We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem in the midst of chaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Rcif

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Rcif to your Saves list
Riad Rcif
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Avenue Ben Mohamed EL Alaoui, 1, Takharbicht Laayoune Place Rcif, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 172 Fes B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“a gem in the midst of chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

as mentioned in other reviews, the setting and service are superb. one of the best stay i had in morocco with attention to details. staff, manager, boss are all friendly and helpful. menu is a bit expensive. however, it is a good option to stay there for a night of dinner given that it is hard to fine proper less expensive food in the medina.

the only down side of staying is the location. same as other riads, it is very hard to find. make sure that someone is bringing you there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    54
    5
    11
    0
See reviews for
67
161
64
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

the riad has been awesomely decorated to make you feel as though you're a royalty in the 14th century, we took a room on the first floor(can't remember the name) where the toilet is on a 2nd floor IN the room, it's quite grand!

they've got an aussie lady whom they call aysha to improve communications with english speaking guests.she's really friendly and warm and is able to accommodate you as much as they can.
they got us a medina guide(He was "A" grade!) and a driver who brought us to meknes/volubilis(no idea why they gave us someone who cant speak english though.maybe we should've learnt some french before going anyway :P )

food at the riad's twice the price(300Dh) you'd get from a restaurant in the medina, but i guess you're paying for the beautiful ambience and convenience as it's a pain to find dinner in the area.

also, because the address we got from booking.com and their website somehow does not match the actual location, it is unwise to attempt looking for the riad on your own as you will get lost and need a "faux guide"(youths who live there) to help you out for 10-20Dh.
i got one of them to help after being unable to find the riad on my own.
granted, they do look intimidating.but they do mean well, trying to make some Dh for their families because they're not the ones benefiting from the tourist boom in their hometown :)

follow the instructions given(cinema/bab RCIF dropoff + call the riad to fetch you) and you'll escape much agony.

overall a positive experience and hope to return in future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Riad has been beautifully decorated, service from helpful staff good. Could be great but the negatives brought it down. Getting to the place is a hassle carrying luggage but worthwhile to be staying within the Medina. I asked for instructions to get there which they should provide on the website rather than requiring a telephone call once you are near. Food for breakfast was very basic and only two proper tables - plenty on the roof but that was only used for dinner, which annoyingly was only served at one sitting 9pm.

I stayed in Yacout room, unpleasant mezzanine level room dark with very low ceilings about 6ft with the shower area and entrance to bathroom 5ft 8. The shower area was so dark and poorly lit I needed to use a torch to see. The website photos must have used powerful professional flashes. Also no cupboards, drawers or any hangers for clothes. The bed was not comfortable - extremely firm - like tightly compressed straw.

I would recommend the hotel but certainly not the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadRcif, Directeur général at Riad Rcif, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear traveller, we are sorry you were disappointed with your room and didn't bring up these issues whilst you were here so we could have rectified them.
In regards to your arrival, we endeavour to meet guests at Place Rcif and walk them to the riad with an offer of a trolley or someone to carry luggage. The map with clear directions is being uploaded to our website, however we email this to guests once we know how you are arriving.
Breakfast is abundant with at least 4 options of croissants, crepes, cornbread, sweet buns, speciality breads and baguettes as well as juice, yoghurt and spiced coffee.
There are two tables in the courtyard and two in the adjoining salon for guests.
Dinner is served from 7.30pm and in summer from 8.30pm on the rooftop.
The Yacout room is the cosiest and least costly of the 8 and is now fitted with brighter light globes, hangers for clothes and an optional soft layer for those guests who don't like firm beds (interestingly, most do).
Any issues brought up during a visit are always dealt with immediately to ensure your stay is a pleasurable and memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The inside of this Riad is absolutely stunning. The common area for dining as well as the room we stayed in were works of art. The food they serve is very good, and the staff are very friendly. Definitely our favorite place to stay in Morocco.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in a number of riads in Morocco. For sheer style, opulence and exuberance this beat the lot. A lovingly and painstakingly restored palace, this is a work of art. You can sit and stare at the walls here and never get bored. The work is simply breathtaking.The friendliness of the welcome and the helpfulness of the staff is also deserving of mention. You can always tell a good place by how they deal with something when it goes wrong. We had the most minor issue involving another guest which we were just going to let go but other staff reported it to Aysha and the tact and charm with which she handled it was exemplary. Overall we enjoyed this so much that it pains me to say that there is one point on which to improve: the food. Breakfast is little more than a selection of bread and jam and dinner, while good, ddn't match what we had elsewhere. But don't let my opinion of the food put you off. This is without doubt the must-see and must-experience riad in Fez.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadRcif, General Manager at Riad Rcif, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your response and feedback, we value this in constantly improving our guests' experience. Breakfast is actually an abundant offering of at least 3 sorts of 'breads' from fresh crunchy baguettes, cornbread baked each morning onsite, homemade crepes, brioche rolls, Madeleine cakes, 'millawi' traditional layered bread..... This is all accompanied by butter, jam, cheese, olives, freshly squeezed orange juice and spiced coffee.
Most guests are overwhelmed by the variety and generosity of the offering. It is a traditional Moroccan breakfast which consists of predominantly 'bread' like selections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived tired after a long journey from Merzouga and were
immediately greeted by friendly smiling faces. We were served with tea
and biscuits and then dinner on the terrace overlooking the old medina
of Fes. Amazing view and food
The riad is beautifully restored and decorated in the Moroccan style.
Unfortunately we stayed for only one night. highly recommended!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Nederland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Before arrivel the hotel mailed us information about how to get there. We booked a taxi from the airport. We've got a warm welcome with Morrocan mint tea and sweets. After an extensive introduction, they gave us a tour of the hotel. What an amazing room we had!! The hotel is very beautiful, with a good eye for detail!
The staff is very friendly and sincerely interested in your experiences. After a long day in the medina it felt like coming home! We really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Rcif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Rcif

Address: Avenue Ben Mohamed EL Alaoui, 1, Takharbicht Laayoune Place Rcif, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Rcif 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
-The guest house Riad Rcif is located in the nicest district of the old Medina of Fez, in Morocco, at a very short distance from Bab Boujloud, the famous blue gate of the Medina. The riad benefits from its easy access with a free parking just on place, at the riad's door.-This charming riad in the heart of Fes has been completely renovated in 2012. Rcif offers 8 bedrooms with air conditioning and heating, with luxury features : A panoramic terrace with a stunning view over Fez and its entire Medina.-The guest house offers free Wi-Fi in the all riad and satellite TV.-An attentive staff will ensure your well-being & comfort. A cook is at your disposal to prepare the best local specialities.-A true art of living in Moroccan style, a land of peace in the heart of Fes Medina, will ensure you an unforgettable stay in Riad Rcif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Rcif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Rcif, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.