We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very fortunate to see some of this ancient Mosque!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kairaouine Mosque (Mosque of al-Qarawiyyin)

Kairaouine Mosque (Mosque of al-Qarawiyyin)
Fes el-Bali | Qayruwan quarters, Fes, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 31 Attractions in Fes
Type: Religious Sites, Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Morocco’s second-largest mosque, built in 857, is one of the world’s oldest universities.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“We were very fortunate to see some of this ancient Mosque!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

During our walk through the Fes Medina, we stopped at the Kairaouine Mosque and University. We were fortunate to be able to enter the courtyard and see the prayer room which are well maintained.

This is the oldest continuously functioning university in the world; it was founded in the year 859 A.D. The courtyard is gorgeous and the upper levels have a beautiful few to the clear blue sky. We were advised that the best students are provided the best rooms with the best views when the Madrasa is in session.

If you can arrange to visit this Mosque, by all means do so. Seeing the Mihrab, the huge wood door to the courtyard and the amazing architecture and ancient arabic carvings are awe-inspiring.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    45
    27
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A famous land mark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A great architecture construction typical of the Arabian era. The most serves as a good landmark to know your position in the square!
If you take a photo of a water carrier or any other public person you MUST PAY 1 derham.
That said never take a photo of police or army personnel if caught you will have some explaining to do.
Lots of petit taxis to take you back to the hotel

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Truly a great mosque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

What is so sad is that non-Muslim visitors cannot enter, unlike other mosques in the Maghreb. I only got a peek through the entrance door. I would have liked to truly experience its grandeur.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A living museum......not”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is still a functioning Mosque. It has been sitting here for around 1200 years, and it still makes you feel humble, awed and close to God. You ca litterally feel the spirit of all those devoted men and women, who have prayed, studied and lived here.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Non-muslims not allowed to enter. Still beautiful from outside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

While i could only take a look at it from the entrance and admire the decor and architecture, it's still very interesting to see it. Though i would not go out of my way for this attraction of sorts due to its restrictions (which is fair in a way). Fortunately our guide could explain to use the importance and relevance of this place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kairaouine Mosque (Mosque of al-Qarawiyyin) also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Kairaouine Mosque (Mosque of al-Qarawiyyin)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kairaouine Mosque (Mosque of al-Qarawiyyin), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.