We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bou Inania Medersa

Bou Inania Medersa
Talaa Kebira, Fes, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 Attractions in Fes
Type: Architectural Buildings, Cultural
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was a nice place, with beautiful tiles and we took a lot of pictures. If you have a guide, he can explain things to you.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    83
    21
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Delicate architecture of an ancient college”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

If you admired pictures of the Alhambra of Granada, here you find the same kind of architecture, the same craftsmanship, the atmosphere of spirituality and everything well conserved.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Bou Inania Medersa is hidden in the medina - our guide took us there, but I don't think it would be too hard to find on your own. It's absolutely gorgeous, like every other medersa/madrasa we saw on our trip, but this one had a slightly more lived-in feel (I believe it's still used as a mosque), and we really liked that quality. Definitely worth visiting in Fes.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Beautiful woodwork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first Medersa in Fez and we were very impressed. The doors were beautiful. It wasn't crowed and you could just wander around and be impressed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great architecture worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The architecture is great - it made it a little more interesting having a knowledgable guide with us - he was 150dh for three hours and for this visit he definitely added a lot.

There isn't much guidance here (for example the marble on the floor was traded with Italy - 1kg marble for 1kg sugar) so the guide made it much more interesting.

It was 10 dh to enter but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bou Inania Medersa also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Bou Inania Medersa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bou Inania Medersa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.