We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hideaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Sheherazade

Save Saved
You added Palais Sheherazade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palais Sheherazade
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Arsat Bennis Douh, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 86 hotels in Fes
Barcelona
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The perfect hideaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've been there several times with family, friends and my couple and I have to say that this place is off the hook. Located in the border of the Fez Medina, the architecture of this old palace, the kind and helpful staff, the comfortable and quiet accommodations and the quality of its traditional food makes you feel at home while being surrounded by an exciting and exotic culture.

Without any kind of doubt, the perfect hideaway in Fez if you wanna enjoy the city and its unbeatable atmosphere. Congratulations! Great job!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    22
    15
    23
    16
See reviews for
22
96
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We loved this place! The senior suite we had was very cosy and we had a great view on the garden and the patio... The bed was very confortable, the tv and dvd system were also usefull as we stayed for a long period... The decoration is very impressing and we were amazed by all the artwork. My wife loved to read books by the pool, the place is very serene. The moroccan restaurant was delicious and we absolutly advise you to taste the couscous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I loved this place! The staff is very kind and attentive. The palace is an architectural masterpiece. We loved the authenticity and the high attention to details in the decoration of our room. The food in the restaurant is delicious and I loved spending the afternoon with a moroccan tea enjoying the serenity of this peaceful place... I will be back very soon! J.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed here with a group and everyone absolutely loved it. The accommodations are on the plush side, the food was terrific, the recommended wine was excellent (with price tag to match), and overall the riad was just as advertised - a bit of luxury in the heart of the medina. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Noise in the courtyard dies down by 10, but if you're a light sleeper ask for a room on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I've written DO NOT STAY HERE in capital letters because I want to emphasize it. Despite it being gorgeous in surface beauty that is where it ends. The service is snarly at best, the food overpriced (400 dh for dinner!!!) and simply re-heated if it is heated at all (despite claims they have four chefs on the team), the rooms are dirty and cold. The pool is not heated, and even if it was, you would not want to go in it given all the bird poop and birds. The owner is eccentric and has a full time job elsewhere and despite a warm welcome, that's all you'll get from him. DO NOT STAY HERE. You can do much, much better elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We arrived exhausted after a 10 hour drive. Though they had been waiting for us and keeping the kitchen open so we could have something to eat.....
We went to our rooms to leave the luggages and: the bed was not properly made, bathroom was absolutely filthy, everything covered in dust, walls falling apart, dirty bathtub, empty minibar... We came down, told them to clean our bathrooms and went for dinner and food was uneatable, fried in old oil, overcooked, terrible choice of wine, terrible view on an old dusty garden. We went back to our rooms and although they told us they had been cleaned while we were dining, the result was in front of us: No one had been there, let alone clean. We decided to check out immediately. The owner proposed another room (cause we had paid them in advance, not even to "offer" us the dinner) but we just wanted to leave. Left a filthy hotel for a dreamy one!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife and I went to the Sheherazade and we lived an incredible experience. The Ambassador Suite we had was very distinguished and the roof in sculpted cedar was simply gorgeous. We also appreciated the large traditionnal bathroom and the Jaccusi.The Service was extremely attentive, very friendly and professional. We asked the Hotel to organise a tour around the Medina which was very intrusting and you should definitly visit this incredible.
The restaurant is the masterpiece of this Palace. In fact, the moroccan food was simply delicious and the athmosphere inside the patio with its century old palms, the luxuriant garden, the marble columns... was incedibly romantic. We tried a lot of other restaurants in Fes and around Morocco since we stayed 20 days in Morocco and this was definitly the best meal we had in this great country.
We also heard that the hotel was opening soon a panoramic french restaurant and a huge Spa so we will definitly be comming back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Sheherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Sheherazade

Address: 23 Arsat Bennis Douh, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#31 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Sheherazade 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somptueux Palais Hispano-mauresque du XIXeme siecle, autrefois demeure d'un vizir, cet hotel de luxe a Fes jouit d'une situation ideale au coeur de la medina et accessible en voiture. Luxe et sobriete de son architecture et de ses suites, presence de l'eau de ses fontaines, parfums de son jardin aux palmiers centenaires se conjuguent assurant detente calme et volupte. Patio, kiosque andalou et terrasse panoramique de ce palais d'hote vous renvoient des siecles en arriere mettant en exergue les splendeurs des Milles et une Nuits. Haut lieu de la gastronomie marocaine, le restaurant du Palais Sheherazade Fes s'est impose comme une table incontournable de la ville imperiale. Services et equipements du Palais Sheherazade, Hotel de luxe a Fes Wi-Fi gratuit - 24 Suites uniques - Deux riads de luxe a Fes composant un palais du XIXeme siecle - Salons et Restaurants privatisables - Plafonds sculptes et peints a la main- Kiosque mauresque et jardin andalou - piscine exterieur - Jacuzzis - Literie et draperie de tres haute qualite - Terrasse panoramique avec une vue sur la medina de Fes - Restaurant gastronomique Fes - Lounge bar - Organisation d'evenements sur mesure jusqu'a 350 personnes - Location de jets prives avec nos partenaires privilegies dans le monde - Hammam & Sauna sur reservation au coeur d'un riad a Fes ( riad Fes ) - Service conciergerie - Organisation du transfert de l'aeroport sur reservation - Services aux plus hauts standards des hotels 5* - Meubles exclusivement artisanaux et realises sur mesure . Situation exceptionnelle : Hotel de luxe au coeur de la medina de Fes dans le quartier historique de Batha et accessible en voiture - Points d'interets culturels de la ville accessibles a pied - Parking public exterieur. Le Palais Sheherazade surplombe la medina de Fes et offre une vue spectaculaire depuis sa terrasse panoramique. En 2014: Ouverture d'un restaurant panoramique francais dont la carte sera signe par le celebre Chef francais Christophe Leroy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Palais Sheherazade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Sheherazade Fes
Riad Sheherazade Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Sheherazade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.