We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical riad experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zamane

Save Saved
You added Riad Zamane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Zamane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Derb Skallia Douh | Batha, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 85 hotels in Fes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A magical riad experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had booked the cheapest room in this riad through a booking agency but when we arrived the lovely host Sakina offered us a more spacious and luxurious room. Everything about the room and the common areas was very moroccan and very gorgeous and we were immediately captivated. We extended our stay to 6 days, including a day trip into the surrounding countryside arranged by Sakina, and we loved every minute. We celebrated our arrival by dining inhouse on wonderful home cooked moroccan food and a very nice local chardonnay, served by delightful staff in the most romantic courtyard setting imaginable. Breakfasts in the courtyard and mint tea on the terrace watching the sun set over Fez were highlights of each day. Extra friendly and helpful advice from Sakina and the staff sent us out each day with ideas and information to maximise our experience of this wonderful city, and helped us arrange our onward journey to explore other parts of morocco. An all round magical experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

After spending 3 amazing days in the Atlas Mtns my friends & i returned to our Riad Alma in Marrakesh, only to realise we didn't have accomm sorted for our next city. Riad Zamane was recommended by Riad Alma's manager Martine, & we were not disappointed. we were warmly greeted by the owner (sorry forgot her name), & she was wonderful, as was Abdul who carried our bags up umpteen stairs & looked after us so well, delivering drinks etc & spoke perfect English..the one thing i grew to love was Mint tea which was served upon arrival & any other time it was requested. The owner was so lovely she even gave me her teapot handle cosy as i fell in love with it & was leaving when i spotted it & had no time to enter the souks to buy one. i offered to buy but she just gave it...thank you Riad Zamane for your warm embrace, palatial surrounds & helpfulness in acquiring our next accommodation in Chefchouen...Riad Zamane 10/10 HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: There was 8 of us travelling, 4 couples in total, and we all had a look at the 4 rooms & i would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at Riad Zamane for 3 weeks while I was doing an Arabic course at the Arabic Language Institute in Fez. I could not have chosen a better place to stay. Perfectly located at the beginning of the Medina, the Riad has been beautifully renovated and each room has its own charm. But Riad Zamane's biggest asset is certainly its owner, Sakina, who made my stay not only extremely pleasant, she also became a friend. Her warmth and respectful way of dealing with her clients makes her a wonderful hostess. In addition, she is a wonderful cook and the only silver lining that my stay had was probably for her that I was not good enough of an eater. She would spoil me with 4 courses and I just could not finish it all :-). I look forward to visiting Sakina and Riad Zamane again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The riad is beautifully appointed with great attention to detail and Mme Belcadi's exquisite good taste everywhere in evidence. The staff is sweet and attentive. We would have enjoyed our stay here no matter what the circumstances, but it happened that both my husband and I were sick. Mme Belcadi took care of us as if we were family, rearranging plans and meals for our comfort and convenience. When we did feel better, she gave us a cooking lesson, translating the typical Moroccan fare into lighter and more sophisticated dishes. Highly recommended! Also: ask for the guide Kamal. Don't even THINK about going into the medina of Fes without him.

Room Tip: We had the "Rouge" (red) suite; it was lovely.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The friendlyness of the staff is incredible. I have never before experienced a warmness like this before, as if you are coming home with friends. My friend was sick wenn we arrived and was taken care of immediately. Sakina and Hussein bought him medication, for which they did not want to get any money. They boiled him rice and did not charge, etc. These are lovely people. And the Riad is a nice place. An oasis of calm in the hectic of a Moroccan city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A very hospitable riad just next door to the medina. Decoration and hospitality were incredible, as good as Sakina's food and warmth. Don't forget to experience the hamman, a unique "punishment", especially the scrubbing. The room was beautiful and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovelly
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our room was above the central courtyard.... very traditionally decorated and homely. Zakina is a wonderful hostess and chef.... we didn't want to move out of the riad for meals anywhere else. The staff are so attentive and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.
This riad was one of the best we stayed in in Morocco.

Room Tip: For a traditional experience try for a room that faces onto the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Zamane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zamane

Address: 12 Derb Skallia Douh | Batha, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fes
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#30 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Zamane 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Fez Medina, Riad Zamane Fes provides welcome, charm and tradition. This luxurious old house has been restored according to authentic Arabic and Andalusian handcraft rules. This traditional Moroccan guest house is decorated with zelliges (traditional tiles), carved and painted wood and carved stucco work. During your stay in the Riad, a typical and refined cuisine from Fez will be suggested to you. After a meal on the terrace overlooking the old imperial city, you could chose to end your day with the traditional Hammam of the Riad, where relaxation and well being are assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Zamane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zamane Fes
Riad Zamane Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zamane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.