We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get lost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Fez

Medina of Fez
Central Fez, Fes, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$58*
and up
Experience Morocco: Visit a Souq and Cook a...
Ranked #1 of 31 Attractions in Fes
Type: Neighborhoods, Flea/ Street Markets, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city’s ancient quarter is an intricate maze of streets lined with open markets, shops and mosques.
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Don't get lost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Teaming with life both tourist and local. We had a guide as it is pretty easy to get lost. Plenty to look at and photograph.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,391
    679
    137
    51
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“So Confusing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I found the medina scary. You could get lost in here and never be found. Certainly need a guide to show you around. Not an easy place to navigate.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went into the medina of Fez with a guide, which I would highly recommend. It is a maze in the medina and there are signs, but it is very confusing. Then you add the crowded environment and you could get easily lost. We were part of a tour group and this tour was an add on. Some of the members of the tour group went into the medina alone and all had a great time of it. One couple had advice from a friend that when you want to leave, just keep going down hill and eventually you will find a gate. They had success with this method. The medina itself is like stepping back in time. I've been to other medinas in Morocco and Tunis, but this was unique. There are no motorized vehicles. The only method of transportation in the media is wheelbarrel or donkey. It is a thriving medina with people working on their crafts at every corner. I would not recommend coming here if you have difficulty ambulating.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Annoying people want to be your guide”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Medina of Fez is an interesting place, but walking there by yourself can be an annoying experience. If you do not have a guide, someone will come very often offering you for informations. And this informations, of course, are not free. When I hired a guide, I just wanted not to be annoyed anymore. And the guide showed us interesting places around I would never see myself. So, if you go there, hire an official guide. It will be worth.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old Capital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I loved the city, fascinating. All streets, mosques, madrassas ... Should buy house and live there... should buy house and live there forever.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Fez also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Medina of Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina of Fez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.