We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be a King” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Bleue

Save Saved
You added La Maison Bleue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison Bleue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Place Batha Fes-Medina, Fes 30 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Naples, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You will be a King”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

A terrific experience, all was perfect: the building, the breakfast, the service. Really a kingdom for your vacation in Fez. Even the position is very good: you'll be in the Medina but in only 1 minute you're out and you can reach a big park area where you can find taxi for any places in Fez. Simply perfect.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moraira
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful Riad for 3 nights in October. The first nice surprise is that we were upgraded to a luxury suite from a standard room. This was beautifully appointed with a large bathroom. Enjoy the rose petals, scented cosmetics and fluffy towels. The bed was very comfortable, the view from the room was great. In fact if I had my way I'd still be there now.... oh well!
We ate in the restaurant every night and enjoyed both the Moroccan and international dishes. The staff are 100% professional. The hotel will provide you with a free guided tour around the Medina if you request it.
It is also very easy to park just down the little alley. The 'car park attendants' even cleaned our car for a tip and kept our space when we went out every day.
A really good choice for Fes!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A very romantic hotel and restaurant. Rose petals for the bath! We were welcomed with dates and milk. Amazing breakfasts.
Drinks and moroccan nibbles arrived at our room every evening and they could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable.
A beautiful building with comfortable rooms, spacious bathroom, and lots of atmosphere.
Very good location just by the medina.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I really liked the service here, and the rooms were OK, but the WiFi kept going out and not working, therefore we were forced to sit in an extremely cold room that had WiFI.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We called so late to see if it was still possible to be there (as we wanted to get away from the hotel we had to be in) and Khalid showed us the rooms we would get and they were so perfect, clean, tidy, neat, supplied with all we could think of... We decided to transfer immediately here. Best choice EVER. The "palace" is amazing, beautifully arranged, fresh perfumed flowers everywhere, a breakfast that is so stocked with everything that u cannot eat it all. In a word, go!

Room Tip: Big, enormous rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

After marrakesch where we loved the place where we stayed we arrived in Fes, one of the most magical spiritual interesting cities of the world . We were booked at the , Riad Le Maison Bleue. What a dissapointment!! From the time we walked in! The tiny very ordinary, courtyard, with the swimming pool, smelt moldy and musty, quite off putting! I asked the gentleman who was checking us in that I would like a room with an outside view, he very superciliously and curtly informed me that the Riad didn't have any room in the Riad that had widows looking outwards. After a 20 minute wait he took us up a narrow dark and dank staircase, with mosaic which was actually quite lovely. .we arrived at a room which he informed us was ours. It had 4 huge windows overlooking the road and part of the entrance to the medina! !! A room with outdoor view had magically appeared!! The sofas and furnishing were quite old and shabby.it was a small suite. Bathroom was dark but nice.All in all a bit rundown but charming. I was just happy with the windows!! The Riad consists of more than 1 building, the building attached to the Riad was full of famillies so was very noisy. There was no place in the Riad that one could just spend some quite time reading or contemplating.
A room service request for coffee took more than 20 minutes each time, and invariably was cold. Dinner was a disaster! The first course was ok, my husbands main course, a meat dish, was stringy tough, and came with a long strand of human hair!!!! We called the waiter, and showed him he said 'it must have come from 'outside'!!! We were livid and asked him to call the maitre nobody, came. We left the table very annoyed and half hungry.the service was consistently, indifferent. When we paid the bill while checking out, we saw that they had charged us full amount for that ' hairy'!! Dinner!! And to top it all here was no apology at all!!

Room Tip: For a room with outside views? Lahabie
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadMaisonBleue, Guest Relations Manager at La Maison Bleue, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry your stay at La Maison Bleue did not match your expectations after Marrakech.
By way of explanation, the hotel has three rooms with windows looking outside but not over the medina. As your request for a room with an outside view was not received until you arrived, the receptionist merely meant that the room we had prepared for you didn't have such a view. The delay was due to the house-keeping staff making another room (with an outside view) ready for you. However, we also do not rush the check-in experience as we like to give new guests the time to relax after their journey and enjoy the scented hand towels, stuffed dates and orange-blosson milk presented upon your arrival.
I am not sure how our lush, tree-filled courtyard could be described as ordinary - most guests find it magical - and the fact that it is outside in the fresh air rather precludes the possibility of it smelling musty or mouldy I'm afraid.
The hotel was busy during your stay, and we do welcome families with children. However the hotel has three terraces, two lounges and two bars so there is plenty of space for guests to find their own quiet area to enjoy a book or contemplate the marvellous views from the terraces.
As to the matter of your dinner, I can only sincerely apologise that the incident wasn't handled better. These things sometimes happen, but the waiter should have immediately apologised and offered to bring you another meal. The matter should also have been brought to my attention so I could have dealt with it properly, unfortunately that was not the case. You most certainly shouldn't have been charged for the meal, normally this would have been rectified, however it seems that there was a communication breakdown regarding your problem.
Again, I apologise and I wish it had been dealt with properly as it seems that this negative experience in the restaurant has coloured your opinion about the hotel in general and caused you to write this review.
I hope, should you visit Fes again, that you will give us another chance to host you once more and you leave with the feeling that most of our guests have - that their stay has been marvellous and the service excellent.
Kind regards,
Vanessa Bonnin
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

This restaurant has been veiwed as a top notch place in in the past - having just dined there I could only disagree! The set menu included chicken that was particularly tough, and because we didn't like the ordinary wine that went with the set menu, we were required to pay the full value of the replacement. The venue itself was the usual spectacular Moroccan residence, but that's where the spectacle ended! Sorry, but this is not a great restaurant anymore!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Bleue

Address: 2, Place Batha Fes-Medina, Fes 30 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Bleue 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Bleue is a traditional Moroccan residence built in 1915 by the El Abbadi family, who still own the house. By staying here you will be, first and foremost, the guests of a prominent Fassi family in their own home. Its location near Bab Boujloud is ideal, providing easy walking access to all the monuments of Fez. A haven of peace in the heart of Fez Medina, La Maison Bleue is a place of serenity and regeneration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Maison Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Bleue Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Bleue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.