We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bou Inania Medersa

Bou Inania Medersa
Talaa Kebira, Fes, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 35 Attractions in Fes
Type: Architectural Buildings, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must-see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely and worth the trip. It is best to have a knowledgable guide with you - Harper your Riad help you find one.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    87
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykholt, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing detail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

One of our highlights. The detail in the architecture is extremely impressive and I could easily have just sat there for hours if time would have allowed...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was a nice place, with beautiful tiles and we took a lot of pictures. If you have a guide, he can explain things to you.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Delicate architecture of an ancient college”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

If you admired pictures of the Alhambra of Granada, here you find the same kind of architecture, the same craftsmanship, the atmosphere of spirituality and everything well conserved.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Bou Inania Medersa is hidden in the medina - our guide took us there, but I don't think it would be too hard to find on your own. It's absolutely gorgeous, like every other medersa/madrasa we saw on our trip, but this one had a slightly more lived-in feel (I believe it's still used as a mosque), and we really liked that quality. Definitely worth visiting in Fes.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bou Inania Medersa also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Bou Inania Medersa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bou Inania Medersa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.