We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large royal palace visible from the outside only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palace of Fez (Dar el Makhzen) - CLOSED

Royal Palace of Fez (Dar el Makhzen)
Fes, Morocco
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Large royal palace visible from the outside only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We only drove by, as the palace itself is actively used and close to the public. Huge building with very nice doors. Taking pictures or videos is not allowed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    55
    35
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worth A Look -But One Is Not Permitted to Enter!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Still worth a visit - but do it as part of a tour. After there we were taken to the artisan studios where the mosaics for the Royal Palace were made. That was most interesting!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Worth a stop. but be warned -- is likely to be closed. Large open space and interesting architecture. The problem with rating individual spots in Fes is that they may be interesting and worth a visit, there are many like it, so, in a sense, each individually is no big deal when in Fes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We arrived early to enjoy the beauty of this palace. Our local guide was knowledgable and paced our visit well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice facade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

For some reason the palace was closed when I was there. The gates and facade look very nice though, so i imagine it must be the same inside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace of Fez (Dar el Makhzen) also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palace of Fez (Dar el Makhzen), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.