We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a relaxing place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Sheherazade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Sheherazade to your Saves list
Palais Sheherazade
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Arsat Bennis Douh, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Fes
istanbul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“such a relaxing place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

we have stayed at this riad just for one night but we were charmed by the tranquil and consistent atmosphere of the place. it is very close to the heart of the medina. the room was huge, and the garden was beautiful. the staff was friendly. recommended for anyone who wants to enjoy a quite and beautiful riad.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    27
    22
    24
    18
See reviews for
33
134
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tolochenaz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

I'm not usually a big fan of small hotels, as a business man I travel a lot and I like big chains that give me fidelity rewards and that always work the same in every country. However my wife heard of this Riad as having hosted royals in some magazine. She loved the pictures and that's how we ended up there.

Let me describe my trip a little so that you'll get a sense of what we experienced, we left from Geneva early in the morning, parking at the airport was hell as usual then comes the long wait to get on the plane (Airfrance, friendly as the French usually are) then we get to Fes and into a stinky cab, I’m sweating like a pig and I’m tired already.

We finally arrive (bout 40 min ride) at the Seherazade, doesn't look any different from any other building from the outside, maybe a bit cleaner but that's it. You go through the front arches and you enter a whole new world.

Gone the heat and smell, gone the noises of the medina, gone the luggage (to our rooms), here I am standing in this perfect courtyard, tropical plants all around, little birds in decorated cages chanting, a small water pond and a mini river run on the side and the noise of water is soothing. There are mega large chairs and Moroccan style sofas all around the courtyard, you lay there and the check in comes to you.

So if you’re used to checking in a place like morocco, usually you sand up sweating your last liter of water, it's long and frustrating and no they didn't get your call/ email/ booking...

At the seherazade you get to lay on the stuffed sofa, they start by bringing you some kind of refreshing iced thingies that are halfway in between drinks and ice cream... mine was mint flavored :)

Then the super cute (with emphasis on the super) reception lady comes to you and asks you a few questions (do you want CNN ? in what language? would you like DVD's in the room? Music? Cakes?) takes your card, comes back 10 seconds later (by then the raisin and chocolate biscuits have arrived to your sofa) and walks you all the way to your room. (Optionally at this stage you can get in a fight with your better half for smiling to all the women that you meet or some such pleasantry...)

Then from there it's all uphill... the room is huge, the sheets are scented (I think), there's tons of food already in the room and drinks and CD's and DVD's and a Playstation 3 and a super giant screen TV with Sky and CNN, and, and, and.... There's even an option to ask for a full romantic setup when you get back from dinner (candles and rose petals, champagne... these guys are so worried about the details they even put condoms in the night table drawers… you NEVER need anything at this place, it’s all right here.)

I'm a huge reader, there's a reading garden with hamacs and drinks and food (expect to diet when you get back) and shishas (Arabian smoke pipes).... the pool is cool too ofc everything is provided at the pool (towels, umbrella, drinks...)

I could go on and on but I’ve got a presentation to finish... anyways GO!!!! The prices are steep but man that's well spent money.

(And the concierge will get you anything you ask for... really)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

we went on honeymoon, the room was great, the welcome was poor, it was like we were in the way? We ate a very average meal the first night, with champagne at enormous cost. So we ate out for the rest of our stay, this seemed to offend the manager greatly and every day he asked if we were eating that night, each time he looked disgusted at us!! Fez has some great restaurants and the city is truly amazing, don't be afraid to venture out on your own, even at night it's very safe. As we paid our bill we were ushered into a small private office, all the male staff members followed us and watched as we paid, then the one with the most english asked us rather menacingly if we wanted to give something for the staff. We gave a small tip and left. there are better places to stay, try the Blue Riad.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

The bulding is centered around a lovely sunny courtyard and small swimming pool. We found that the welcome was underwhelming - we were given a sheet to fill in by one of the doormen and we were served mint tea and cakes. I expected to be at least greeted by the manager or the owner and given a tour of the facilites. The room smelt strangely fusty - it may have been the cedarwood furniture and was also very dark with no blinds on the windows which meant you had to shut the wooden shutters for privacy. The lights in the room were dim. The toiletries in the bathroom were not up to scratch for a 5 star establishment and there were no shower caps. There was no wall shower hook so you had to sit down in the bath which was not ideal. The towels were small, old and scratchy and needed replacing. The bathroom door was also pain to close and lock. I found a large cockroach in my dressing gown - I asked the staff to remove it but they didn't for some reason, so I threw it out the window myself. The bed linen was only ok. All of these things would have been overlooked and added a certain charm if it we felt at all comfortable in the hotel. The owner seemed only interested in talking to one group of guests and seemed to be steadfastly ignoring us. We ate dinner there and the price indeed was steep but the food was good. However serving the same thing for lunch and dinner (the limited set price menus did not change all week) was a huge disappointment and inconvenience. I would have been happy to eat there all week if any form of a la carte menus were availble but having to stump up 40 euros pp/meal was too steep. There was information in the room about the sauna but they were charging 25 euros to use it which I though was ridiculous. The pool was a bit cold for my liking but otherwise ok - not good for kids due to the awkward entry. The sun loungers fell apart when we sat on them. The owners seemd to use the courtyard to conduct their business affairs which I found odd and disconcerting - it felt as if you were intruding on their meetings.
Pros: Interesting rooms, well decorated courtyard and inviting pool
Cons: Welcome, bathroom fittings and toiletries, restaurant, strange manager

