fassi bourgeois home that has been reincarnated as an intimate guesthouse. The property was meticulously restored over a period of three years using traditional methods. What sets it apart is the interesting decoration which is a juxtaposition of French and English vintage and Asian contemporary. The panoramic view from the rooftop terrace is one of the best in the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Riad Numero 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Numero 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.