We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - great attention to detail!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Fes
sausalito, california
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful - great attention to detail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our first stop on Moroccan journey and our favorite. It's an oasis in the heart of the medieval city of Fez and all of its unique smells and sounds....Attention to details in the room were first rate, staff was amazingly friendly ( particularly wait staff and bar staff - interns were wonderful too) and we loved it. Breakfast was particularly enjoyable (less so in Marakkech at another establishment) with lots of offerings and we had dinner at the hotel twice because it was soo good - traditional moroccan faire (ie. tagines, couscousi) but more continental food - best lentil soup and grilled fish ever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    74
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
62
232
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

First of all I have to say that we were 'moved into' this hotel because our first choice hotel in Fes had to be evacuated since a presidential party from Gabon needed the whole place to themselves. I don't usually enjoy historic entities as the amount of garbage accumulated is only surmounted by the snobby attitude of the staff running such places. This hotel is an exception and therefore came as the most pleasant of surprises.
It is located just inside the old town and once you enter you are charmed not only by the amazing architecture but also by the most pleasant of staff. Since it is a Riad you know what to expect in term of amnesties but added to this is it's immaculate cleanliness. I had never ever had my hotel room so thoroughly cleaned that there was not one spec of dust. Further, I returned to find that all the clothes I had left lying around were carefully folded. It is quiet and breakfast was very good in a very pleasant setting again. So, thanks to the Gabonese presidential party for taking over our previous hotel and sending us to this infinitely superior hotel that we will make a point of coming back to. Also, thanks to the owner for introducing himself and asking if there was anything missing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It's like waking up in a dream. We had a Junior Suite with a lush traditional decor. All of the rooms are different their web site does not do the decor justice. The location is in the Medina and can't be best. The center lobby, the courtyards, the pool are all ethereal. Breakfasts are wonderful. We had dinner in the restaurant twice incredible food and impeccable service. This is the stuff of dreams.

Room Tip: Ask for a traditionally decorated junior suite. Enjoy the restaurant for dinner good choices for v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful haven of peace and luxury from which to explore the old town. The food in the restaurant is also very good and competitively priced compared to the what is on offer in the evening in the old town.
Tastefully decorated and furnished rooms and public areas and caring staff.
Hopefully the erratic shower can be sorted as the thermostat was not quite working when we were there - we were told this was not an experience limited to our suite, but thankfully the shower cubicle was large enough for you to get away when the water got too hot or too cold.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva,, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Everything about Riad Fès is a bit of a surprise. The car gets abandoned at the entrance to the Medina and you have to weave your way through the narrow, high-walled streets, wondering when you'll find the place at all. And then you see the R&C awning. A passageway leads you down to the real way in but you are still meandering inside until you make it to the reception, and beyond...the first of the interior courtyards, bedecked in Moroccan tiles, a gem from every aspect. Glance upwards and your eyes are stunned by the majesty of it all. And so it goes on as you explore the interconnected riads, each with its own distinct style, each fit for a King. You immediately appreciate the care and attention that has gone into creating this oasis of sheer style. The first class spa, pool area, wine bar and restaurant (wonderful breakfasts of whatever you wish) all deserve a mention. Extremely helpful staff add to the experience, and you are on the doorstep (well, just beyond it) of the fascinating Medina that dates back over a thousand years - a whole day trip (guide essential - the one recommended by the hotel was polite and friendly and knew his stuff, but didn't insist on bending our ears at every corner). I've been recommending Fez in general and the Riad Fès in particular ever since I got back. The place is a gem.

Room Tip: If budget is no object, the Suite Royale is about as magnificent as it gets....(you can probably neg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have travelled to Morocco several times and stayed in several riads and hotels across the country. Riad Fes is one of the best, if not the best, riads in the country and certainly the best in Fes. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The hotel staff are efficient and helpful. Hotel reception/concierge are very good and were very resourceful in meeting my last minute requests. The riad is also quite conveniently located - being a short walk from one of the main entrances of the medina and close to the blue gate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Riad Fez was our first lodging in the beautiful country of Morocco. It is a perfect location in the medina. The riad has traditional Moroccan charm yet sophisticated as any Relais & Chateaux hotel would have. Our room was spacious yet it had a cozy feeling. Excellent staff and wonderful food. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 5 Derb Ben Slimane | Zerbtana, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#17 Family Hotel in Fes
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Fes - Relais & Châteaux is renowned for its luxury, impeccable service and fine restaurant. Restored to its original glory, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is located in the heart of the ancient city of Fez. It has succeeded in combining refinement with inspiration and invites you to relax and enjoy your stay in a serene atmosphere with decor reminiscent of Arabian Nights. Riad Fes provides guests with the opportunity to travel back in time and enjoy the splendour and authenticity of the lifestyle of Fassi nobility. The prestigious history and refined civilization of this Imperial city are reflected in the Spanish Moorish architecture and attention to detail seen in the decor. With spectacular views of the Medina and the Atlas Mountains, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux is ideal for those travelling for business or pleasure.In the heart of a medieval city known for its diverse savory eateries, Riad Fès - Relais & Châteaux offers a fine dining restaurant that should not be missed when visiting Fez: l’Ambre. A haven of purity and tranquillity created by the designer Christophe Pillet, our Spa Riad Fès by Cinq Mondes invites you to enjoy a unique experience in luxurious and comfortable surroundings. With a selection of the best treatments, massages and traditional formulas marked by Quality, Authenticity and Ceremony designed and developed by Cinq Mondes, our Spa will take you on genuine Sensoriel Journeys.Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux offers tailored golf holidays to golf enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Fes Hotel Fes
Riad Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.