We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substantially overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Source Bleue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Source Bleue to your Saves list
Riad La Source Bleue
1Akbate Ben Bekkar, Al Makhfia, Fes 30 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
Perpignan, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Substantially overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Mohammed, who runs the riad, was very welcoming; a genuinely nice guy. The other staff were equally friendly but that was about the extent of their contribution. Our rooms were made up/cleaned only 2ce in the 5 days we were there. The bathroom smelled putrid - sadly there is no other word to describe it.

There are no bedside lamps and since the rooms have no windows other than their entrances which give onto the central "courtyard", they are depressingly dark (upstairs possibly better). The whole place was also uncomfortably cold (end Feb, beginning March). There is also considerable noise in the very early morning from the muezzin (I accept this as part of the experience), and late at night from people passing by the front of the property.

The breakfast was adequate and the bed comfortable. The room was passably clean, but the decor was somewhat tired and the woodwork broken in places.

However, my biggest gripe, which might not be shared by all, is the inescapable smell of cigarette smoke from the staff. It was truly horrible and as a result I could not wait to get out of there.

The riad costs 35 euros per night, which is relatively expensive for what you get. There is also a 2 euro per night "tax", about which you're only informed when you pay your bill. Although the riad claims to accept credit cards, this was not the case when we were there, it being explained that there was some kind of "blocage" on their machine. However, they do accept payment in most currencies.

Room Tip: Even though the staircase is a bit challenging, don't, repeat don't stay on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I highly recommend this Riad. The only issue we had was trying to find a taxi driver who knew where it was - but after that, it was fantastic. The staff were amazing! We were served delicious breakfasts like queens, were able to enjoy the amazing rooftop terrace that gave us panoramic views of old Fes, and the location was mere minutes away from the old medina! On top of that, the riads central courtyard was decorated in Moorish style, elegant and ornate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The decorations in this place are stunning. the central courtyard is covered in beautiful mosaics, and every door & wooden surface is colourfully decorated with pretty patterns. Choosing to stay at a Riad rather than a hotel/hostel was definitely the best decision we made! Our room was stunning, too. The breakfast which was included was bountiful & delicious - each morning something slightly different, but always plenty of food, and some good spiced Moroccan coffee. The view from the terrace up top was stunning - overlooking the whole medina, it seemed. We even had our breakfast up there one morning! The staff were also lovely, though their English wasn't fantastic. If you know French, then communication won't be any problem at all, but it was difficult at times speaking in English when our French-speaking group member was not around!
Beds were very hard, though - probably our only complaint!
Pricing for the room was great for 4 people, too, especially considering what an experience it gave. We're very glad we stayed there, and definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Book the "Fez Suite" - this room was the one we had & was definitely the nicest one by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was my last day in Morocco and I was booked for the night at Riad La Source Bleue. I had a very warm welcome by Fatima. The place was nicely decorated and the room was certainly large with a balcony which was highly unexpected. Mohamed was nice enough to bring me to the hammam late at night and even waited for me to complete my bath when he realised that I would get lost in translation and lost literally in the medina. Great stay, the only bad thing was that it was too short!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Source Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Source Bleue

Address: 1Akbate Ben Bekkar, Al Makhfia, Fes 30 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remains of hosts, home of the artist or small palace? Difficult to define the Blue Source which brings together the subtleties of a traditional decor [zelij, plaster, marble, and cedar wood]. The Blue Source, the ideal place to enjoy the scents and sounds of the Medina of Fez, this simple and charming home is located in the heart of the spiritual capital of Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Riad La Source Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Source Bleue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.