We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Naima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Naima to your Saves list
Dar Naima
7 Ferrane Kouicha rue Talaa Kibera, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #105 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in the Dar Naima for a few days on a short trip from Barcelona. I can thoroughly recommend this Riad for the location and the exceptionally friendly staff, Hanane in particular was always ready to help guests with shopping trips, guides or taxis. The roof terrace was a fantastic bonus, though sometimes a little chilly at this time of year. The Riad is in the process of expansion and renovation so the entrance is a bit rough and ready but that was more than made up for by the daily room cleaning, towel changing and traditional internal decor. Our impression was that the Riad is really rather easy to find from the Ain Azlitten gate but Hanane prefers to meet you there as I guess its easier to find you before you get lost... Fes itself is a fascinating place with little major hassle from touts. Quite a few will try it on as a guide or to sell you something but mostly in a friendly way and there was never any aggravation. In general tourists are a minor part of Fes so are not entirely treated as cash cows. Eating out in the Medina is limited to the few overpriced tourist restaurants but the Fassis do not eat out much if at all so these restaurants are 100% for tourists. In reality it still very cheap by European standards and the delicious Pastilla is well worth the price. If money really matters buy one from a stall and feast for pennies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
czech republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stay in this bed and breakfast for two nights. The accommodation is clean, with toilet and shower. Also they have really beautiful view from terrace on the top of the house. Breakfast is served on the terrace.
Place is difficult to find for first time. It is better to spent few dirhams for guide there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We didn´t know where we would stay in our unplanned trip to Fez. We were very lucky to find Mr. Said in the train station that contacted this wonderful place for us to stay. It was a great surprise with spacious clean rooms, wonderful views form the window and the terrace, private bathroom. Beyond our expectations in the heart of the Medina of Fez. We thank the hostess family for their kindness and hospitality. Great choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed three days here and is a renewed riad with some very nice, renewed parts of the building (old cedar door etc). It is near to the center of medina, but in a quiet part, so a good place for relax. Also have a terrace with a wonderful view on the medina.
A medium quality breakfast included.
The hosts are friendly and helpful, helping us in finding a car for rent.
One minus is the very huge, tourist prices for the food here, or in the recommended restaurants (just few meters from this riad), these are especially for tourists, around 5 times (500%) more expensive then should be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had one night stay at this accommodation and have already recommended it to friends who are travelling to Morocco. The family are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

We enjoyed an evening meal on the terrace overlooking the city, wonderful people, amazing experience.

The location is good for tourists as you step out of the door you are straight in to the alleys, streets and buzz of Fes.

The building is work in progress but not detrimental to the accommodation at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We were surpriced when we arrived because the guesthouse is not totally finished but we LOVED our stay here. The two sisters took realy good care and treated us as family. The breakfast was amazing, the best we have had in Marocco (home made jam???). If you cannot stay here, be sure you have a dinner, the price is friendly and again... the chef seems to love to cook. The room we stayed in was cheap and pretty comfortable. Please note that the hostel is hard to find so be sure that someone pickes you up or dropps you off.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed one night only due to travel changes but if you are looking to live like the locals in the old city this is your place. The dar is located right in the old city amongst the small alleys, streets, shops etc.. As you enter the dar you step back into time walking up the steep stairs from the entrance. You come through a small door into the central room that opens all the way up to the rooftop to keep it cool. Should you require modern amenities wifi and satellite tv are available. Rooms vary in size, beds and comforts like air cond so confirm you needs. A dinner menu is available and the food was delicious. I would suggest eating on the rooftop terrace. The dar sits atop of high ground so it catches any breezes that happen along which in July is a welcome relief. The rooftop is also a great way to survey the surrounding hillsides with old walls, cemeteries as well as the old city itself.

Room Tip: Make sure to arrange times for breakfast and dinner. Cash only payments so bring DH. Follow the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Naima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Naima

Address: 7 Ferrane Kouicha rue Talaa Kibera, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Naima riad is owned and run by a local family and centrally located in the Fes Old Medina on Talla Kebira. It is 10 minutes walk to Bab Boujoloud, walking distance to restaurants, souks, tanneries and the famous medersa Bouaninya. Breakfast is included and served on the rooftop terrace with panoramic views over the medina and surrounding hills. Rooms -Double/Twin/Triple/Quad w/en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Naima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Naima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.