We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming staff and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rabha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Rabha to your Saves list
Dar Rabha
41 Derb Serraj, Taala Sghira | Fes el Bali, Fes 302000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Fes
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here with three friends for a couple of nights and everything was excellent - particularly the staff, who were very friendly, couldn't do enough for us and provided enormous volumes of tea. The hostel is in a good location - in the medina but down a quiet street which is also easily reached from the road. The room we stayed in was clean and spacious and the hostel also has a great roof terrace. Breakfast is included as well and there is plenty of it! although they only serve it at 9am. Overall it was very good value for money and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darabha, Public Relations Manager at Dar Rabha, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you Georgia for your kind comments - we enjoyed having you all stay with us! All staff at Dar Rabha are only too happy to help where we can to make guests' stays in Fez as comfortable, relaxed and fun as possible.
The ancient medina offers so much aesthetically and culturally, and we are passionate about our guests experiencing this multi-faceted, labyrinthine city in all its glory! Regarding breakfast, we trialled it at an earlier hour, however 9am was the time most agreeable with the majority of guests. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to Dar Rabha soon, inshallah. - Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
7
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in total. At first there was a slight mixup with the room, however this was dealt with in minutes and we ended up getting a better room for the same price. The staff are excellent as is the owner Aziz who helped us with everything we needed, including taxis, restaurant tips etc. Also, all the guests that were staying in the house were very nice, the place seemed to attract 'good vibes'. The terrace on the rooftop was our favourite place to chill out in Dar Rabha, where all the guests seemed to congregate and chat. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again if i returned to Fez.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darabha, Public Relations Manager at Dar Rabha, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments; it was a pleasure having you stay with us! All staff at Dar Rabha endeavor to provide a relaxed atmosphere that is welcoming and informative - we love Fez and want our guests to experience the best our city has to offer! Thank you, too, for adding to the wonderful atmosphere that we've been lucky enough to have since our official opening in March 2013. We wish you safe onward travels and look forward to welcoming you back to Fez and Dar Rabha again, inshallah! - Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friend and I were just in Fez for the Sacred Music Festival and stayed at Dar Rabha. The place is hidden gem, particularly if you speak French or Arabic as the people who run it are very nice and happy that we had some Arabic. They do have a couple people who can speak English as well, so don't let that stop you from staying here. It was very reasonable price-wise, especially for the value. It has hostel-type rooms and private rooms, and it was very clean!

They have 24 hour check-in which was great for our late arrival. We were in a room right off the main sitting area which I thought might be a problem, but it wasn't for us since we were out late for the Festival and were getting up right when people started coming down for breakfast, which doesn't start until 8:45am.

The only complaint I have about our room was that when we took a shower, there was not enough ventilation in the bathroom and therefore our room was damp throughout our stay. We didn't really like the comforter either, or that the pillowcases were the same material. They were not comfortable on the skin to sleep on at all, especially compounded with the dampness.

Other than that, it was a perfect spot hidden away from the main busy streets and a great stay. The breakfast was great, don't be afraid of communal eating with your fellow travelers! You meet some great people on the road!

Room Tip: If you want a double room, ask for one away from the main communal area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darabha, Public Relations Manager at Dar Rabha, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review - we were delighted to have you stay with us at Dar Rabha. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, the breakfast and the cleanliness of our hostel. Regarding the bathroom, as Dar Rabha is a 400 year old riad, when it was built there were no bathrooms; Moroccans traditionally bathed in Hammams. Combined with restrictions due to Fez's UNESCO World Heritage classification, the 'creation' of bathrooms is not altogether straight-forward. However, the bathrooms are cleaned by our wonderful staff daily to the highest standards. Thank you again for your kind comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back, inshallah! -Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#13 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#42 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Funky Fes Hostel
Funky Fes Hostel
#6 of 38 in Fes
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dar Lalla Kenza
Dar Lalla Kenza
#4 of 38 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar el Yasmine
Dar el Yasmine
#40 of 176 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Rabha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rabha

Address: 41 Derb Serraj, Taala Sghira | Fes el Bali, Fes 302000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mingle with culturally curious travellers in a laid back, authentic Moroccan setting! Watch local Fassi artisans trade their handicrafts, hear the Call To Prayer reverberate around the ancient medina of Fez from our rooftop tent & breathe in air aromatic with Moroccan spices.Dar Rabha has dorms, family rooms and superior suites to suit travellers looking for an authentic Moroccan experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Dar Rabha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Rabha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.