We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44, Av Hassan II, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Adequate budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We appeared to be lucky in getting a renovated room, other members of our tour group were not so lucky and had a much lower opinion of the rooms. Our room was quite clean, and the reception happy to give directions and were friendly enough. The hotel is also well located for the Medina.

I would not recommend the onsite bar, situated in the basement. It is dark, dingy, smoke filled and has a very seedy atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
1
7
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bavaria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

sketchy rundown dirty backpacker place. If you absolutely have to stay here like I did (tourgroup), bring a sleep sheet or risk the bed bugs.The shower kept coming apart. Upside: the air conditioning works. A petit taxi to the medina should cost you about 10dirhams each way.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

There seem to be differing classes of rooms in this hotel. I was on a group tour as a single and was given a room on the first floor which was incredibly dated and grotty (the bedspread was grey but looked like it was originally white or cream), whereas the couples on the tour were given renovated rooms which were newly tiled and painted and had LCD tv's.

I did complain and was moved to a slightly better room on the 3rd floor, but had to put up with paint fumes.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We got what we paid for and we didn't expect more or less. Rooms were tidy and clean with good lighting and hot water. Breakfast was basic but again didn't expect too much. Good central location in the new quarter which allowed for nightly walks out to restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hotel - or at least, the room I stayed in - was appalling.

My room was on the 3rd floor, and when I went up, the hallways were lined in plastic and paper as they were painting. The room itself had been freshly painted (the heater had literally been painted over), and the smell was overpowering. The floor was so dirty that I refused to walk with bare feet in the room, and instead dug out my flip-flops.

I'm an easy traveller: I've stayed in hostels in Morocco with no issues, but here, I spent most of my night at the hotel bar simply because I didn't want to spend time in my room.

Breakfast was awful too: rationed to 3 pieces of stale bread and 1 piece of cheese each, with a hawk-eyed waiter that seemed genuinely upset (I do hope he wasn't reprimanded by management) if the guests took more than their "allocation". The only redeeming factor was they served proper Ceylon tea, which made a nice change from the Moroccan mint.

Most of the other travellers on the tour had no hot water, but luckily this was not the case for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed here as part of a group tour, and with 2 nights in one place one would have hoped for a. a working shower with hot water - particularly when the weather was cold b. a comfortable and clean room c. a decent breakfast to set you up for the day d. somewhere you could relax together. This hotel did not deliver any of this. The bathroom was dated and only just worked - we had no hot water throughout our stay. The bedroom was pokey and looked out over the dirty courtyard at the back. The furnishings were poor and I am not sure Oxfam would have even welcomed them. The breakfast was meagre, with an allocation of 3 portions of bread per person, and the poor waiter seemed terrified/unwilling to provide anything else. He watched over the consumption permanently, as did some man who seemed on the prowl. The communal area was a pokey foyer, and the carpets in the corridors and bedrooms were filthy. It smelled of fresh paint, and some reported more recently painted rooms - but these seemed confined to a few floors/street facing rooms. The welcome was non existent, and the staff appeared thoroughly disinterested. Terrible atmosphere

Room Tip: If you have to stay ask for a street facing room which has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

This hotel was perfectly located in ville nouvelle, and only a short taxi ride from the Medina. I found the Reception to be cordial and helpful. It is ideally located on one of the main boulevards, with restraunts and cafes close by. It was very practical, "no frills" for someone who is on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: 44, Av Hassan II, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Paix 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.