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Sheherazade for 4 nights during the first week of April. At first I was a bit against the idea because of the bad reviews I read here on this web site but the hotel was amazing, the staff is very friendly and the food was exeptional. We ate on a small patio with elaborate Morrocan furnishing and the Couscous was the best I ever had, the wine list was impressive and the desserts where out of this world.

I'm going back next year for sure.... bed king size bed I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 10-day trip to Morocco, and began our journey at Riad Sheherazade in Fes. From the outside you would have no idea the beauty within. The grounds are gorgeous. The website and photos do not exagerrate; this is a beautiful riad. We were upgraded to an ambassador suite which was amazing. The painstaking detail in the interior design did not go unnocticed, and all amenities (blowdryer, shampoo, bathrobes, etc) were made available. Overall, the staff was extremely friendly, HOWEVER we did learn on our last evening that we had been robbed of some money. Clearly it was the case of one bad apple employee, and we would still stay here again, BUT what really infuriated us was the owner's reaction, which was to ignore us once he was informed by his staff of the theft. The male owner is more than happy to set you up with tour guides or sell you dinner at the riad (best lamb tajine out of anywhere in Morocco!), but he did not have the decency to at least apologize to us. That said, we would still return. Just be sure to keep you purse on you at all times.

  • Liked — Beauitful courtyard and pool
  • Disliked — money was taken from our room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

A delightful Riad in the ancient Medina of Fez.. Beautifully decorated, wonderful gardens. The owner is on site and available for advice, recommendations, and booking private tours, cars, etc.

Staff very friendly, helpful, warm and courteous.

I can't think of a more interesting, luxurious Riad to stay in and question anyone being interested in a North American like hotel when they could stay in such beautiful surroundings.

  • Liked — beautifully decorated with warm, courteous, helpful staff and owner
  • Disliked — outside approach to the Riad
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.0 mi away
Riad Salam Fes
Riad Salam Fes
#46 of 92 in Fes
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#32 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#19 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#22 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#25 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Sheherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sheherazade

Address: 23 Arsat Bennis Douh, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fes
#19 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#22 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Sheherazade 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somptueux Palais Hispano-mauresque du XIXeme siecle, autrefois demeure d'un vizir, cet hotel de luxe a Fes jouit d'une situation ideale au coeur de la medina et accessible en voiture. Luxe et sobriete de son architecture et de ses suites, presence de l'eau de ses fontaines, parfums de son jardin aux palmiers centenaires se conjuguent assurant detente calme et volupte. Patio, kiosque andalou et terrasse panoramique de ce palais d'hote vous renvoient des siecles en arriere mettant en exergue les splendeurs des Milles et une Nuits. Haut lieu de la gastronomie marocaine, le restaurant du Palais Sheherazade Fes s'est impose comme une table incontournable de la ville imperiale. Services et equipements du Palais Sheherazade, Hotel de luxe a Fes Wi-Fi gratuit - 24 Suites uniques - Deux riads de luxe a Fes composant un palais du XIXeme siecle - Salons et Restaurants privatisables - Plafonds sculptes et peints a la main- Kiosque mauresque et jardin andalou - piscine exterieur - Jacuzzis - Literie et draperie de tres haute qualite - Terrasse panoramique avec une vue sur la medina de Fes - Restaurant gastronomique Fes - Lounge bar - Organisation d'evenements sur mesure jusqu'a 350 personnes - Location de jets prives avec nos partenaires privilegies dans le monde - Hammam & Sauna sur reservation au coeur d'un riad a Fes ( riad Fes ) - Service conciergerie - Organisation du transfert de l'aeroport sur reservation - Services aux plus hauts standards des hotels 5* - Meubles exclusivement artisanaux et realises sur mesure . Situation exceptionnelle : Hotel de luxe au coeur de la medina de Fes dans le quartier historique de Batha et accessible en voiture - Points d'interets culturels de la ville accessibles a pied - Parking public exterieur. Le Palais Sheherazade surplombe la medina de Fes et offre une vue spectaculaire depuis sa terrasse panoramique. En 2014: Ouverture d'un restaurant panoramique francais dont la carte sera signe par le celebre Chef francais Christophe Leroy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Palais Sheherazade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Sheherazade Fes
Riad Sheherazade Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Sheherazade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.