We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Highly recommended! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algila Fes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Algila Fes to your Saves list
Algila Fes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-3/17, Akibat Sbaa Douh, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Fes
India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent! Highly recommended! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This a beautiful Riad off Batha square in Fes, inside the Medina. It's a 5 minute drive to the European quarter and a 5 minute walk to the souk in the medina. Plenty of eating options within a 5-7 minute walk, plus there's always dining on the lovely terrace of the Riad itself. Each room is different and the decor is beautiful with lovely little elegant touches. Very chic! The service and food was amazing. A word of advice: you may find the walk from Batha square to the Riad a little long and confusing at first, but it's actually pretty easy! A big, big thank you to Nair who made our stay there extra special!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
47
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This riad is distinguished by the incredibly friendly staff and the beautiful interior. The staff went out of their way to prepare couscous for three hungry, late-arriving visitors. Didn’t realize what an imposition this was until later when I learned how involved it is to prepare the dish.

Apparently, three smaller riads were combined to make the current accommodation. Look for subtly different tile patterns as you pass through the antechambers. We poked our noses into a couple of the other rooms and they were all top-notch, as was our own.

Note that this riad is located inside the medina and is a 20 minute walk from Bab Boujloud. Hire a push-cart driver to handle the luggage and (hopefully) get you to the hotel. Look for small black signs once you get within 500 meters. The hotel is located up a short, climbing alley and is denoted by a pink sign. Good luck and welcome to Fes!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This riad is surely the best place to stay in Fes. I would suggest everyone to get the chance to visit Fes staying in this riad cause it offers the real marocco atmosphere with all comforts you dream from a holiday.

The riad has 12 big rooms with bathrooms. The style is the typical marocco one with a lot of small fountains, carpets and "mosaico".

It has also a big terrace to lay down under the sun or to have dinner under the stars.

The people working here are very kind and friendly. . They make this place the best cause they really take care about customers. I would say that the new boss is wonderful: he planned everything.. from a trip around medina to a relaxing afternoon in a fantastic swimming pool.

I would suggest to book in advance at least one dinner in the riad cause it is delicius. .. you will surely taste something special: meat, cous cous, chicken. .. and the special dessert made with carrots and cannella. I love it!!!!

The prices of the room reward the really good time you will spend there: believe me :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The most important element of the beautiful, restful Algila Fes is the wonderful Soukaina and the incredibly cheerful and helpful manager Naema. We travelled as two friends and were treated like friends of the Riad. Fabulous breakfasts, ask for it up on the roof one morning just to enjoy the fresh Moroccan air. We had a beautiful room with all the trimmings of a Hilton, including bathrobes and slippers! Less than 5 minute walk to the main shopping section of the Fes. Perfect location. Great recommendation on a guide and a driver. Loved it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We really enjoied the ospitality of the owners and their "smiling " staff ...
everything was perfect ,included location ...that allow to forget the car ...
THey organized everything for us included a great guided tour of Meknes and Volubilis ,the Roman ancient town ,with great professionality .THanks to Naema ,the owner ,we enjoied a great Hammam ,not for tourist ,but for local people .It was the best hamman i have never been in my life ,very well organized and clean at a very good price.
Breakfast in the hotel was various and high quality .Same for the dinner .I want to be back soon and I will reccomend for sure to my friends!

Room Tip: Our room was very silent ,bathroom very clean and everything was confortable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We recently stayed five nights a this beautiful riad and loved it! The team is doing their outmost to make you feel at home and to provide excellent service to their guests. We traveled with our two kids (2 years and 5 months old) and they were cared about incredibly cordially by Soukaina and the team, which made our departure day even more sad than it already was. The three connected typical houses were renovated carefully and furnished and decorated with love and style. The location is perfect to explore the beautiful Medina of Fes. Being situated in the Medina it is not directly reachable by car but the team will be happy to organize someone to pick you up and to transport your luggage if you require it (it is around 250m from the nearest place where taxis can stop). Don't forget to dine on the rooftop, the chef will prepare a typical dinner for you with fresh ingredients from the market if you order it early enough (usually before noon). We also appreciated very much all the sightseeing and restaurant tips, all of them were perfect. You can also book transfers or tours at the Riad, prices are moderate and they chose their partners very carefully in order to make sure the guests receive high quality services also when booking those external offerings.
To make it short: We absolutely loved our stay at Algila Fes and we would like to thank the team for the days we spent there. For our next trip to Fes we will hopefully be able to book this Riad again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I really spent a marvelous time with NAeema &ZAkaria hospitality @their beautiful riad (alGila) fes that was on 9to12 April 2014 .
Those who like cozy , calm,excellent food,kind people like Sokaina &cheif HAnan must take nearest chance to visit that lovely place ,,it's really unforgettable .

Room Tip: Irresistible rooms ,,what ever you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Algila Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Fes

Address: 1-2-3/17, Akibat Sbaa Douh, Fes 30110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Algila Fes 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the end of a quiet street, near the heart of the ancient labyrinth of the medina of Fez, the Algilà Fès offers a charming base for exploring the souks and monuments of the loveliest of Morocco’s imperial cities. The hotel is comprised of three inter-connected 18th century residences, each an architectural gem in its own right, offering modern comforts in a traditional setting. The hotel’s five suites and seven guest rooms are arrayed around three separate courtyards fitted with fountains, palm trees and sitting areas.This unique configuration lends itself to individual travelers and couples as well as to families and small groups, as parties requiring four or more rooms can reserve a section of the building for their private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Odigeo, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Algila Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algila Fes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.