We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a major cleanup effort...in several ways” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Fez

Medina of Fez
Central Fez, Fes, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Medina of Fez like an insider
Top Rated
$59*
and up
Experience Morocco: Visit a Souq and Cook a...
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Fes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city’s ancient quarter is an intricate maze of streets lined with open markets, shops and mosques.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Needs a major cleanup effort...in several ways”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I'm sorry but after the Marrakech medina which can still be daunting and a bit intimidating (but we really enjoyed) the medina in Fez tops it all as far as harassment. As a woman traveling with my husband (and I'm not young), the looks, leers and comments from the men were totally uncalled for and I'm not easily made to feel unwelcome. My husband finally realized today what I was talking about when he walked several paces behind me today. I'm sorry but these men need to grow up or get a job. To top it off it is totally filthy with trash and animal excrement. Yes, it is an experience but not one I care to repeat. There is so much potential here tourist wise that is being thrown to the wind because of some of the locals who don't want tourists in their medina- or at least not western tourists. We really wanted to like it but neither one of us did. I would have gladly bought things here had it not had such a menacing feel to it. Instead, we stayed in our lovely riad much more than we had planned. This place needs a major revamp I'm sorry to say. Reputable business owners need to get together and clean the place up. The one highlight was the Chouara leather tanneries which are well worth seeing....

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,696
    792
    165
    58
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guerneville, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Medina time-warp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Spent almost an entire day here with a guide. What an experience! 2 million people cramped together behind the walls in a maze of narrow alleyways. People carrying on with their daily routines as they have for centuries. Small craft shops everywhere, selling & making all goods imaginable. People friendly and helpful. Don't go in without a guide, you will get lost. Make sure you visit the odiferous highlight of the medina, the animal tannery. See men working as if it were the 12th century. Make sure you use the provided mint sprigs, you'll be happy you did.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Tired vendors, zealous hustlers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel warned me that i must take a guide, which they chose. He apparently knew the medina, but wouldn't listen to any of my "wants", he had an agenda (probably taking everyone to his brother's shop), and became upset when I tried to change his itinerary. The "tour" was overpriced, and ...well...I prefer to get lost on my own without a loud, arrogant "guide" to order me around. My second day I just wandered, and if I got lost I just asked elder men or women. No problem. Forget taking a guide in the medina!! Or...be prepared to argue a lot if you have your own wishes!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, DE
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wild and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a shoppers paradise if you can let yourself go and get lost in the labarinth that is Fes. Even is the middle of winter it was bustling with folks from near and far searching to make a deal. Be warned there are lots of steps and narrow paths. I found the people warm and helpful

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The medina is impressive and it is like literally step back in time. I love walking around and getting lost in the narrow streets of the medina, follow the sounds and smells wiill get you to crafters and nice places.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Fez also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Medina of Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina of Fez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.