We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a five stars hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jnan Palace

Save Saved
You added Jnan Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jnan Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Ahmed Chaouki, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 86 hotels in Fes
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not a five stars hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The location of the hotel is good. There is a big garden and good swimming pool with a zone for children. The hotel itself is old. All the facilities should be changed stratting from the carpets in the corridors ending the toilets in the rooms. The restaraunt is also not wow as well as food in it. In one word this hotel needs a lot of renovation in order to reach five stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
16
14
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed at the Jnan Palace a couple times while visiting Fez, and although the hotel is no 5 star palace, it´s still good enough if you´re going to be out sight seeing most of the time.
The Hotel offers a big reception area with tradition moroccan seatings and decoration, as well as a small souvenir shop.
It´s pretty close to attractions and has a supermarket across the road in case you want something other than what the hotel offers.
The rooms are a decent size and some even have a small living area included.
The hotel also has a Spa downstairs with a hamman and a girl that scrubs you clean followed by a relaxing massage.

If you´re looking for an exclusive 5 star hotel with a pool to relax in, then this is not the place (specially women ), but if you´re after a hotel close to a bit of everything, at an affordable price, then this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel is in desperate need of a refurbishment. Ten years ago the hotel was probably fine but today the tennis courts are overgrown with weeds , The rooms are dirty and the bathroom was just about useable. The public areas were very well kept and the reception area was quite stunning . What made it really bad was that for a hotel that had 10 staff to one guest their attitude was appalling. You never felt that they wanted you there at all.

The rooms had no infomation packs , no coffee or tea making facilities and as the staff were so unhelpful it would have helped if these were provided.

The English breakfast was basically eggs the rest was continental with a small choice or cheese or meats.

The location was OK , We walked to the old medina in 15 mins.

In conclusion in comparision to a european or Turkish hotel this would be struggling to be a 3 star BUT for what we paid I would still promote this hotel as good value for money .

Room Tip: The rooms that face the garden are very dark all day .Strongly sugest the pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Hideous staff, miserable 70's decor, terrible attitude to women and not particularly clean. Nothing worked properly including lights and our phone etc.

Room Tip: Go to Riad Besouda in the medina instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

This was a good hotel for the price I paid. If I paid full price I would be very unhappy. I wouldn't consider it 5 stars anymore but it's still worth staying here. The swimming pool is great and makes it all worth it especially in the heat of the Moroccan sun! The rooms are put dated but beds are comfortable. The shower kept changing temperature every 5 secs from cold to really hot for 1 sec or so then to a nice temp for a while then back to cold and hot again. This was consistent in all rooms as we were forced to move rooms for our last night because we were in an area that no others were staying in anymore. I was a bit upset about them moving us and it wasn't even to a better room. Oh well. Reception staff are rude and obnoxious. However one concierge person and one porter were extremely friendly and went put of their way to assist. Breakfast was ok usual omlette maker, toast, breads, yogurts, cheese ham, tomatoes, sausages, tea and coffee. The only cold drinks were water and fresh orange juice but that was nice but the best thing were the Moroccan crepes. From the hotel there are lots of cafes with good coffee within 10 min walk. Not many places for dinner though. It is 3.5kms from the old city/medina but if you stand out the front of the hotel you can get a petit taxi for £1 to the medina - just make sure they have the meter on. If you order a taxi from the hotel it will cost about £8. Note rooms don't have mini bar so no bottled water so mak sure you bring some from the medina as the water quality in morocco is not great. Overall I'd stay here again but without expecting 5 star standards. Also i wouldn't pay much for the hotel otherwise you may as well stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Our group of 24 people had expressed some reservations about this 4 star property before arriving in the country, based on some poor reviews. As group leader I am determined to rectify this. Upon arrival at the hotel a very much deserved 4 star hotel the only words that came to most people's mouth was "WOW! this place is incredible!". In North America where the majority of hotels are cleancut lines with 'standard type decor, and all modern amenities, the Jnan Palace removes all such clichés from your mind. It is built like a Moroccan Palace with marble floors, zellay ceramic tiles decorating the walls and columns. The entrance and reception areas are immaculate and very efficently laid out. Space is apparent not only in the size of the rooms(with balcony) but also in the adjacent gardens which are huge. Our room had large queen size bed with ample luggage space and desk, with separate large bathroom with shower & bathtub & bidet & separate toilet area all covered in marble & walls decorated with zellay tiles!
The infinity pool which is central to both wings of the hotel is almost Olympic in size including the shallow area for kids and non-swimmers. They have a special outdoor restaurant facility in the area surrounding the pool. Comfortable lounge chairs and large umbrellas with tables are available on all sides of the pool.
There are several restaurants to choose from including a smoker's lounge with bar.
Our group had the Herbier Moroccan Restaurant (with low tables and chairs) set aside for us for dinners with a 3 piece Moroccan ensemble to provide our dinner entertainment), while everyone enjoyed the large dining room for breakfast. Once again as in most other Hotels we stayed at, we were spoiled in having fresh 'mofletas' (Moroccan style crepes) being made each morning to have with our mint tea. Of course that was just one of many selections-fresh baked rolls, mini-baguettes, cheese platter, eggs in any style, fruits and juice, coffee & tea, sliced meats as well. The buffet breakfast was ample - no one came away hungry! The service was very good in all dining areas. The staff were helpful and polite whether we spoke in English or French.
Having a money exchange available in the reception area was very useful.
I recommend this hotel for groups of any size- a real Palace!

Room Tip: For quiet area, ask for a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Dirty rooms with insects, poor breakfest, no internet in the rooms

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jnan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnan Palace

Address: Ave Ahmed Chaouki, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jnan Palace 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Jnan Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnan Palace Fes
Jnan Palace Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnan Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.